We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unreal Experience, Great Food & Cocktails” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant

Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $79
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: You'd be hard pushed to find a more romantic place to dine than Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant, set inside an ancient coral cove and lit by warm candlelight. The a la carte menu specializes in seafood, international & traditional cuisine and is accompanied by a great wine-list so take your time over dinner.The Restaurant opens every day from 7pm. Reservation Required.Courtesy transfer from Hotels in Diani.Dress Code: Smart casual. No shorts, no hats.We apologize we do not allow children 6 and under.Cigars from our humidor available.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unreal Experience, Great Food & Cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

WOW! What a place!
Worth every penny and more!
Must visit... Service was excellent, food was amazing and cocktails were class

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amar_Celeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    225
    73
    23
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Me and three friends visited Ali Barbours cave for dinner and were totally blown away.As you enter and go down the stairs what awaits you is amazing. The food was great and the portion size was massive the place was stunning and the price was exceptional. We were also collected and dropped back to our hotel

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lolandcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praia da Pipa, RN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

If you are in the area, do not miss the opportunity to dine here. The restaurant is fantastic, the ambiance breathtaking, the food delicious and in big servings, and - they have excellent wines by the glass! Do not miss out on this! A must!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Lovely restaurant. Beautiful ambience. gorgeous food. reasonably price. great service. Enjoyed getting dressed up and eating out at a unusual place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique experience ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We ate here in January 2014 whilst on holiday at Baobab. It was a lovely experience and such a unique setting, it was our anniversary and it felt romantic with all the candles and stars above. The food was good; I had the crab and it was done nicely. It isn't the most amazing food I have tried but the restaurant itself more than made up for it, it's a special place.

Helpful?
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing