We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely B&B”
Review of Cavos Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cavos Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Assos B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A lovely B&B”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Cavos Inn for 2 weeks and enjoyed the whole 'Greek Experience'. We stayed in apartment 5 which had the most spectacular mountain and sea views from a nice little shady balcony that had 2 comfortable canvas 'directors' style chairs and a small table. The balcony was accessed by large double glazed doors (which when closed reduced the noise of the waves below to inaudible).There is a full length retractable mosquito net that can be used if the balcony doors are left open (although we did not see one mosquito during our holiday). The room itself is compact with comfortable twin beds, a fridge, a free safe and ample cupboard space - the floor is a cooling smooth stone surface ( but perfectly level!).There is a very effective and quiet air-conditioning unit. The furniture has an old fashioned appeal to it but is perfectly functional. There is no bath but a good walk-in shower - although the cubicle is a tad small. There was always plenty of hot water.Towels and sheets were changed on a regular basis.The walls and ceiling in the bedroom were of the white and rough textured variety whereas the bathroom was fully tiled.
Breakfast is taken on the little terrace with the same spectacular views as our apartment - there are only a few tables so it may be necessary to share tables.If you do not want to share just return a little later (breakfast is served from 8.30 to 10.00). But it is nice talking to fellow guests and sharing experiences.The breakfast itself is simple but very nice- essentially meat/cheese one day and a lovely baked 'Spanish' style omlette with sausages the next.There was always delicious home-made cake and fresh fruit salad available.
The wonderful Marianne does all the cooking and cleaning and if you need anything she is only too willing to help.
The Cavos Inn is about 5 minutes downhill walk into Assos (a small but lovely place) - it lies on the edge of a very sheltered bay with a stoney beach where 2 beach beds and an umbrella can be hired for 7 euros. The beach shelves gently into the sea. There is an excellent snack bar (with orange canvas chairs) fronting onto the beach and several good restaurants within a short distance. There are a couple of good mini-markets.
If you want a 5* HOTEL then this is not the place to be but if you want a 5* EXPERIENCE then visit the Cavos Inn (but you must get afull or side sea view room).

Room Tip: Rooms 5 & 6 (top floor) have the best sea views - there are two rooms underneath which have almo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
64
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The location and views are stunning. However the Cavos Inn is not worthy of 5 stars. The rooms are very basic and need renovating. Marianne keeps the place clean and tidy but breakfast deteriorated as the week went on. The standard of the pension was no better than others in the area. For us the worst issue was the bed. It made so much noise when you moved that it woke you as we'll as being very uncomfortable. We did not sleep properly all week. There is no where to relax in the sun. You need to get out of the property for that. In summary a nice place but don't believe the hype!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolfski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for a week at the end of June. The building was kept immaculately clean by Marianna, who also served up lovely breakfasts. The view from our balcony was superb (room 2). It's only a short walk into Assos, approx. four minutes, and it had its own carparking area about three minutes walk away. The only minor problems were the room was quite small, and the balcony didn't get any sun until the afternoon, but neither of these would stop me from going back again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Vlakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A wonderful B&B with a dramatic setting on the south side of the isthmus linking Assos to the headland capped with a Venetian fortress. The property is run by Mariana who works like a Trojan (if you forgive the inappropriate metaphor…) proving a lovely breakfast, with a killer yoghurt on offer, an keeping the rooms spotless. Décor quaint rather than contemporary and our room (No. 7) had a calming feel to it. The rooms to the south side have the best (full sea) views; however the side sea views are almost as good –particularly those on the 1st floor. The breakfast terrace shares the stunning outlook over the Ionian Sea.

Assos itself, is the jewel of Kefalonia, a peaceful timeless haven with some ruined buildings following the 1950’s earthquake still standing (just). The beach is pebbly but the water calm and warm, a small handful of good restaurants and relaxing bars are wonderful for a weeks grazing. Simply go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StevenJohnBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for a week in October 2012, so glad we founf the Cavos Inn!

Brilliant food an hospitality in the peacefull, beautiful and unspoilt town of Assos.

The view from our balcony was quite simply the best I have ever had!

Will definitely be back.... :)

Room Tip: If you are willing to compromise, the rooms vith a 'side view' are cheaper but still offer f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morph29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

A delightful small hotel with stunning views from our room balcony that take the breath away. A wonderful breakfast is a delight while looking out over the same glorious sea views.
Everything was clean and tidy, and nothing was too much trouble for the owners, and we will be going back, hopefully to room 5.
It really doesn't get any better than this

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in Cavos Inn in early October 2012. The weather was very kind to us - around
25 - 27c every day. The views were stunning, the hospitality was excellent - thank you Marianna,
your breakfast was delicious. Our room was cosy, clean and had all the ameneties you wanted.
The other guests that were present during our week were fun and excellent company, ranging from a Basil Faulty enthusiast, a Shipman to an actor who thought he was Batman and of course to all the others who contributed to making this a glorious week of a lifetime. We would love to come back in the near future. Also our thanks to Ionian & Aegean Travel Company for making it all possible.

Room Tip: Our room was the best in this 9 bedroom pension. I do believe that the main picture which Ionian &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John_mitchell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assos
0.0 mi away
Cosi's Inn
Cosi's Inn
#112 of 140 in Cephalonia
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dafnoudi Hotel
Dafnoudi Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fiscardo
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roi Apartments
Roi Apartments
#1 of 3 in Assos
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kanakis Apartments
Kanakis Apartments
#2 of 8 in Assos
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavos Inn

Property: Cavos Inn
Address: Assos, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Assos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Assos
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Cavos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavos Hotel Assos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing