We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A honeymoon from heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cove Resort

The Cove Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cove Resort
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Colchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A honeymoon from heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

I find it quite sad that i review has been written on compalining of the lack of 'charms' of The Cove. No there isnt shower gel in the bathroom or robes and slippers but theres is abutler on hand (thank you William) for your every care. No they dont sell suncream at the resort but you also dont have any beach boys to contend with every day because The Cove is completely secluded and maybe the towels are a little crispy but the private jacuzzi you had before you need them more than makes up for it.

Having spent the second week of our honeymoon at The Cove I cant rave about it enough. Its isnt the cheapest place to stay on Diani Beach but the intimate attention and service is worth every penny. We enjoyed breakfast on our private deck everyday and a huge choice of options for lunch. Dinner was often quite traditional african food which we were more than happy with, so much so Joshua gave me the recipe for his Swahili fish which I will be trying soon.

The pool is kept clean and I loved the in pool bar stools :)

Theres plenty to do around the resort with local guys ofering fishing, snorkelling, mangroves tours and village trips.

If you can a trip to Sable Valley is a must too. we didnt think the service could be any better until we had our own private butler and chef. Sleeping under the stars was amazing and is something i will never forget.

So David, William, Joshua and the rest of the team at The Cove thank you. You made our honeymoon and will forever be in our hearts for making our time in Diani unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sianmclaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leamington spa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We saw this place online and knew we had to add this to our honeymoon itinerary. We contacted them directly and the staff sorted out the rest of our itinerary for us as well, working to our budget. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. There are not many rooms so you have a feeling of privacy. The food was fresh and delicious but it wasn't fancy if that is what you are looking for. The staff were happy to go off the menu and nothing was too much trouble. The resort works with the local village who will provide trips/visits if you wish. Because of the good relationship with the local people, you feel safe around the place and aren't surrounded by barbed wire. A fantastic romantic destination.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leamgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

We finished our honeymoon at the Cove and it was a wonderful time where we could truely relax. The staff were lovely and nothing too much trouble although not the speediest of service. We were disappointed at a couple of factors. The rooms were lovely but lacked some of the facilities you would expect for a 4/5 star establishment. There were no robes or slippers which would have been great when using the spa. The towels were very hard and not great if you have had a bit of sun on your skin, it is rather like a post shower exfoliation. The bathrooms are wonderful but don't expect to be provided with any cosmetics, we were cought out as we had not taken shower gel as we expected it to be provided, only a bar of soap. The food is fine, although fairly limited in choice, it is not a fine dinning experience considering the cost of staying here. The Cove hints at being eco... there was no evidence of this at all. It is a lovely venue and great for a quiet trip 10 guests max. Don't believe the web site there are no gifts and no extra treats for honeymooners. We did feel that they were operating at minimum outlay but charging high prices. We were uncomfortable with the long hours staff (7am-10pm)were expected to work with the attitude of if you don't like it there are plenty of others who will do your job. We would not stay again as much as we enjoyed the novelty of the treehouse and wonderful views. Make sure you have all you need when you get there it costs £30 to get a taxi to town and the hotel does not provide any essentials that you may run out of, ie suncream etc.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaWorthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Edward
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

WOW, what a stay, the welcome the service the location, all just FANTASTIC. Richard our buttler, YOU are the MAN. Thank you. that personel touch made our 2nd Honeymoon even more special. Steph you and Doris are just what that resort needs. That nothing is too much trouble, a massive thank YOU.
to all the other staff, thank as nothing was too much trouble and we will be back SOON.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnoeksPortedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Edward
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

WOW what a fantastic stay at the Cove. Richard, you da man... keeping me well Tuskered.. Thank you. What a piece of Heaven. from the moment we arrived we could not have asked for more, for our 10th (LATE) ann. we could not have asked for more, the staff the location the everything. Steph, you were correct, we did stay at the best place to relax on earth. could not have relaxed more, and as for the jacuzzi???? you need to experience for yourselves. thanks once again to all

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigcheesePortEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

The Cove was our first glimpse of paradise and the attention to detail was
what made the visit extra special. While I often feel uncomfortable if I
feel people are running around after me, Rafael, Philip, Rosie, the Chef,
and the guy filling our jacussi made me believe that it was ok for us to
truly relax, and that we could do things on our own if we wished but that
they really were happy to cater for anything we wanted. Philip was
understandably called Radar by one of our co-visitors for his ability to
know what you wanted even before you did and I could not have agreed more;
in fact the staff at the Cove were the Radar Team!! We also felt looked
after by the guys at the village shop on the beach. Saif, despite no longer
being an official life guard, nevertheless took on this role brilliantly,
running over to warn us of the dangerous rip tides and keeping guard over
us, which was appreciated as it was not until I was in the sea that I
realised how strong the current was. We also
took the tour to the village and mangroves with Saif and Boris, which was
interesting and educational but also much fun as they were both great
characters. They had also ok'ed it with the teacher for us to stop by at the
school and I enjoyed sharing some songs with the children.

the owners of the cove also own the Sable treehouses about an hours drive away which was the highlight of the trip. The treehouse was spectacular, complete with
flower heart on the bed and the uninterrupted view over the whole of the
valley. It was truly the most romantic experience of my life, having a
bubble jaccusi with a bottle of bubbly, a beautifully prepared and served 4
course candle lit meal and then sleeping outside under the stars in our
four-poster bed. It didn't just take my breathe away it blew my mind and I
will never never forget it.

the owners (destination adventure) also organised safaris, a trip on a dhow in mombassa and a diving trip. Seriously recommended.

  • Liked — accomodation, service, quiet, monkeys, local village, ethics
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlenicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.8 mi away
Galu Inn
Galu Inn
#21 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Kusini Beach Cottages
Kusini Beach Cottages
#25 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
10.5 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotfa Resort
Lotfa Resort
#24 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Resort

Property: The Cove Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road | Ukunda Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 gorgeous little villas built into the trees on the edge of a tropical beach. No tv, no wi-fi, no distractions! All you need to do is unwind and plug back into nature's pace on this beautiful, forest-lined stretch of coast. Our small, intimate lodge is nestled in its own private cove, just 12kms from Diani Beach Town - but well away from the hustle and bustle of mass tourism. The Cove offers guests exclusivity, excellent service, and the peace and quiet of a magical retreat! Here, time doesn't matter, and our team will work around your schedule. Your long, lazy beach walks will be uninterrupted, and the only sounds you will hear are the wish-wash of the tide, the cry of distant fish eagles and the rustling of the Baobab and Coconut tree leaves. The Cove has only six ocean-facing villa treehouses, with their own private decks. Enjoy panoramic vistas of the East African coastline dotted with pretty Ngalawas (Swahili boats). The Cove is a romantic retreat and is perfect for honeymooners. If your dream is to have a Kenyan beach wedding then you have just found the perfect place for it. Diani Beach has been voted Africa's Top Beach Destination 3 years in a row (beating Mozambique, Sharm El Sheikh, Zanzibar and Cape Town!), and is everything you'd expect from a tropical beach get-away: a gentle breeze whispering across powdery white beaches fringed by coconut trees and lapped by the warm Indian Ocean. Diani is on the Kenyan South Coast, a scenic forty-five minute drive from Mombasa. Like any good beach destination - Diani Beach is not short of activities. We can organise kite surfing, diving, snorkelling, deep sea fishing and so much more while you stay with us..... Or you could choose to indulge in absolute relaxation during your stay with us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing