We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villa in stunning location”
Review of Braunis Horio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Braunis Horio
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Assos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We recently returned from an amzing weeks holiday, staying in Villa Elea in Assos. From booking the holiday through Kefalonia Collection, to picking up the car which came with the villa, through to the welcome and ongoing maintenance, the service we received was exceptional.

The villa was stunning both inside and out and were maintained to a very high standard. The lady who looking after the villas was lovely and onhand to help whenever we needed. The views were stunning - completely fell in love with the island and the resort. This is a very quiet and peaceful resort - perfect if you want to just relax in beautiful surroundings. The only thing worth mentioning is the hill back to the villa is quite steep but worth it and it does mean you get exceptional views.

Couldnt fault the holiday overall and whereas I would never normally visit the same place again, we both agreed that we woulld both love to go back again.

Great value for money - I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos K, Owner at Braunis Horio, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your kind words. We are glad when our efforts are paying back and our customers leave the villas pleased. Your wonderful review makes us all very happy and there is no way to thank you enough for that. It is the primary purpose of the whole team in Braunis Horio to maintain a high standard for its guests.
We really are looking forward to welcome you again in Assos and try to break your habbit of not going back to the same place twice..

Thank you once more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 110 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

From our arrival at the airport we were greeted by the villa staff and directed to the car hire area 2 minutes walk away where there was no queueing, provided with free bottles of water and a very warm welcome (such a change from the usual car hire companies with their tedious form-filling and insurance up-selling). We were in the car and on our way within 5 minutes!

The journey took about 55 mins to the villa. We stayed in Villa Prikonas, which is the lowest of the block of 5 villas. This was our wedding anniversary, and on our arrival there were flowers and champagne waiting for us.

Our villa was spotlessly clean, designed and furnished to a high standard both inside and outside, although a more traditional sofa would have been better in the lounge area rather than a large flat cushion! However, we spent 90% of our time enjoying the wonderful outside living areas - the poolside and the rear BBQ area - both of which have dining tables and sun loungers. The hillside stepped layout of our block of 5 villas means that if you are not staying at the top-most villa, then you are slightly overlooked by the next villa, so if you are seeking complete privacy then best to choose carefully.

The housekeeping was exceptional; everything was cleaned on a daily basis.

The walk into Assos village takes a few minutes, where you will find several tavernas. Our favourite by far was Platanos in the square.

We toured most of the island and came to the conclusion that we had picked not only the best area to stay (Assos, for pure relaxation), but also the best villa resort with the most breathtaking views.

Room Tip: Some of these villas are slightly overlooked by the next, so choose carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos K, Owner at Braunis Horio, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your rewarding review, all of us in Braunis Horio Villas makes a big effort in order to recieve this kind of excellent feedback. Since you were our first arrival for 2012, we hope that your review will bring us luck, and that we will have similar reviews as yours. I'm very pleased that our people took good care of you and that you had a relaxing holiday.

A big thank you for booking with us and also for this wonderful review,we are waiting to see you again in one of our villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We just spent a week at Villa Agapi within this complex and I can not recommend it highly enough! The apartments are beautifully looked after and are in an incredible setting! Try and get Agapi if you can as in our opinion it had the best views and just that little more seclusion...

One word of warning (and it's a minor one...) dont stay here if you dont like walking up hills, there is a short but steep hike up from the town...

Room Tip: Choose Villa Agapi if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tommalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos K, Owner at Braunis Horio, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments, we always have tried to provide our guests with our best possible services. A review like yours makes us feel proud and give us encouragement to continue.

Once again a big thank you from all of us, we hope to see you again in a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at Villa Thea for the last two weeks in September 2011. The weather was wonderful, with just a single day when it was stormy and a bit wet (towards the beginning of our stay funnily enough!), just perfect, not too hot and lovely and cool in the evenings.

The villa location is absolutely stunning, I have never stayed somewhere with such views!! There are two large terraces (one with a pool) that look out in different directions, pool terrace towards the sea and the fort and the front terrace towards Assos village (this is the terrace to sit out on for the sunsets!!) - absolutely fabulous! The front terrace also has a terrific built in bbq to cook your dinner if you don't fancy strolling down to the village.
The village is a very short stroll away (no more than 10 minutes) where there are a variety of really good tavernas (all excellent, especially Platanos and the one at the very end of the harbour whose name I cannot remember! Try the shrimp pasta in the latter) and a very well stocked little supermarket.

Beware that on the way back the last bit of the road back to the villa is VERY steep, but saying that, we are not very fit and managed it at least once a day and I am still around to tell the tale!! And I guess hill and view go hand in hand!

During our stay we did not find anywhere more beautiful on the island than Assos (though if you go and fall in love with it and think of retiring there, forget it! One house on the beach front is currently up for EUR2.25m!!!). An idyllic place to relax, unwind and indulge in some very good food and wine (though if you are after nightclubs and lots of excitement you might prefer somewhere else!)

Anyway, enough about weather, food and house prices!! You want to know about the accommodation!!!

Villa Thea was absolutely fantastic, the accommodation is spacious and immaculately well kept (as is the whole, small, complex). You will find everything you need, even down to a small cool box to take to the beach. Bed very comfy, slept very well, no shortage of hot water and good water pressure in the shower, happy days! Inside, outside and the pool were cleaned every day, fresh towels every few days etc. All in all it is like staying at an upmarket hotel, but with loads of space and private pool and terraces (and you can grab a chilled 500ml bottle of Mythos beer that cost 1 euro from your big fridge rather than paying 5 euro + at the tacky poolside hotel bar!). There is a television but very limited channels so well worth taking a few DVDs (there is a DVD player) to watch in case you get a day or two of bad weather.

We read somewhere that you could hire boats in Assos but found this not to be the case (unless they had already packed up for the season, we never really got to the bottom of it). No big deal though, as this gave us the excuse to visit Fiscardo (20-30 minutes drive) a few times and hire boats to explore the coast and visit the neighbouring island of Ithaka. Go to Regina's boat hire (follow sign to Ferries), better boats and about a third cheaper (avg of EUR 60 per day + avg EUR 20 for fuel, depending on the size of the boat) than the first place we used!!!

If you ever come across something about the "Festival of the Fish" in Ithaka (it was on the 1st of October this year) and are wondering what on earth that is all about....we went, and effectively it's a bunch of locals getting together for a bit of a jolly to drink local wine and have a sing-song. I think they bring wine and food down to the beach (Polis Bay) and share it all between themselves, so it's not really something you can get involved in, though it is quite fun to watch for a bit! So, worth a look if you are heading that way anyhow, but not really worth making a special effort for!

A car is pretty much essential here, if nothing else, you will not want to be lugging bottles of water and beer up the hill!

Lastly! Do not let the walk up to the fort/castle in Assos put you off (especially given the hill up to the villa!). Even though it is at least twice as high as the villa the road up has a very gentle gradient and it takes no effort to get up to the top whatsoever, much, much easier than going up the villa hill, just longer! There are plenty of benches along the way, but these are more for stopping to admire the incredible view rather than resting! We did the walk at about 10 in the morning, not sure I would want to do it during the mid-day heat! Take your little cool box as there is nothing there!

So, we LOVED it!!! Not a single bad thing to say and cannot recommend it enough!

I hope you enjoy it as much as we did if you decide to go!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 402Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I spent months researching where to stay in Assos when booking a surprise week away for my husband's 40th birthday.
Requirements - must be in Assos (as we had fallen in love with it when visting the island in 2000). Must be private / quiet / have BBQ & own pool.
I could not have picked better - Villa Agapi was absolutely perfect. Surrounded by stunning views from every window & with 3 separate outside seating areas we were spoilt for choice as to where to relax. Not overlooked at all, being the highest villa at the complex. We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank forestdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

My partner & I were looking for a relaxing holiday with sun, traditional greek food, quiet, untouched & beautiful surroundings.... we found all of these requirements & more during our week in Braunis Horio, Assos through Exclusive Escapes (who were superb in every way).
We stayed in the villa Agapi (translated means 'love') which is the top villa & the quality of the apartment blew our minds. We could have accommodated another 2 people easily. There is full maid service which is unintrusive & we even had a fresh bread delivery every other day. The equipment for our use was spot on ie cool bag, beach umbrella, washing machine, air con etc...
The town of Assos was simple & friendly. We explored the island in a jeep, the roads are well maintained. Be warned however that walking requires some strong leg muscles....
The boat hire for a day from Fiscardo is a must, we arrived early to pick up the boat & found ourselves a private beach on the Island of Ithaca where we snorkled & relaxed in paradise.
The Myrtos beach visit is also a must.... so beautiful.
My advice is to start the day early, we arrived at 9am for all our visits to beach, caves, boat etc & benefitted from the privacy. Back to the villa for a siesta then evening meal in either Assos or Fiscardo.
It was what I imagine a honeymoon to be made of.....

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbie99uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

The location & views make this. Watching boats come & go as well as the changing sea was so relaxing. We went with Exclusive Escapes who were great. Villa spotless, pool great. We stayed in Thea which is a 2 bed in middle. You are over looked a little from above & rely on your neighbours respecting this. Asos is beautiful - right balance for us of bustle & traditional taverna choice. The place to kick back & enjoy the view with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assos
6.4 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fiscardo
523 reviews
6.1 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
258 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Petani Bay Hotel- Adults Only
6.2 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
347 reviews
9.9 mi away
Perantzada 1811 Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braunis Horio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braunis Horio

Address: Assos 280 85, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Assos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Assos
Price Range: $1 - $2 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Braunis Horio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braunis Horio Assos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing