We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure relaxation”
Review of Shambani Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shambani Cottages
Ranked #4 of 20 Diani Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pure relaxation”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed in Shambani in February 2014 and can say that we were able to fully relax in just a three day trip! The staff were very helpful in changing our rooms (we decided to move to a bigger size room), the security guards were polite and always smiley and willing to give tips for the local area. Our chef was brilliant- coming up with different, very tasty, meals! The quiet part of the beach which the cottages are near is perfect, much less hassle than other stretches with all the options of food, drinks and shade. Finally, the pool is a great addition for the sunset and early evening. Would definitely recommend and come back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC_traveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at Shambani in Twiga Cottage for 3 weeks in Nov 13 and had the most perfect stay ever,we have already talked about going back next year.
Thank you to all the staff including our chef that was assigned to us for our 3 wk stay and Binti our cleaner.
They have 5 wonderful dogs that wonder around the grounds.

What more can I say the place is a wonderful quite retreat perfect for couples and family's that want to get away from it all
THANK YOU

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HalifaxGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauf an der Pegnitz, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Getting a perfect destination to spend with my boyfriend Paul, was a bit tricky and Paolo did a great effort in answering all our questions. Come the day we arrived at the airport......The ever smiling Salim from Shambani cottages was there on time to receive us.
For the one week we spend at Tembo cottage, we found a home in the midst of the palm trees,the dangling apes that frequented the cottage, the clear blue pool.....and sweet Mwanaisha who was in charge of our cottage (Tembo). The security guards were very kind and very professional. We enjoyed the beach, the snorkeling trip to Diani and the snorkeling at Kisite Mpunguti Marine….thanks to Salim…this guy is great he organized everything at a fair rate. We were of the opinion that we do self catering...Fresh fish is readily available at the cottage and we got our other food staff from Nakumatt shopping mall just 20minutes drive from the cottage! We will always be back to Shambani!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titileafrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

What an absolute gem!
Paolo was great at responding to questions and the flight changes that were forced on us, and the airport pick up was faultless. After the drive from the airport we really did arrive at a little slice of paradise.
The site is very secure, with unintrusive watchmen and a small pack of very friendly dogs. The gardens are stuffed with mature trees, bushes and all sorts of flowers, and the only sound the rustling of the leaves in the wind. Lounging around the private pool we were visited daily by at least one of 4 different troops of very curious monkeys.
The cottage was lovely - light and airy, excellent bathroom and well equipped kitchen. The wind rustling the palm frond room is like a lullaby - soooo relaxing.
The staff were wonderful; from the office staff who can arrange trips or on site massage, to the gardeners who will accompany you down to the beach, to the chatty maid Emily who will clean and iron for you, and last but definitely not least our chef, Kassim. He was brilliant! Sit down and plan a menu with him, and then sit back and enjoy the feast. I can particularly recommend the fish, brought around each morning by the fishermen - still flapping!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We absolutely loved this place and would recommend it to anyone with kids.
It's not directly on the beach, but it takes five minutes to walk on a sandy path to a very idyllic place away from big hotels. However, if you want, you can also get a bite to eat and a drink at the little beach bar at the end of the path.
The cottage we had, Colobus, was absolutely out of a dream vacation. It was perfectly breezy, with two terraces on the first floor on which you can relax in the evenings. The only problem with the hammock was that you can easily fall asleep into it. During the day a family of monkeys enjoyed playing in it for hours!
The big swimming pool is nice addition when you had enough of the breezy beach. When we were there (December 2011) they were building a swimming pool right in front of the cottage - maybe it's ready already.
The staff is super nice, and always ready to help - they found us a car to rent, arranged for the laundry, arranged for a taxi...
I can't say enough good things about Paolo, who we bothered in Italy in the evenings to arrange for our reservation! In the end he saved our New Year's vacation!
The only thing I can suggest is to have bicycles for rent. Nothing fancy... just some plain bicycles that you can take for a ride!

Room Tip: Colobus is absolutely SUPERB!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griottte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I stayed here in August 2011..It really was one of the most beautifull experience of my life..Cottages clean..everyone takes care of you and we had an extraordinary cook..His name is KASSIM and he cooked for us great plates every day!!!The beach is far 5 minutes walking and it is very beutifull and quite..there are some beach boys but they are no boring!! Please go there!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simonab79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurghada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My mom, my husband, our little son (1 year 10 months) and I have just been back from our 2 weeks unforgettable holidays in Kenya, Diani Beach, Shambani. We stayed in the Simba cottage. Everything was perfect! Starting from the organization of our trip through Paolo via the internet, following with our pick up in the airport done by Salim and ending with the beauty and comfort of the place itself how we had found it.
Our private cook Ali was just simply the best! Our house keeper Emilie who had cleaned the cottage daily was very attentive and polite. All the staff of Shambani including the managers Binti and Salim, the laundry keeper Nadiya, the swimming pool and garden keeper Shabani were so friendly and helpful that we'd felt like at home.
Shambani has a huge and beautiful garden giving you a real feeling of a jungle! The cottages are very cozy, well-equipped, clean and full of fresh air. The atmosphere is very private and quite.
And for sure it's just an ideal place for children! Our son was 24 hours outside. The ground floor of the villa was perfect opened to supervise him while he's playing with Shambani's dogs and it's pappies or exploring the garden or watching the monkeys on the trees and the cottages' roofs!
The wonderful Diani Beach is just 3 minutes walk from Shambani.
Would recommend this place for everybody!
Kenya is a very beautiful, picturesque, extremely interesting and friendly orientated country with a great potential! It is worth to be visited and explored again and again!
We're looking forward already for our next Kenyan holidays and for sure it'll be in Shambani!

Room Tip: Simba Cottage is a perfect place for a family up to 4/5 members or for 2 families with 1/2 kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClownFish_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambani Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambani Cottages

Property: Shambani Cottages
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shambani Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shambani Cottages Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing