We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place even if you're not diving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diani Marine Divers Village
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This place is absolutely great and a welcome little bit of comfort after 4 weeks travelling around Kenya. The breakfasts are delicious and served in a beautiful setting, staff are friendly and professional, rooms are super clean and best of all it's right on the beach. I did an introductory dive here which included a session in the pool and then two dives the following day. The instructor was excellent and the equipment looked very new and up to date. Very impressive operation!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raquelita247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Diani Marine Divers Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 73 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed here in February during our two week trip to Kenya.
The divers village is absolutely ok - rooms are nice if yet not really spacious but clean and the set up is nice.
The included breakfast was a lot and really nice - real coffee - liked that!
The diving could have been more personal. It seemed like we were just rushed through everything. We had to do the whole set up and carry everything - we would have expected more for the prices we paid. The breefing before the dive was good.
The boat we got was really small and we were 12 divers on board which was just too much there wasn`t nearly place to move and set up the gear again.
Disappointing was that the air in some of the tanks wasn`t good on the second dive. So some of us couldn`t go for another dive. However we did get the money back for the missed dive.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backpackerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Despite its name I saw no divers there when I visited. The location is excellent. Right by the beach and forty thieves beach bar next door.

The garden had a swimming pool with a bar, and some bungalows. I lived in the cheaper rooms inside the main complex. The room was really good for this price.
The atmosphere and service was impeccable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sphinxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Me and my husband stayed is this hotel one week in dicember 2010. After our experience I would say: if you want to ruin your holiday by greedy and non polite owners, go there!!! As we booked the hotel, we also booked the transfer from the Airport (€ 40, 00). Because of bad weather our flight was cancelled, so the first thing we did – informed the hotel about different arrival hour. Due to cancellation, our arrival time was at midnight (instead of early morning). From the owner of the hotel, we received the confirm, that there are no problems, and the car will wait for us at midnight!!!!! But when we arrived in the airport at midnight , no one was waiting for us. We waited for an hour, we called all possible hotel number – no one answered. So we took a taxi, paid € 40, 00 and got to the hotel. The next morning, we went for check in and complaint about missing driver, but everything that we received, was shouting at us, that the driver was waiting, that we do not tell the truth, that we MUST pay € 40,00 for the transfer!!!!! Later the owners agreed, that they gave wrong information about our pick up to the driver, and in fact, he was not in the airport at midnight, but anyway, they charged us €40,00 and even didn’t apologize!!! We travel a lot, but it was the first time to meet such hotel owners!
Well the hotel is not bad. Just the breakfast is really poor (be prepared to eat eggs and cheese all the time) ant the pillows are not so clean, because of the humidity and the sweat that all hotel customers leave on them. The most positive thing of this hotel are the local people, who work there! They are really nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank virgulyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

After 11 days of safari and not much luxury we arrived late in the evening at Diani Marine. What a place in the most wonderful perspective of the word! A small resort with a couple of rooms, 2 villas and a very personal touch. Large rooms with large beds, warm showers, a wonderful breakfast and a very personal touch from all staff. The beach is very beaunty like and the resort has a great restaurant/pub next door at the beach. We both got our open water PADI certificate here wih private training which was great! I don't think we will visit Kenya anytime soon again, since there are so many more wonderful places to visit, but if we do, we will absoluterly come back here!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneloes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We took a 1 week holiday in Diani to rest and to dive. We booked a room in the divers village, which turned out to be large, and with very comfortable beds. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and personable. All speak English, and many another European language (German, Italian). A great massage is provided. Breakfast is delicious with lots of tropical fruits, and healthy. There are a large number of very good restaurants nearby, some provide free pick-up. The dive center is one of the best I saw. Safety really is their main concern, and the briefings and procedures are excellent. All dive guides are extremely helpful and give clear instructions. When the wind is strong, the sea can be choppy and sea sickness tablets are recommendable. Malaria risk is negligible, I was never bitten by a mosquito.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lekkereten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Diani Marine is run by a European couple. It is located very well, right on the beach. The breakfast that they offer is wonderful. I would say it's a touch on the pricey side, though the rooms are extremely large and comfortable.

It's a little further away from the heart of Diani, but then again it's a small town. Matatus come by every so often, and you just need to jump in one of them to go to the main highway. From there can take another Matatu to Mombasa.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agmudaliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
#11 of 68 in Diani Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Marine Divers Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Marine Divers Village

Address: P.O. Box 340, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range: $86 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Marine Divers Village 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Diani Marine Divers Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing