We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AfroChic Diani
Nearby Hotels
$136
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Afrika Pearl & Spa(Diani Beach)
$93
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$139
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PrideInn Express Diani(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$50
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Marlin Beach Hotel(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$102
$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sands at Nomad(Diani Beach)
$125
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diani Sea Resort(Diani Beach)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$217
$141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$109
$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
200
16
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
16
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan extensive menuturtle hatcherybuilding nestsfantastic boutique hotelshort flighttwo young boysbeach boyscold towelsthe pool and beach areastaff were exceptionalsmall hoteljunior suitehotel stayhome away from homemeal timesheaven on earththe general manager
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 221 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2011

After searching for hours to find a wonderful spot near Mombasa after a busy work week, we were overjoyed when finding AfroChic Diani. Stephan and his team make you feel at home and attend to your every need. The room and food was fabulous, the hotel and location couldn't be better. Worth every penny.
J. Rockwood

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMRockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I have done nothing but rave to everyone back home how wonderful this holiday at AfroChic was! We flew over for my best friends wedding and Stephan and his wonderful team made this day perfect for her with his attention to detail exquisite.

The food was fantastic, all freshly prepared and served at whatever time we asked, the hotel (which i really want to call home!) was immaculately clean and the staff felt like you'd known them forever, nothing was ever too much!

This hotel really doesn't feel like a hotel, it's like a huge family home in beautiful gardens (i just love the rocking bed at the end of the garden!) I was so sad to leave at the end of the week but i know we'll be back - i wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Special hugs and kisses to Stephan, Mummy Taz and Zipporah - miss you all xxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Afrochic Diani is truly a unique place. From the warm and enthusiastic welcome on arrival to the emotional farewell, our experience was truly special and different. The ambience and atmosphere really is more like a dream home than a hotel. The bedrooms are interestingly and comfortably furnished in a variety of African themes. The pool, garden and beach areas are immaculate and, with the beautifully furnished ‘indoor-outdoor’ areas there is always find somewhere comfortable to chill to suit your mood. As for the staff, all were unfailingly attentive, friendly and courteous. There is a very good choice of food, which is freshly prepared and served wherever you chose; unlike a previous report, the dishes were always served at the same time to our party - which varied from 2 to 8 during our stay.

Stephan, Taz and team (too many to mention but all fondly remembered); thanks so much for making a special time truly memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Well what can I say, after many trips to Kenya this was by far the most amazing hotel I have ever stayed in.
I sobbed when we had to leave.
The hotel, the rooms the hospitality the staff the management the food the beach EVERYTHING was amazing I could never put into words exactly how amazing.
If you are considering staying here stop and just book it, you will be filled with memories that will last a lifetime.
We were a group of 8 and all of us felt the same way.
My Partner and I were lucky to be the first to get married here......oh my goodness....it blew us away with how much love and attention to detail that was put into the day, especially with only 4 days notice!!!! thats another story.
A Big big thankyou to Stephan and all of his staff...too many to mention for the amazing memories.....you really did make my Dreams come true! I look forward to coming again on our Anniversary :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorna0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Afro Chic hotel has recently changed ownership and one gets the feeling that the new management team is trying very hard to make this a super hotel. The setting is nice on the beach but with a lovely green garden with lounge "tents" as well as regular sun beds and a lovely pool. The restaurant is located both in the garden and inside for guests preference. The rooms are reasonably large to large and absolutely great ( but not luxorious) with Wi-Fi, cable TV, DVD, minibar and all bathroom things.
Where I believe that the hotel can do much better is in regards to the food as well as the servicing of the food. We barely ever got the food at the same time even though there were only 5 in our party and I think that the food can be described as at best average. The menue is excessively long which might make it too difficult for the kitchen so it might be worthwhile for the management to consider a shorter menu every day.
Overall a very nice place to stay though the beach is not great at Diani and all the local sales people on the beach are rather irritating but they are not allowed in the hotel garden and can therefore easily be avoidable. On a final note, Afro Chic is located among larger hotels and it is therefore an easy walk to another hotel for a drink or to use a gym etc. Water scooters, wind surfing etc is available on the beach and the golf club is a short walk or taxi from the hotel.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank BBostrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews