We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Kefalonia”
Review of Cavos Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cavos Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Assos B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A warm welcome when we arrived with Greek sweets and treats, an airy room overlooking the sea, and reviving breakfasts every morning made Cavos Inn a good choice for our week in Kefalonia - our first time on this island. Assos is a picturesque small harbour town - overlooked by a 16th century Venetian Fort. The restaurants, small clean beaches, and the beautiful walk up to the Fort make Assos a great place to do little and relax - but also a good base to visit Fiskardo (the St Tropez of Greece), and nearby beaches.

Room Tip: We hear Room 9 is the only one without a nice view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlottejborger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 75 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just got back form staying in this beautiful little Inn in Assos Kefalonia. Marie-Anne runs this like a home form home. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast terrace is situated looking out over the sea with incredible view across the bay. This is not suitable however for anyone with mobility problems as there is a flight of steep steps down to the Inn and no lifts. The best rooms for a view are 5,6 7. We stayed in room 9 which hasn't got much of a view but does have a balcony so you can just about see the seas from a side view. Nevertheless we had a fabulous stay and would recommend this to others.

Room Tip: Rooms 5, 6, 7 have better views. Room 4 is on the ground floor and no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jhfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have reluctantly reutrned from a perfect week in Kefalonia, with our base being the Cavos Inn, in Assos. After a bit of a hair-raising trip round some hairpin bends, by coach, you get your first sight of Assos and it is really beautiful, then you are suddenly in the resort. Cavos Inn is a small, adults-only place, with I believe, 9 rooms in total. When we arrived, we were greeted very warmly and offered a choice of local spirit, wine and water, together with lovely local yoghurt and fruit. When we went to our room it was absolutely perfect, simply furnished, but all our needs were catered for. We had a double bed, which can be quite rare, a nice wardrobe with a safe in it, a tv (which we never switched on once), a fridge, which was marvellous and most unexpectedly, air conditioning, which as the temperature reached 43 degrees was very welcome at night. We had a small balcony, which looked straight out to sea and a small, but perfectly appointed bathroom. Everything at the Cavos Inn is maintained to a high standard, and it is all beautifully clean. Breakfast is served on a terrace, which overlooks the sea and there's plenty of choice, with one different (usually hot) dish every day. You will find yourself sitting with other guests and swapping stories of where you've been. I found that I slept wonderfully well during my visit, partly due to the air conditioning - maybe as well due to the absence of children! My tip would be, try and book room six, because it has a full sea view and is lovely - and second tip would be if you are going down to breakfast, then try and sit at the round table, it is the most comfortable! This is a gem of a place, which I really recommend and the resort is very pretty.

Room Tip: Room six - best room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jobeninca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here on a couples break - it is definitely a couples hotel but at 27 we were by far the youngest couple there! Saying that, the guests were lovely and with the communal breakfast area we had some good chats with everyone there.
The place is small and set on a hill so there are some lovely views of the sea, as long as you have a room that is sea facing. We had a room that was part sea facing which was good enough, but some of the rooms are on the ground floor or at the back of the hotel so miss out on the view which is the best thing about the place.
You get a car included when you book here, which is essential to travel around the island and go to good restaurants. The local restaurants are OK but there are only a few so you will want to travel further out.
The local beach has lovely clear water but is not that big so can get crowded.
There are some good walks around the local area, but do make sure you plan some other activities.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea view and upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MLRjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The village of Assos is 90% holiday orientated. But it manages to retain it's traditional charm. The roads are windy and if you do car hire be prepared for high hair pin roads. The inn has it's own parking area nearby. NOT a holiday if you don't like a bit of walking as everything is up a slope so if have a disability do check. In summer it gets very hot. The beaches are not too crowded and the water warm and be careful as the beaches are mainly stony (in July and August expect up to 40 degrees centigrade heat). The Cavos Inn is a bed and breakfast hotel and the continental breakfasts are filling and plentiful local food makes a favourable impression. Take some sun cream it is hot! A pair of waterproof sandals for the stony beaches and your own towels for the beach. This is NOT a young person's club night out resort - families and couples are king here. The nearby castle has a cliff walk as well as the main route up to it (it is Venetian 16th Century but a ruin worth seeing). Check out the old prison and the olive groves to the rear of the castle). The island is slow and traditional and in the cooler weather walking would be a bonus. I would recommend the inn and it's friendly staff. It is a small establishment with about 9 or so rooms. All have showers, T.V., air conditioning and the accommodation is simple and classic Greek stone floors. Many rooms have a balcony. Beware mosquito's in the summer and the insect screen kept most out but not all ! Very relaxed atmosphere and other residents were mainly British and surprisingly chatty and friendly as brits abroad can be.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a sea view if you can - stunning views of the coast and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank casperdog777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is probably the cleanest Greek accommodation I've ever had! Everything was beautifully maintained, the bathrooms very clean and well appointed. The owner clearly has high standards and takes pride in her facilities. The breakfasts were super and the view from the balcony was marvellous which meant you could sit there all day just soaking it in. We were in room 6 with a good private balcony, this was very small though, only just room for a table and chairs for two, no good for sunbathing on. The room itself was tight on space but there was enough room in the wardrobe to keep everything tidy. Need insect repellent as the mosquitoes were busy! The local tavernas were only a few minutes walk away and everyone was friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Cavos Inn for 7 nights,such a fantastic setting overlooking the Ionean sea. The Inn has quite a few steep steps so would not recommend for anyone with walking difficulties.Breakfasts changed from Boiled eggs one day to omelette the next,with fresh fruit salad,breads,cereals,cold meats,yoghurt,tea,coffee.
Rooms are basic,we were in room 9,not much of a view,only a slight side view.Cleaned daily tho could do with updating as the showers are very small and cramped,the hair drier also was broken,We also booked the boat as an extra for 3 days (from the uk)which you pick up in Fiskardo,but to our disapointment the sea was slightly choppy and were refused the boat for the 3 days! No refund or comphensation,so dont book the boat until you want it.....there are plenty there to book daily.The village of Assos is very romantic,water edge restaurants,beautiful sunsets.....quite and tranquil,a greek paradise......definately an excellent choice and central to travel to Fiskardo & the famous Myrtos beach.There is NO pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ceinwenanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assos
0.0 mi away
Cosi's Inn
Cosi's Inn
#107 of 141 in Cephalonia
40 reviews
6.5 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fiscardo
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roi Apartments
Roi Apartments
#1 of 3 in Assos
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kanakis Apartments
Kanakis Apartments
#3 of 10 in Assos
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Linardos Apartments
Linardos Apartments
#2 of 10 in Assos
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Gerania
Pension Gerania
#3 of 3 in Assos
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavos Inn

Address: Assos, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Assos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Assos
Price Range: $27 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cavos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavos Hotel Assos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing