We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“EXCELLENT !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AfroChic Diani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AfroChic Diani
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is one of the best hotels we've stayed at in Mombasa! The staff is very friendly and helpful! The chefs are very good - they can make for you whatever you need! The ambience is amazing! Loved the swing beds by the beach! The rooms were great! Overall we absolutely loved it! We's definately go back to Afro Chic whenever we go to Mombasa!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scorp1on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
74
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is our kind of hotel:-). Travelled there for our honeymoon and it was simply exquisite. We had a lovely room overlooking the beach. The property is beautiful especially at night time when the lights are switched on. We loved the 'no set meal time', the wonderful staff - Zipporah, Fiah, Norman, the amazing chefs who made unbelievably great food. Thank you for a wonderful time and a divine honeymoon:-). We shall certainly be back, severally:-).

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASO K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

From the moment you step into the lobby reception - the light coloured upholstery, wood furnishings, unique art pieces, and interesting decorative items all ooze style!

The lobby flows out onto the veranda where a stunning pool invites you to step in, as you can hear the miniature waterfall cascade into the shallow end. There is also a small rock pool which is an extension of the main pool..its very pleasaing on your eyes!

The smiling receptionist ushered me in, and the pleasant waiter served glasses of champagne and fruit juice..this is even before I got to be mesmerized by the 'Zanzibar' room!

This junior suite is located right on the top floor, so keep this in mind ... one does have to walk up stairs and quaint corridoors. Sliding windows overlooking the palm tops into the azure ocean, lead out to a small balcony allowed for one sun-bed and a chair with a coffee table.

The main room is the bedroom and its huge with double door wooden cupboards, a safe, a dressing table with chair, cushion-filled divan, full length mirror, air-conditioning (that really kicks in the cool air), tv, dvd, kettle, mini bar, 2 chairs and a coffee table which has a fruit platter on your day of arrival.

... And the biggest bed in the world (well maybe not ... but its a huge king size-extra long) with a stunning wooden carved headboard.

Then ...... there is a wooden stairwell that takes you up to another level in the same room where another divan and huge lamp sit. Carpets and cushions are arranged throughout the room which gives it a very nice feel - after all this is laid-back luxury at its best!

Bathroom had a big sink and expanse of mirror, alongside a jacuzzi bathtub with 2 brandy glasses filled with pebbles and tealight candles.. a walk-in shower, toilet by the window so you have a view.....and boudoir.

I was told it was to be refurbished but all was very functional, if perhaps only the shower curtain which gave a slight dated look. The towels are fluffy and they stock an eco-friendly range of toiletries with robes hanging behind the door. Water pressure is excellent and plenty of hot water (remember if you want a shower mid-day then you need to switch it on - switch is outside the room along the corridoor).

A small bottle of complementary mineral water is availed daily.

You can spend your morning pouring over the menu incase you don't have a book (there is a collection of books and dvd's from reception by the way and a laptop with wireless connection available for your use in the lobby - incase you need to google certain ingredients!). Cuisine is prepared freshly which is why they don't really mind when you eat - but you must choose what you want to eat in good time.
All palates are catered for here and every dish I ordered was a feast for the senses - only telling you my favourite was infact a starter: calamari & beetroot salad and the best dessert: passion fruit sorbet that refreshed me from the crown of my head to the soles of my feet! you can eat anywhere you want..from the sun lounges to the dining area - inside or out..or even in the luxury of your room!
Beverages are priced on the higher side so bear this in mind, but they have almost anything you want to quench your thirst here!

Service of this established really impressed me for Kenyan standards which is generally mediocre at its best - smiling faces, quick steps and a great team spirit amongst the staff was very noticeable. The manager is down-to-earth , knowledgeable not to mention charming. I felt very comfortable and looked after despite travelling on my own!

It is a small hotel but it is well laid out with private sun lounges and beds with swings enhancing privacy ; the grounds are well maintained. For some peace and quiet - to put on a little weight and swim it off with all the luxuries of home and more... this is certainly the place to visit!

Enjoyed the in-house massage services - done in a simple but calm room. Good quality products used, zen-like music in the backround and a glass of water is served afterwards.

They arrange for airport transfers and well knowledgeable about places/shops to see and visit - if you can pull yourself away from AfroChic.

For me ... my favourite spot was the sparkling swimming pool - enjoying the view of the gardens and the ocean in the distance with jacuzzi bubbles jetting around whilst sipping freshly picked 'madafu' (coconut water)!

Room Tip: zanzibar is pure luxury - with a good view and very spacious. balcony area is small though. rememb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

definitely the best hotel we have ever stayed at!! unbelievably friendly and accomodating staff, lovely airy well equipped rooms with lovely views and balcony, attention to the minutest detail and brilliant food - all in a perfect setting!!! we could not have asked for more. thank you Stefan and his staff - Sylvia, Fia, Rama, Jeremia, Betty, Alfonsi, Norman and all those behind the scenes that we didn't all get to know. will definitely recommend Afro Chic anytime!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diani Beach, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent our anniversary dinner at AfroChic.
The dinner was arranged over a tree-house, everything was prepared in the perfect way and the environment was really romantic. The staff was very friendly and polite, and made us feel welcome every moment during the dinner.
The dinner was awesome, starting from a simple passionjuice mixed with wine, going through a starter of tuna carpaccio, an excellent mixed seafood plate with prawns, calamari, crab legs and grilled stone bass, and at the end a delicious chocolate mousse.
We advice everybody to have a dinner at AfroChic, or spend some days in the exclusive hotel for a relaxing and pleasant holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomasoBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The stay was superb. The staff is rather friendly, simpathetic and always happy to help. You'll feel at home. The fact it's a small hotel makes you feel great...not in a mass tourism hotel. The pool is great and you need to try the dinner in the treehouse. I definetely recommend. Staying in Diani Beach only in Afro Chic!

Room Tip: Please ask for the room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Who would want to stay inn one of the big 'buffet every night' 'enternament every night (even if you don't want it)' hotels along Diani beach when you can stay in a small intimate hotel. Wonderful food, accomodation, service and staff, it's got it all!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donatella_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
2.7 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Property: AfroChic Diani
Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AfroChic Diani 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the white sands of the sparkling Diani Beach, AfroChic dazzles with views of exotic, ancient dhows in full sail. The graceful curve of the Diani shoreline tempts all to walks in the warm shallows along the edge of the African continent. AfroChic offers ten individual, uniquely-styled rooms with ocean and garden views. This 'home-from-home' retreat will see you return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your AfroChic Diani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing