We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely hideaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AfroChic Diani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AfroChic Diani
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hideaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We spent 3 nights as a family occupying 3 rooms (including the suite). When we arrived my father in law had forgotten his mobile phone at the chemist and the manager, Richard, immediately offered to collect it. Initially we had the run of the place to ourselves as it was mid-weekand it was like our own private villa with staff . Most of the other guests arrived on Friday for the weekend so if you want to be alone, mid-week is a good idea. None of us felt like venturing very far as we were so comfortable. The food was excellent! I dont know how they get such tender beef out there and the desserts meant that we generally over ate, The weather could have been better as it rained for about 1.5 days. However, the sun did come out again and our kids didnt mind swimming in the rain. The choice of bedrooms is good and each is individally decorated. There are supplements for the sea views and you will need to book these early during busy periods. There are plenty of books and magazines scattered about to entertain you indoors. We have young kids and they found it a bit quiet, until the rest of the guests arrived on Friday. The staff were all very helpful and I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The suite has amazing views and an adjoining room which can sleep kids. There are also supplements f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
75
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belton
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed at Afro Chic in June of this year and the staff and management did everything possible to make it the most memorable family vacation. The staff is extremely courteous, helpful and pro-active and the food is outstanding (I highly recommend the Asian style tuna carpacio, mixed sea food grill and lobster thermidor...). One of my favorite things is that you don't have to eat at 'set times', you can eat whenever you're hungry, and they'll bring it to you pretty much anywhere on the property. I enjoyed eating lunch from my sun bed with ocean view!

We stayed in the Junior Suite, and it was lovely - spacious well decorated and with a wonderful view and balcony.

I will visit this place any chance I get...when we left, we all wished we could've stayed longer!

Room Tip: Each room is unique and so all are nice - the junior suite and suite are of course the nicest, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have been travelling to Diani Beach at least once a year for the past 20 years and have waxed lyrical about the wonderful sandy beaches, the glorious sunrises, the soporific dreaminess of watching the dhows being manoeuvred with apparent ease across the treacherous reef - all of which is true and relevant for AfroChic.

Then there is AfroChic itself.

A small and thus appropriately termed "boutique hotel". Amend that slightly - "luxury boutique hotel".
We all have standard expectations when the word "luxury" is part of a hotel description - large, comfortable beds with high quality linens, high quality bathroom products, tea/coffee in the room, mini-bar etc. etc. AfroChic achieves all of this with ease but there is more. The hotel is unique, it steps beyond the usual frills and provides a luxury environment without allowing you to forget that you are in Africa. All the mod-cons are there but the prevailing feeling is that you are enjoying Africa at it very best.

A great environment can be killed in a single blow if the staff do not reflect the standard of their surroundings and here AfroChic truly excels, from the garden and security staff right the way up to the manager you are guaranteed a level of service that impresses. The staff are friendly and courteous, taking time to get to know you without being obtrusive.

Food and drink, mmmmm.....be prepared to put on a few pounds, or spend lots of time swimming of the excellent meals, prepared freshly from an extensive menu. The hotel chefs are willing to adapt the meals to your taste and whatever they put in front of us we thoroughly enjoyed, from seafood to fillet steak to a toasted cheese sandwich!

Getting out and about, if you need guidance, the staff have it and will ensure that a safe and reputable taxi transfers you to wherever you want to be. This of course assumes that you want to leave the hotel! The gardens are beautifully managed with fabulous "double bed" swinging loungers with the best possible view of the beach, prepare to be transfixed watching the tide move in and out with every shade of blue and green displayed right in front of you. Be careful when walking out to the reef, sea urchins lurk awaiting the unwary so wear closed shoes and plenty of sun protection.

The downside of the beach experience are the "beach boys"; they are trying to make a living under difficult circumstances but they are a nuisance. Our tip is to identify one that you can tolerate and tell him that if you are willing to buy anything you will do it through him, the payback being that he has to keep the hordes away from you! It can look funny, you go for a beach walk and end up looking like the pied piper with a trail of up to 20 beach boys trailing your every step!

Would we return? In a heartbeat, in fact our next reservation is made already!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, for a really good view of the beach from your room you need a suite on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDJAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

What a wonderful little hotel this is - personalised rooms, great swimming pool excellent food, and right on the beach. The staff are very attentive and very friendly, issues are sorted very quickly, if they can be and the hotel goes out of its way to make you feel welcome - from fresh wet towels at the airport to the staff trying to get the people in the compound next door to stop cutting the grass during our stay, to the manager checking on you every day, etc., etc. Just an excellent hotel all round.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerCD1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just returned from AfroChic after an eight day visit. An amazing place - would say "paradise'.
From the moment I arrived I felt special & at home. Excellent service, extremely friendly staff & a fabulous variety of food.....A very special 'Thank You' to Tazim for spoiling me and a most memorable trip! can't wait to re-visit!

Room Tip: /All rooms are equipped with A/C and the obvious choice are those facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We visited AfroChic for a short training for the Hotel Safety and Health Committee in May 2014. We, the trainers spent five nights and days. First and foremost I would like to give my greatest thanks to all staff for making my stay a special one. The hotel is unique in all aspects to begin with the spacious rooms overlooking the ocean is spectacular, the incredible menu is un forgettable, the best thing about this place is that there is no buffet one chooses dining time and you also get to choose what to eat.I found that very convenient and unique from other places i have visited which have a fixed dining hour. Another thing, the staff, all of them are very friendly and prompt. The hotel view is amazing with unique designs for furnitures. I enjoyed swimming at the swimming pool in the evenings and staring at the beautiful view of the hotel, the coconut trees and the gazebos. I highly recommend AfroChic, here you get to relax fully and value for money spent. I will definitely come back for holiday!

Room Tip: All rooms are uniquely designed, I recommend you try all and see for yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

AfroChic was just amazing in every way.....from the welcome as you walk in...to the friendly staff and their overall thoughtfulness.

When you are there you feel like you are home...the decor is elegant and simple...so it comes off as cosy and warm and not stuffy like most hotels. You don"t feel like you are at a hotel but rather a beach house....making you feel comfortable and very at ease.

You get a hand written welcome card...and a goodnight one ...which has a swahili saying....and you get a different one every night....now that was awesome!!!

There are no set times for dinning so you eat whatever time you want and wherever in the house you want or outside...its really your choice ..so you don't have to eat at the dinning area all the time. Thought that was very COOL ....and NO BUFFET!!! The menu is Ala carte so the result is fresh tasty food. The menu has also incorperated the local cuisine so there is a variety to pick from.

You get a mid night snack set in your room after dinner....cookies and milk...for midnight "snackers" like me....
The rooms are spacious with huge windows...they even have a dvd player and a library of different romantic comedies ...I LOVED that and thought it was pretty cool...My 1st day there it rained so that come in very handy....
What more can i say ...the service was impeccable and everything was very personalized and thoughtful.
I never.stay in the same hotel twice. because i always want to go to new places and experience new things....BUT AfroChic....i will definitely break the rule for....

Room Tip: rooms with balconies let you enjoy the beautiful scenery in great privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank betty254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Property: AfroChic Diani
Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AfroChic Diani 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the white sands of the sparkling Diani Beach, AfroChic dazzles with views of exotic, ancient dhows in full sail. The graceful curve of the Diani shoreline tempts all to walks in the warm shallows along the edge of the African continent. AfroChic offers ten individual, uniquely-styled rooms with ocean and garden views. This 'home-from-home' retreat will see you return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, HRS, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your AfroChic Diani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing