We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasently surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diani Marine Divers Village
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasently surprised”
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Despite its name I saw no divers there when I visited. The location is excellent. Right by the beach and forty thieves beach bar next door.

The garden had a swimming pool with a bar, and some bungalows. I lived in the cheaper rooms inside the main complex. The room was really good for this price.
The atmosphere and service was impeccable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sphinxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    14
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
22
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Me and my husband stayed is this hotel one week in dicember 2010. After our experience I would say: if you want to ruin your holiday by greedy and non polite owners, go there!!! As we booked the hotel, we also booked the transfer from the Airport (€ 40, 00). Because of bad weather our flight was cancelled, so the first thing we did – informed the hotel about different arrival hour. Due to cancellation, our arrival time was at midnight (instead of early morning). From the owner of the hotel, we received the confirm, that there are no problems, and the car will wait for us at midnight!!!!! But when we arrived in the airport at midnight , no one was waiting for us. We waited for an hour, we called all possible hotel number – no one answered. So we took a taxi, paid € 40, 00 and got to the hotel. The next morning, we went for check in and complaint about missing driver, but everything that we received, was shouting at us, that the driver was waiting, that we do not tell the truth, that we MUST pay € 40,00 for the transfer!!!!! Later the owners agreed, that they gave wrong information about our pick up to the driver, and in fact, he was not in the airport at midnight, but anyway, they charged us €40,00 and even didn’t apologize!!! We travel a lot, but it was the first time to meet such hotel owners!
Well the hotel is not bad. Just the breakfast is really poor (be prepared to eat eggs and cheese all the time) ant the pillows are not so clean, because of the humidity and the sweat that all hotel customers leave on them. The most positive thing of this hotel are the local people, who work there! They are really nice and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank virgulyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2010

After 11 days of safari and not much luxury we arrived late in the evening at Diani Marine. What a place in the most wonderful perspective of the word! A small resort with a couple of rooms, 2 villas and a very personal touch. Large rooms with large beds, warm showers, a wonderful breakfast and a very personal touch from all staff. The beach is very beaunty like and the resort has a great restaurant/pub next door at the beach. We both got our open water PADI certificate here wih private training which was great! I don't think we will visit Kenya anytime soon again, since there are so many more wonderful places to visit, but if we do, we will absoluterly come back here!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneloes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We took a 1 week holiday in Diani to rest and to dive. We booked a room in the divers village, which turned out to be large, and with very comfortable beds. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and personable. All speak English, and many another European language (German, Italian). A great massage is provided. Breakfast is delicious with lots of tropical fruits, and healthy. There are a large number of very good restaurants nearby, some provide free pick-up. The dive center is one of the best I saw. Safety really is their main concern, and the briefings and procedures are excellent. All dive guides are extremely helpful and give clear instructions. When the wind is strong, the sea can be choppy and sea sickness tablets are recommendable. Malaria risk is negligible, I was never bitten by a mosquito.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lekkereten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyd, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Diani Marine is run by a European couple. It is located very well, right on the beach. The breakfast that they offer is wonderful. I would say it's a touch on the pricey side, though the rooms are extremely large and comfortable.

It's a little further away from the heart of Diani, but then again it's a small town. Matatus come by every so often, and you just need to jump in one of them to go to the main highway. From there can take another Matatu to Mombasa.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agmudaliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

My boyfriend and me we spent 4 nights at Diani Marine in August 2009. It's a very nice place!! The location is fantastic, there is a huge white beach just in front of the hotel. The swimming pool is really nice, the room are huge, clean and confortable. There is always hot water and electricity (that is not common everywhere in Kenya) and is not expensive. The breakfast is good. There is close by a commercial centre that you can reach by foot where there are supermarket, a budget travel agency, cafè. Really close to the Diani Marine there is a great great restaurant, (don't miss it!!), the cave! On the beach there is the Ali Babà cafè open day and nights. If you sunbathe in front of the Ali Babà, the beach boys won't come to bother you. If you need suggestion where to go to have dinner at night, do not hesitate to ask to the owners, really helpful people. They will be happy yo help you and they will give you suggestions. Is really common for the reasturants of Diani Beach to give you a free transfer to and from the reastaurant. The beach is great!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marti2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

I had just finished hiking Mt. Kenya a few days earlier and was headed to Zanzibar. It would have taken another 2 days by bus, so we decided to stay in Diani. I was travleing with volunteers that were on a budget, but I didn't want to stay at their place. I was looking to dive so I stopped at the first place I found that offered diving which was the Diani Marine Village. The resort is in the Lonely Planet guide, but the prices are way off.
I was one of three people in the whole resort which is due to a lack of tourism since the last election this past December. This helped me get a great deal! I spoke with the front desk and inquired about a discount if I stayed and dove with them. She called the director, who may have been the owner, he was a German man. Then we spoke and arranged for a 3 night stay and 2 days of two tank diving for 250 Euros. It was going to cost 218 just for the 2 days of diving. So I paid 32 euros for 3 nights lodging which included a wonderful breakfast. King size, 4 post bed with net, hot shower private bath, etc...
It was well worth the time it took to bargin for.
The grounds are amazing and it's right next door to the Forty Thieves beach bar. Which was also dead. If you're looking for a party spot go to Zanzibar, if you want good deals and a quite time, Diani is the place to be in September. Might be different over the holidays.
Best of luck in your travels.
Beware the beach boys, they are the only hassel.

  • Liked — The grounds and staff were amazing!
  • Disliked — The internet.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badlivers00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Marine Divers Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Marine Divers Village

Property: Diani Marine Divers Village
Address: P.O. Box 340, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Marine Divers Village 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Diani Marine Divers Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing