We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zoe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zoe Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gialova
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is good value for money, as long as you are not expecting 5 star deluxe luxury and just want a simple, clean place to stay RIGHT ON THE BEACH then this hotel will satisfy your needs and your purse strings! Very pleasant young staff, great pool in which a serious swimmer can do lengths, and waiter service on the beach. Breakfast was not ample, but adequate. Very reasonable prices in the restaurant for lunch and dinner, all served under the trees in very pleasant, well-kept garden surroundings. Only drawback - wi-fi only available in the lobby and even then very spasmodic and frustrating. Be warned, Gialova is QUIET, not much to do for children but good to relax and re-charge batteries and lots to see in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: The apartments are way out the back and not on the beach front but if you don't need more than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HadjFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    60
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
77
100
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We came across the Zoe Resort Hotel by accident, hunting for a place with a good beach, good accommodation, and good prices. Zoe is an interesting combination of a classy beach resort and a working farm, all in together – and it is great! This family owned and run business occupies a huge block of land on Navarino Bay, next to the 1-block-long “shopping center” of Gialova, about 5km north of Pylos. The sand beach is wide and deep, mostly covered in shady mature trees and flowers, and filled with an assortment of couches, benches, tables and chairs – something for every style of lounging or sitting. Parents can relax or enjoy a meal on the beach while kids can run free.

The older part of the hotel is across a laneway from the beach, with a restaurant downstairs (although most food is served on the beach). The food is superb and inexpensive.

Behind the older section of the hotel are olive groves and vegetable gardens, interspersed with newer accommodation, a big swimming pool, and a series of connected fishponds. Zoe recycles grey water, using it to maintain the gardens. The restaurant uses its own olives and “on-site” vegetables. A chorus of frogs completes the ambiance.

Our family occupied two of the 1-BR suites at the back of the site for a week – big rooms, well-appointed, huge balconies; almost everything you need for a great holiday – and still only about 2 minutes stroll to the beach. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Gialova has a dozen or so restaurants along the beach; most of those we tried were of excellent quality and good value. There is a well-stocked mini-market next door; the manager speaks good English.

There were only two downsides: Zoe Hotel does not have laundry facilities; you have to drive to Pylos, and there is a laundry there where they will do it for you, but no laundromat. The other is that two nearby nightclubs keep the beat going for most of most nights. However, the glass doors to the balconies are double-glazed, so you can shut out the noise.

We highly recommend Zoe’s, and certainly would head there if we wanted to vacation in mainland Greece.

Room Tip: First floor (above ground floor) suites in the newer buildings are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lampetia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just stayed for three nights at the Hotel Zoe - the title 'resort' is a little misleading. We arrived with no prior booking in the off season and had a great room, not huge but more than adequate, with a very pleasant view over the trees to Navarino Bay. The price was good and included an OK breakfast. What we really liked about the hotel included the lovely shade between the hotel and the beach, a great beach and lots of places to sit comfortably in sun or shade, and pretty good food in the evening. We didn't use the pool but it is big and looks good.Elsewhere in Gialova there are lots of other places to eat within a couple of minutes' walk so you have plenty of choice. We'd go back happily.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westminster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went to Hotel Zoe for a long (Greek) Easter weekend and had a fantastic time. It is in a picturesque place - Navarino Bay - with lots of beautiful beaches and historical interest. As three generations holidaying together, there was definitely something for everyone. But it was the warm welcome, comfortable rooms and charming features of Hotel Zoe that really made our stay memorable. From the flowers to the high ceilings in the room; from the shady breakfast tables on the beach to the delicious lamb on Easter Sunday and from the nearby restaurants to the friendly & helpful family staff, this place made us all feel relaxed and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hplmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Want to spend a week reading on the beach in dappled shade? Ready to travel distances of – ooh, I don’t know – all of 10k to see remains of remarkable civilisations? How about lighting on rare flora and fauna with the added bonus of sensational sunsets? Or (and this really happened) walking along an endless beach and bumping into Yannis Smaragdis, director of ‘El Greco’, as he scopes out the location for his 2012 film about the life of the Greek pirate, patriot and merchant Ioannis Varvakis, ‘God Loves Caviar’. It’s always good to have a fall back holiday destination, and Gialova is ours.  Add it to your list.  
 
Of course, what makes it so easy to come back to is another week at Zoe Resort, the vegetable garden/olive and lemon grove/garden/apartment complex/ hotel on the beach.  We can’t claim the credit for finding it by ourselves; no, it was a referral from friends who have been going there for years.  You know how, when you decide to accept a recommendation, it’s always a bit nerve-racking in case it’s a dreadful holiday and the end of a longstanding friendship? Well, that’s not the story here.  We’ve just booked again to return this September.
 
So, seeing as we aren’t actually friends and you are looking at this review to try and decide if it’s the place for you, I can be totally honest.  I wouldn’t change a thing.  Do remember, though, this is the real Greece - if you want perfectly round oranges and everything just so, move along; there's nothing for you to see here.
 
Let me tell you why we are returning for the third time.  First of all, when you arrive at Kalamata airport, you can pick up a hire car or a taxi and it’s a short 30 mile drive along good roads; just turn right out of the airport gate, carry straight on til you can see the sea then turn right, down past the golf course, and you’re there. Easy. No sick-making twisty roads (unless you like that sort of thing, in which case you can be more adventurous and take the back way in, for which bravery you will be rewarded with some stunning views) and no “are we there yet?” from the back seat.
 
Oh all right, there’s more to a holiday than a short transfer time.  This is where the second why comes in; the Giannoutsos family.  Zoe keeps it together at front of house while her mother, Voula, alternates between reception and kitchen supervision.  Meanwhile, brother Theo has the coffee and cocktails all sewn up as Stavros alternates between his vocations of farmer and gardener, depending on the dictates of the season.  But whatever they are doing (and anyone might be doing anything, for demarcation isn’t big in this family) there is always a welcome and time for the guests.
 
The third why is the location, with only a narrow concrete pad separating the front of the hotel from the outdoor restaurant and lounge area that segues into sandy beach where loungers and parasols invite you over.  There have been times when we haven’t moved more than fifty feet all day, but in that time have eaten breakfast of home-produced bread, marmalade, cheese, yoghourt, eggs and honey; read on a sofa under the trees; taken coffee amongst a profusion of garden flowers; swum in the large deep pool surrounded by productive lemon trees and banana palms; snacked on kalamari and taramaslalata; snorkeled and paddled in the sea; showered, watched a stunning sunset and eaten vegetables and fruit that Stavros cultivated and Voula cooked for our supper, then sat out on our balcony watching the lights of Pylos twinkle across the bay whilst nursing a glass of something guaranteed to make us sleep soundly in the comfortable bed we will shortly retire to.
 
What else do I need to tell you? Well, on the Zoe ranch they produce their own olive oil and you can buy bottles to carry home if you are a sufficiently confident packer. Over time, guests have left a small library of books on the shelf there for you to select from once your personal stash has been exhausted. I’m no exception, substituting olive oil for hardbacks on my return journey.  A short stroll all along the sea front will take you to where there are enough restaurants and coffee bars for you to try a different one every day of your stay.  A walk around the beach in the opposite direction, however, will take you to the designated Natura 2000 site where the salt flats and causeways are home to wildlife and plants I’ve never seen anywhere else.  Voidikilia beach is along there, too – New York Times says it’s one of the best in the world and I’d agree – as is Nestor’s Cave, the ruins of the thirteenth century Frankish Pylos castle and the Mycenaean-period tomb of Nestor's son, Thrasymedes.  
 
There’s more, but I’m in danger of going on too long and I think you’ve probably got the idea by now.  Do nothing, or do everything, it’s all down to you.  Just, go.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 5 are more recently refurbished, on the first floor at the front of the hotel with a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RedBBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Lovely location and pool area in a gorgeous part of Greece. With friendly staff clean rooms.What more is needed? I find it very affordable. I have already booked to go back for a golfing trip forthcoming.It will be my 3rd time there I and my golfing buddies all have been very satisfied by the overall package they offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tooartyfarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Zoe for 2 nights on a bicycle trip in the Peloponnese. The room was clean with a lovely shower and a balcony. The balcony had clotheslines so you could hang your freshly washed bike clothes. The beach was lovely with a shower so you could rinse off any salt and a brush to remove sand from your feet so you kept the sand out of your room. We were given towels to use on the beach. Breakfast was great-yogurt with honey one day, fried eggs the next. Fresh squeezed oj of course. Everything was done to make for a relaxing and pleasent experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank roadieplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gialova
4.2 mi away
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
4.3 mi away
The Romanos Resort, Costa Navarino
2.6 mi away
Karalis Beach
Karalis Beach
#2 of 4 in Pylos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Karalis City Hotel
Karalis City Hotel
#1 of 4 in Pylos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
14.8 mi away
Camvillia Resort
Camvillia Resort
#1 of 1 in Vounaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
10.3 mi away
Artina Nuovo
Artina Nuovo
#1 of 3 in Marathopoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoe Resort

Property: Zoe Resort
Address: | Pylos, Gialova 240 01, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Gialova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gialova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zoe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the center of the small coasted village called Gialova-directly in front of the beach.From the (shaded) balcony of most of Zoe Resort's rooms and of some the apartments you have a beautiful view of Navarino Bay and the beach right in front of the hotel. The beach is the ideal place to laze with umbrellas and sunbeds provided free from the Resort. The soft sand slopes gently into the clear blue sea, so it's safe for little children to play at the water's edge. If you're tired of working on your suntan, you can snooze or eat at the restaurant in the dappled shade of the palms, tamarisks and oleanders which line the beach. And, of course, if the sea is not your thing you can take a dip in our cool swimming pool.We have 28 hotel rooms and 20 studios/apartments.We always suggest ,if somebody want to have more space, to take a studio or an apartment-as the smallest is 35 sq meters and the biggest 55 sq meters.We family Giannoutsos: Voula , Stavros , Zoe and Theodore wish to see you one day at our resort and offer you The Greek Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Zoe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoe Hotel Gialova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing