We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found.”
Review of AfroChic Diani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AfroChic Diani
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Beautiful, friendly hotel nestled on the wind swept shores of the Indian ocean. We were made to feel immediately at home by the welcoming staff, in fact the whole vibe is more that of a fabulous home than a hotel. We spent an very relaxing week at Afrochic, enjoying cloudless skies, delicious food and walks along the silver sand... A perfect and very romantic way to start the year.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kezia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 210 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights after being on safari and it really is 5 star all the way! All the staff were friendly and attentive at all times and we completely chilled out straight away. The food was excellent and the menu had a massive choice,and was all cooked to order. The room was spacious and clean ,the hotel grounds immaculate. Many thanks to Betty and Norman who really looked after us whilst we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marksutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Had a lovely week here after a few days on safari in the Masai Mara. The staff were fantastic as many others have mentioned, very friendly and attentive. The menu and food are excellent, with so much choice that it was hard to decide each day and could have our meals whenever we wanted! The room was lovely and spacious, with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and out towards the beach. The pool was kept clean every day and the sunbeds/double sunbeds were fab (with a chap bringing towels whenever required). Would definitely visit again if we're in Kenya. Our only suggestion would be that, with such an extensive menu for starters, mains and light bites, the dessert menu could be varied slightly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Lovely, small boutique hotel, quite a pleasant contrast to the large resorts elsewhere along the coast. Only ten rooms, each individually furnished. Small but perfectly formed grounds, never struggled to find a sunlounger; love the double-bed swings! Food was lovely, and ability to eat when you want (e.g. breakfast served a la carte up to 11:30am) was a joy. Friendly service, happy to recommend nice nearby restaurants for dinner when we fancied a change of scenery.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graceful_Hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Had an absolutely amazing stay at Afro Chic. From the minute we arrived everything was perfect - the location, the rooms, and the service. Stephan is truly the absolutely perfect host, attending to our every need and making it such that we never wanted to leave.

The small boutique nature of the hotel means that everything is personalized, and you feel cushioned in a wonderful golden cocoon. The suites on the top floor are magnificent with an amazing few out over the grounds and out into the ocean.

It is full board and absolutely worth it, with fantastic food based on what is fresh in the market.

Truly an amazing, unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: The large suite on the top floor is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ixtla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We sepent a wounderful four plus two nights there, meanwhile three days at Safari to Masai Mara.

All the staff was highmost friendly, attentive and competent.

The food was good and with a big menu card, and the service just and only very good!

The rooms are poor (even with flatTV, so the bed was moving, and in the shower-bathroom with a plastic curtain not even a light for to make-up or shave when it is dark: One (ONE) bulb for all the room in at the ceiling.

Definitively not five-stars!

Quiet good for to relax, so there is not anymation any than the always attentive staff.

The beach is wounderful (as all the travel guides comment) was the sea definitively NOT! Bring your bathing shoes and be prepared that you can not swin whenever you want, so you have not such a lot of snad, if not a shelly reef in front of your hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank masmiguelDusseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel for a friend's wedding. It was one of the best hotels that I have ever visited - beautiful rooms, stunning grounds, and fabulous staff. Stephan and her group looked after our every need, and did a fantastic job organizing and hosting the wedding. I am counting the days until I can come back again.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
Thank EaglesFanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
446 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
299 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
568 reviews
4.9 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: $432 - $983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AfroChic Diani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the white sands of the sparkling Diani Beach, AfroChic dazzles with views of exotic, ancient dhows in full sail. The graceful curve of the Diani shoreline tempts all to walks in the warm shallows along the edge of the African continent. AfroChic offers ten individual, uniquely-styled rooms with ocean and garden views. This 'home-from-home' retreat will see you return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your AfroChic Diani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing