We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Braunis Horio
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Odyssey Hotel(Agia Efimia)
$290
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fiscardo Studios(Fiscardo)(Great Value!)
$103
$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Almyra Hotel(Fiscardo)
$149
$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greka Ionian Suites(Agia Efimia)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gonatas Hotel(Ionian Islands)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dogis Resort(Agia Efimia)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Olive Bay Hotel(Agia Efimia)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
105
3
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
3
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolstunning locationvilla theaavithos resortamazing viewssteep walkhire carvenetian castlealready booked to go back nexttotal paradisetwin roompool towelsmyrtos beachcleaned dailybeach barmemorable holidaycleaned every morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 111 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in Villa Agapi for two weeks in August and had the most incredible time! The villa is absolutely amazing - the views from the front and back are stunning - on one side we looked over Assos and from the other side was our swimming pool and beyond that the ocean framed by rugged cliffs. The villa is very nicely decorated and has everything you need and the pool is very well-sized. We had three separate seating areas outside all with a different sea view.

The town Assos is very picturesque and has a few tavernas which serve good food and reasonably priced as well. Our favourite was Platano - lovely food and a very charismatic host! Assos has a small pebbly beach which is fun for swimming in. The walk up to the fort is definitely worth doing as the views from the top are stunning!

The staff at Braunis Horio are all very friendly and helpful. Our flight back to England was late Sunday evening and we had to check out of the villa at 10am so Katerina, from Braunis Horio, arranged for us to go to their sister hotel near the airport for the day so we could relax there and use the pool - we were even given a room there to dump our stuff for the day and a free transfer from the hotel to the airport- excellent service!

All in all, we had the most amazing holiday. Assos is a beautiful village and it is easy to while away days there wandering round the streets and swimming in the turquoise sea. Villa Agapi was the most perfect villa to stay in and has the advantage of being the highest villa so not overlooked by anyone (but I don't think this is a problem for the other villas - they all look amazing!).

I would definitely recommend Villa Agapi for anyone who wants a relaxing and chilled out holiday in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kernowgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed in Villa Prikonas for two weeks, and had a really relaxed and enjoyable time.
We were met at the airport and taken up to the villa in a big minibus. The driver kindly stopped at Myrtos beach to show us the view. The drive from the airport is about an hour, and some of the roads are winding and a little scarey. Throughout the time we only drove in daylight as we found the sheer drops at the side of the road off putting at times. Our hire car was waiting at the villa, and we found the form filling was really quick and simple, unlike the usual drawn out experience.
The villa is gorgeous and we found it had everything we needed. The standard of cleaning is excellent. The towels and linen were changed regularly. The pool was kept spotlessly clean, and the view from the infinity pool wall was amazing.
Everything in the villa worked well, and we found a stash of books under the TV, which we dipped into.
Assos has tavernas and places to sit and watch the harbour, and we also used the BBQ a couple of times. We found that although the two minimarkets in Assos have good stocks of most foods, for fresh fruit and vegetables we bought stuff in Fiskardo, or from stalls along the
road. You can't get fresh fish or meat in Assos, unless the van with fish calls on the day you want to buy it. Again we found fresh meat and fish in Fiskardo.
The walk down to the tavernas is fine, but the return walk raises your heart beat a bit, which is only really important if you have anyone who find steep hill climbs a problem.
The views are outstanding from the villas, and it feels really safe at night as the villas are behind locked gates.
For a family trip, this was everything we needed. For some there would not be enough to do, as there are no organised beach activities here. But our girls made the most of excellent snorkelling conditions in the harbour, and caught an octopus. They also found a stray tortoise which may have been wild.
The villa layout is great for teenagers as their room is down below the sitting area, and allows independent use of air conditioning which meant they could retreat to the cool room when it got too hot outside.
We read the review of hard matresses, but did not find this to be an issue, in fact we all slept really well. Thanks for a wonderful holiday in Assos.

Room Tip: Look hard at the villa plan, Villa Prikonas is the last one of five, and nearest the sea.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed in Villa Glaroni at Braunis Horio Villas in July 2012 for a week. I have travelled around Kefalonia a lot, and can honestly say this is the most perfect location on the island. The village is small and friendly and has everything you need. Great restaurants, cafes and a wine bar! The pebble beach is in a sheltered cover so very safe for children. But the best part was the fabulous villa. We stayed in Glaroni, and had a perfect holiday. We were a family of grandparents, parent and children, and all were perfectly happy in this villa. I was a little anxious about my 4 year old being up on the mezanine bedroom with an easy drop over the banister to the room below, but we easily set up barriers to make this safe. The staff at Kokolis Travel were fantastic and made the whole experience so easy - organising car, baby seats and lots of pre-travel assistance. The staff at Braunis Horio were very efficient - villa and pool always spotless. We dined fabulously due to the huge bbq on the front terrace.
In summary, this villa gave us a peaceful, tranquil, stunning holiday - one that we will want to repeat next year for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Villa Maistrali in June. The website originally caught my attention with some impressive photos so went with high expectations and were not disappointed in the slightest. I cannot believe you will find a more idyllic location with such great accommodation on the island. The villa is breathtaking with private pool and split terraces looking directly out to open ocean, and across to a fortress ruin, it really is quite extraordinarily beautiful. Nikos was very helpful and really made it special for us. Assos is a short walk and a stunning little fishing village, its bay is also stunning with incredibly blue water. It all feels like a well kept secret.That side of Kefalonia is very special. Highly recommend and would definitely return

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Promo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in the Villa Eleni which is beautifully designed and equipped. Admittably, while part of the view from the pool is restricted by the roof of the villa further down the hillside, the views to the north west are spectacular, and the views from the upper terrace (which also has the bar-b-q) are uninterupted. The villa is very well equipped with washing machine, dishwasher etc and is cleaned daily by a friendly girl who lives on site. In fact the villa was kept absolutely spotless by her.

The port of Assos is just a 5 minute walk down the hillside (10 minutes back because the hill is VERY steep) and has a couple of mini markets and half a dozen tavernas. A car is a must if you want to get out of the village (and for us was included in the villa rental). By the way, the nearest cash machine is 15 miles away.

We visited much of the island during our stay and it is very reminscent of how Spain was 30 years ago, no high-rise and fairly unsophisticated.

The owners are very helpful and organised the transfer of our luggage back to the airport at the end of the stay - thank goodness!

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old_Acc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews