We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”
Review of Shambani Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shambani Cottages
Ranked #8 of 21 Diani Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We spent a week at Shambani and everything was better than expected, the lodge, the gardens, the position and most of all the friendliness of the staff who were always more than helpful. The beach is only 5 minutes away and the matatu to go to the southern beaches and to the shops stops in front of the gate.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 72 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2011

We greatly enjoyed our one-week stay at Shambani Cottages. The surroundings are gorgeous with native trees and plants between the cottages. Beautiful pool and beach area nearby. Very private and peaceful. It is geared toward spending quiet, private time, rather than social events. We took a group safari which was nice, but it may be worth spending more money to have the private safari that Shambani offers, due to the personal attention given. Our cook and cleaner were very good and attentive, and were easy to understand. Overall, we highly recommended Shambani.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gshapcrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at Shambani cottages, in the Baobob villa. We found it to be a lovely and spacious accommodation; perfect for a large family. The air conditioning in the bedrooms was especially appreciated. The pool onsite is close by (approximately 500 m) and is very private since it is only shared with the 7 other cottages on site. The many small gardens and open spaces on the grounds makes the place feel very welcoming – it does not feel like a large resort or compound. The staff is friendly and complete daily check-ins to make sure you are having a wonderful vacation and if repairs are needed they are handled promptly. The driver, Salim picked us up at the airport and took us to the grocery store on the first day to get the bulk of our groceries, since we had a hired a cook through the cottages. This option was greatly appreciated because we did not want to take a taxi or rent a car.
Diani beach is a short walk away from the compound and is clean, safe and good for swimming and walking. Overall, we enjoyed our time here immensely, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e_fougere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed in Shambani during cristhmas and new year 2010-2011 with to of my friends. The cottage was nice, people are very friendly. Pool is ok, expect that more than once during the best swimming time there was some clening going and you couldn't use the pool. Security is good, 24 hours the day. If you are a light sleeper that might be a problem çause there are quite many dogs that sometimes bark really loud during night. Location isn't the best possible, nearest beach is quite rocky and all the places where tourists hang a round (like 40 thieves) are many kilometetrs away. But shop is quite near and if you mostly want to hang in pool and stuff it's really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellavTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed in the Flamboyant villa at Shambani for two weeks, with two boys 8 and 11, and it was a perfect location for Christmas and New Year.
We were picked up from the airport by Salim, after a very long trip, and he took care of everything.
On arriving at Shambani we were met by the very welcoming and friendly staff. The villa had two large bedrooms, both with shower room en-suite, a lounge, dining room and kitchen. But the best was a large covered balcony on the first floor which had one area with a table and chairs for lunch, and another with two sofas around a coffee table and a lounger. It was cool as there was always a breeze and we mainly sat there early morning and in the evenings. We had a cook for a week who not only made the most wonderful sea food dishes, he also taught our 11 year old how to make the dishes he made. The villa was very clean, and was cleaned daily and we also had all our laundry done. The pool was the main hit for the children.
Shambani arranged a snorkelling trip for us, which was very good. Salim took us on the two day safari to Tsavo East which we had booked. It is a long way from Diani Beach, but the drive was very interesting and on the way back, at our request we went to see a Masai village, which Salim arranged for us. Shambani also arranged a trip to Mombasa –
Salim took us to Fort Jesus, where a guide then took us around the fort, through the old town and to the spice market where Salim was waiting for us. He then took us to a restaurant for lunch and to Haller Park in the afternoon.
Throughout our stay the Shambani staff made our holiday memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneFarnham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Shambani was an excellent place for us to meet our daughter and her family who are international workers on an island in the Indian ocean. There were 6 of us in the Mamba cottage - plenty of room, nice large upstairs room for their family and separate bathrooms, nice dining area and family space.

The pool was fabulous with two kids under 4 years old and we spent many hours swimming there. The beach is beautiful and safe during the day (of course you have to deal a bit with the beach boys, but it is manageable - just say "asante - but "no" and you will be ok).

The service was great. Mr Ali was a very good chef (I would highly recommend him) and even made a birthday cake for us. We had a great variety of food - white and red snapper, lobster, chicken, hamburgers...and there is a Nakumatt grocery store just a short Matatu ride away (very nice). We arrived around 1:00am after 30 hours of traveling and it was very nice to have Mr. Ali there with fresh juice and to cook us some pasta and it was very good that they had stocked the refrigerator with some food for the first day or two.

All arrangements and payments went as planned with no errors in pickup times at the airport or any of the tours we took. Euros or dollars work well, and there are several ATM's within a few miles to get Kenyan Schillings.

Saleem set up some nice short excursions for us (we could not easily do Tsavo safari with the kids, so we had a very nice time in Shimba Hills and he also set up a trip into Mombasa to see Fort Jesus.

The office staff was very helpful and helped us with everything we needed.

The weather was very hot - it would have been nice to have one air conditioned room in Mamba. I believe Paolo has some air conditioning in other cottages and if you are affected by the heat, I would recommend one.

Shambani is a very nice place to stay in Mombasa.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3752norh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We were unable to get a flight to Mombassa and so needed transport from Malindi airport which the company provided at a reasonable additional cost. We were met by Salim and travelled for 2.5 hours to Shambani. There was a good range of basic provisions included in our welcome pack and we were impressed that our cook (Saidi) was already making our tea for us when we arrived. The layout of the cottage (Simba) was fantastic and looked out on to the pool, which was perfectly maintained. The cottage was clean on arrival and was cleaned by our maid (Mambo) every morning. If you are in doubt as to whether or not to book a cook, do it, Saidi was attentive, catering for our varied dietary needs, and the food was excellent. The staff offered to arrange various trips/safaris but did not push them once we said we were just happy to chill out on the beach. The beach although not private was very quiet and there was always someone from Shambani there to provide us with beds. Although there are a lot of beach boys they didn't pester us once we said no and were friendly. The staff in general were attentive, Justin came round at least once a day to check we were ok and was happy to arrange taxis, suggest restaurants and we took a fishing trip with the security guards. Overall it was excellent and made for a great ending to our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
446 reviews
6.9 mi away
PrideInn Express Diani
PrideInn Express Diani
#19 of 29 in Diani Beach
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
568 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
#12 of 70 in Diani Beach
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambani Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambani Cottages

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Diani Beach
Price Range: $47 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shambani Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shambani Cottages Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing