We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Diani”
Review of AfroChic Diani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AfroChic Diani
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Turn off your phones and take off your watches at this wonderfully relaxing boutique hotel on Kenya's south coast. The service was impeccable with meals, meal times and dining location choices for dining completely at our discretion and choice. The full a la carte menu allows you to choose what you want to eat and craft it to each individual's taste. AND... the chefs are amazing, capitalizing on the freshest catches of the day. The rooms are well appointed and spotless with lots of little extras (like straw bags to carry things to the beach or pool.) The entire place is spotless and the service is unobtrusive but attentive to every need. The pool is large enough for quiet lap swimming in the early mornings and is beautifully maintained. The towels are large and fluffy and only accent the depth of service as well as the relaxed atmosphere. My friend had a massage and she highly recommended it. They have created their own strip of beach so you can be on the beach but not bothered by the beach boys. It truly is paradise in paradise.

Room Tip: Room tips: There are 7 rooms facing the sea and 3 facing the garden - all have verandas although so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntlTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 210 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

The last destination of our honeymoon and we are very glad we chose to stay at Afrochic! With only 10 rooms and a very relaxed atmosphere it was exactly what we were looking for. The staff were all very friendly and service-minded and went out of their way to surprise us with a new setting of our dining table every night and honeymoon decorations in our room upon our return from dinners. The GM, Stephan, and his team, Zephora and Sylvia, were very welcoming and helpful. The food and all the service was impressive - Jeremiah will tempt you with the menu every few hours!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andsager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at AfroChic for 3 nights with our baby in the Punda Milia suite and it was one of our best holidays in Mombasa yet! The room was very spacious and clean and over looking the pool and with a beautiful sea view.

The service is personable from the start, Zipporah is doing a brilliant job - nothing was ever too much trouble for her or for anyone else - Fiar, Norman, Jeremiah - thank you all for such great service. Fiar - thanks for keeping our baby entertained while we ate!

The concept at AfroChic won us over - no time pressure, eat what you want when you want - everything at your own leisure.

Being a small boutique hotel on small grounds meant that our baby monitor worked too, so after we put baby to sleep my husband and I could go and enjoy dinner by the pool knowing we could take our time but have 'one eye' on baby too.

The food was fantastic, the chef's specials change everyday and the rest of the menu is extensive enough to be able to try a variety of dishes.

Gorgeous, clean beach with not too many beach boys and a very inviting sea. Lovely day beds by the beach too for lounging on. The pool is very well kept too.

Thank you to the afrochic team for a wonderful family holiday, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Punda Milia is the executive suite - fantastic if you require a very spacious room. Ocean Gift would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank letsgoflyakite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

From the moment you arrive at AfroChic you are transported into a world where relaxation and pampering are the norm. It is here my husband and I spent our Honeymoon. On arrival we were greeted with a cooling drink and introduced to the concept at AfroChic – a home away from home. Here there is no time pressure, no noise and nothing is too much trouble for the wonderful staff.
You eat what you want from their extensive menu, where you want, and best of all, when you want. Raj and I are both vegetarians and this did not pose a problem for the kitchen team during our 5 day stay. We managed to eat different foods for every meal and what wonderful food it was. Our favourite was the vegetarian Swahili dinner under the stars on the beach! Everything is cooked with the finest and freshest ingredients available at the market and our only regret was we could not stay longer to sample even more the chefs had to offer.
The rooms are spacious and clean. Whether your balcony is overlooking the swimming pool and beach or the pond and garden, there is always something to spot – tropical birds, monkeys, butterflies. The swimming pool is well kept and wonderful swing-beds and loungers surround it. The beach too is equally impressive with white sand and clear waters.
Nothing though trumps the amazing staff at AfroChic . Stephan and his team were professional and friendly at all times and looked after us as part of their family. We couldn’t be more grateful to each and every member of the team who made our stay memorable.
AfroChic is the perfect holiday destination and we highly recommend it. Everything about it is perfect. We can’t wait to be back! Raj and Minnie

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Minal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed here 4 nights with our 2 girls aged 5 & 2 and my parents who had come to visit us from the uk. Excellent personalized service and absolutely amazing food. The staff were courteous and nothing was ever to much hassle! Very clean pool, lots of sunbeds including double bed sunbeds which were lovely. I also went for a massage which was very good. I would highly recommend this lovely hotel to everyone! I would like to emphasize once again that the food was really superb and we were spoilt for choice all 4 days and that included our two girls!! I would like to thank the staff at Afrochic for making our stay unforgettable....

Stayed: April 2012
Thank London2Dar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This boutique hotel is set up absolutely beautifully and Has a great view. I was astonished by the very personalized service provided too. They made me feel like a king there. Definately recommend to all. Enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nish86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The first day i thought it was some haven on earth really these guys have the best relaxation and when it comes to meals you never like to ignore the time.

Room Tip: the higher rooms are very good for the morning view of the sun and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 550slov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
443 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
298 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
567 reviews
4.9 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: $432 - $983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AfroChic Diani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the white sands of the sparkling Diani Beach, AfroChic dazzles with views of exotic, ancient dhows in full sail. The graceful curve of the Diani shoreline tempts all to walks in the warm shallows along the edge of the African continent. AfroChic offers ten individual, uniquely-styled rooms with ocean and garden views. This 'home-from-home' retreat will see you return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your AfroChic Diani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing