We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertisement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Beach Cottages
Reviewed December 26, 2010

I booked Coral Beach Cottages through Hive Holidays.com. Hive Holidays gave false impressions about this place! They wouldn't tell me the exact name of the Cottages until I had already booked and send money, just referring to it as "property 002". I asked for several weeks for the name and directions to this place, and they would not send them until the day before. So we arrive to find a lot of false advertising! The cottage was a very poor facility, bedrooms so sparse and mosquito nets that did not cover the beds. One of the rooms had no air conditioning(as advertised). Their "fully equipped" was SO poorly equipped! The electricity went off if you used the microwave, and there was no hot water to bathe in. We feel we were deceived by Hive Holidays.com. Don't use this booking site!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sakjo, Owner at Coral Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

Our website talks it all. Self catering equipped with gas cooker, cooking utensils, fridge, plates, spoons, etc. Having come through a tour operator we are not sure of what you were promised but we offer simple accommodation and all you require in the apartments or cottages are provided for a comfortable stay. Our employees are available for any extra (special) requirement which were not requested for. The apartments are very new and very popular but of course as mentioned about 100 meters from the ocean. Smaller cottages can be arranged with direct sea view on availability and there fore request for early reservations next time for you to get the best cottage/Apartment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 57 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2010

The cottages are well serviced and one feels like being at home. The hospitality was great and with the monkeys and apes making their morning and evening trips around the compound while having breakfast and evening tea the whole place looks marvellous.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MpenziNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

It is not the first time I pass these cottages but this this time a friend told me there were also apartments and a pool! I booked directly and went there! ohhhhhhh! This young solo original Kenyans are doing a wonderful job. We took a cook for us for 3 days and the other days we ate at African Pot or we went out to the night life at the Beach with tourists or out with the local community! I love Coral Beach! This is all I need at the coast.... I did not feel that MASSSIVE tourist around me... Thank you Charles, and thank you Shabani for the african dishes.
What I loved most is that there were no Beach boys and Beach girls following me at the Beach because it is a private virgin beach... Regards Celine

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Softes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Thueringerwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Jasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank baguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#18 of 29 in Diani Beach
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lotfa Resort
Lotfa Resort
#25 of 29 in Diani Beach
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
PrideInn Express Diani
PrideInn Express Diani
#20 of 29 in Diani Beach
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Beach Cottages

Address: PO Box 168, Diani Beach, Ukunda +254, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range: $70 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Diani Beach only 35 kilometers from Mombasa international airport, next to Diani shopping center, five minutes walk from Barclays bank and shopping center. Surrounded by its own beautiful gardens, Coral beach cottages stands on an elevated view onto the Indian Ocean. It is sheltered by coconut palms and indigenous trees. The natural environment and the hospitality create an atmosphere of a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Coral Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Beach Cottages Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing