We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, food average”

Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $79
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: You'd be hard pushed to find a more romantic place to dine than Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant, set inside an ancient coral cove and lit by warm candlelight. The a la carte menu specializes in seafood, international & traditional cuisine and is accompanied by a great wine-list so take your time over dinner.The Restaurant opens every day from 7pm. Reservation Required.Courtesy transfer from Hotels in Diani.Dress Code: Smart casual. No shorts, no hats.We apologize we do not allow children 6 and under.Cigars from our humidor available.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing place, food average”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visited this beautiful restaurant in 2012 09, the surroundings are stunning and really unique! This is probably the most beutiful restaurant I've ever been to. As for food, we were quite disapointed: starters were good, but the main courses.. Prawns were definitelly not fresh and so we had some people slightly sick after dinner, my duck with orange sauce was pretty hard to chew, one of us got terrible "fish of the day", it tasted like 2week used oil, so we immediately sent it back, though had to pay for it what so ever. Wine was good, mango margarita too sweet with some weird spices. So I would recommend to visit this place for scenery, but be careful with the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dovile B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    243
    78
    24
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Neuchâtel, Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OMG - GO HERE IF YOU LIKE GREAT FOOD AND FINE DINING”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Totally go here: http://www.alibarbours.com/cave_restaurant.html

The food was excellent. My wife had the first thing on the menu - pan seared barracuda and it was an excellent firm fish. I had the Two Medallions Maison (a veal and a beef medallion with Bernaisse sauce on the veal and a black pepper sauce on the beef) cooked medium rare and it was cooked to perfection with amazing flavor! Totally worth it and half of what a US price would have been. Great atmosphere, wonderful service, beautiful restaurant and excellent food. Best dining experience I've had in a long long time. Plus, the beautiful company didn't hurt. Book a near by hotel for the day. There is a beautiful beach and bar right near the restaurant. You can hang out there all day and then go get cleaned up and come back to the restaurant. MAKE RESERVATIONS AT THE RESTAURANT WHEN PLANNING!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank williamkpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Reccomend this to anyone. They put on a free taxi there and back which can be all booked through your hotel. The setting is romantic and stunning. Pictures dont do it justice. We went for the first time liked it so much went back again 3 days later. The food was goregous the best food i have tasted. It gets busy on a weekend so book in advanced to avoid diasappointed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovley evening out”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Fantastic resturant in lovely surroundings. A welcome change to the hotel buffet. Staff very attentive, even the chief came to see everything was ok with our meal. The wine was nice and the taxi to and from the hotel was great

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank clair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little gem”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The location was close and just a 5 min ride from our hotel.The decor of the cave is very fitting and creates a very intimate atmosphere. The staff were very good and the food was good although not amazing.The cocktails were great and the price of food and drink is very reasonable. It made for a very nice change to go there for a meal instead of being in a resort.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harmonica1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing