We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
Review of Mylos Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mylos Apartments
stratford on avon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Really did exceed all expectations - which were pretty high already having read the reviews!

Great place for a week in the summer or spring. Roi is really helpful and friendly. The 2 bed apartment is large, clean and well equipped including aircon. Balcony and a pleasant shaded seating areas in the garden.

Perfect location. Beautiful area. 200m from sandy beach with pine trees and many more sandy beaches within a short drive. We hired a small boat for a day to go around the bay which was well worthwhile. Also went up to the nearby waterfall. There are 12 restaurants within 10 minutes walk.

Would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbow_rainbow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 weeks at Mylos apartments. From our arrival, Roi and her family were welcoming and extremely helpful (They helped advocate for us with our rental car that got a blown tyre on the way there!). We had a 1 bed apartment on the 1st floor which was bright clean, spacious and airy and tastefully decorated. Roi had even managed to get us a DVD player we had enquired about when we booked.

All windows and french doors have mosquito screens and there is air conditioning so you can be comfortable day and night. We were provided with a lot of bits and pieces that made it all feel quite homely: coffee, olive oil, sugar, homemade quince jam and honey (yummy) and throughout our stay various local produce was genorously shared with us by the family. Local natural toileteries were also provided.

The apartments are well looked after and cleaned regulary with fresh sheets and towels every couple of days. The beds are huge and extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious with a large shower.

The location is an excellent base with Gialova village and Beach just 5mins walk away. There are a lot of other truly amazing beaches nearby which can be reached by bike or car or by foot if you are feeling energetic and lots of other sights to see including the lagoon (lots of birdwatching), Kalamari and Polilymnio Waterfalls, Paleo Castro Castle and easy access to the town of Pylos and various other parts of the Messinian Peleponese.

Each day, after our adventures it was lovely to return to the apartments and enjoy a quiet evening alone or chatting about our trips with our lovely host.

The apartments do lie near to the village road which can be noisy at times, but we got used to this pretty quickly and slept with windows open at night. If you close the windows/doors all are double glazed so keep the sound out or you may prefer a ground floor apartment with the bedroom at the back.

After 2 weeks it was diificult to say goodbye - we would would thoroughly recommend these lovely apartments and fantastic hospitality, even in early September the weather was still very hot and the sea very warm! Would love to return there !

We would also recommend Elias Restaurant in Gialova Village for great greek specialities and great service and price and we had gyros a few nights from a small kebeb place at just over 2 euros which made for a great snack in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szada, Pest, Hungary
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

When we decided to book an accomodation in for 5 nights in Gialova, we searched for a place which is located not far also from Ancient Olympia and the interesting spots of South-Western Peloponnese as well, and have nice sandy beaches.
The village lived up to all our expectations: we found a usable sandy beach in few 100 meters from the apartment; the Divari, Voidokilia beaches - both a few minutes by car - are really beautiful, and Olympia, Methoni, Koroni, Ancient Messini, Chora, etc can be reached in 0.5-1.5 hrs by car.
But Mylos apartments was much beyond all our expectations. It is hard to describe by words the pleasure what the place gave us. We (2 adults + 3 kids) stayed in a 1-bedroom aparment, which was spacious enough. From the subtropical, lush garden we stepped into the living room, which was connected with the bedroom and the bathroom with a short floor, both were separated by a door. Front of the bedroom we had a small, not overlooked garden with lawn - never seen anywhere in Greece such a green grass... The apartment is as nice as on their photos, everything works and is in perfect condition, the kitchenware is new and sufficient. The service is rather like in a hotel: the flat was cleaned daily, we got new towels after 2 or 3 days. Roi provided us not only with really useful advices, but also with fresh oranges, eggs and (high quality!) olive oil from their farm and bananas from the tree in the garden. The price was totally affordable - all in all, a perfect place for a good price. Go there and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalamonCs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We recently enjoyed several nights at the Mylos Apartments in Gialova thanks to owner/hostess, Roi Giannoutsou and the terrific accommodations she provided. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment and enjoyed the nicely equipped kitchen, spacious living area opening onto a lovely balcony, and the spotlessly clean bathroom. The bathroom was good sized, containing a shower only but was just what we needed (this is southern Greece, after all, and water is a precious commodity!). Up a spiral staircase were the large master bedroom with a lovely view to the west and Navarino Bay, and a second bedroom with 2 twin beds overlooking the east and the mountains. The beds were extremely comfortable and provided a wonderful night’s sleep.The air conditioning was fabulous and welcome as temperatures reached close to 100 degrees F each day. Roi has created a peaceful and welcoming outside environment for her guests with a well tended and lush garden bordering on all the apartments. Within the garden is a common area for folks to gather in the evening or for children to play in while their parents relax a bit. Roi was always available for advice on places to explore and yummy spots to eat. Within an easy walk of Mylos Apartments we particularly enjoyed meals along the waterfront at restaurant Elia and a new bistro called Aplo. Gialova is a gem of a place, nestled on the Bay of Navarino and ideally located near some of the most incredible archeological sites and historical areas in Greece. It also is home to a protected natural area that provides habitat to endangered sea turtles and other water species and also serves as a crucial stop-over on migratory fly-ways. Over 270 different species of birds have been observed at the Gialova lagoon. There are miles and miles of beautiful sandy beaches close by as well. Roi has created a delightful setting for those who want to discover the natural beauty, history and culture of this corner of the Peloponnese. A stay at Mylos Apartments offers all the amenities and allows you to experience Greek hospitality at it’s best. Thank you, Roi, for your attention to detail and your concern for our well being and comfort during our visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCStriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Visited Mylos apartments unfortunately only for 1 day.
The apartment was big! excellent for a family of four and in a price your definitely can afford.We are not just talking about value for money! but something that exceeds what you pay for! Very clean, very nice furnished,cosy,quiet and everything you might want is in place!.In the room there is a small kitchen, large fridge,dishes and the necessary equipment to feel like home!
the garden is amazing, a great relaxing proposal for those that they need it.What can i say! Roi and her father truly made us feel like home, very warm and friendly hospitality from both of them, this surely adds value points for a longer stay soon here for sure!!!
Visiting Pylos and the beaches of Romanos and Voidokilia is a must! try ELIA restaurant at Gialova for a wonderful dinner with nice service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skycrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The adress was recommended from our friends who went there in 2010. In June-July 2011, with our 18 months old, we spent 3 weeks at Mylos Appartments.This location is at the heart of a fantastic and wild land: amazing beaches with pure blue sea and white sand. You can buy fresh and yummy food at the market in Pylos or eat at cool restaurants in Gialova ( Zoe' s husband , one of the owner, has a great place). You bath in delighful sunshine all day and come back to Mylos appartments where Roi ( the other owner) is welcoming you with her great smile, care and always good recommendations on things you are interested to discover. Your appartment is cleaned every day:-)) The place is quiet, aesthetic, cool and the atmosphere that create the owners is warm and cosy. There is a great garden where you can read a book, be creative with your child ( they have lots of toys) or sip a nice glass of wine..Everything for unforgettable vacations!! Enjoy;-))

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This summer (2011) we (me, my wife and two small kids) spent wonderful vacation at Greece - 4 weeeks at Peloponnesus. During 2 out of 4 weeks we stayed at Mylos Appartments in Gialova, near Pylos. And we're still have very fresh, vivid and happy memories from that time. The place itself is very nice and quiet - good balance of tranquility and still some tourists (which provides sufficient amount of shops and restaurants at the sea-shore I believe). We love Greece for it's beaches - and this time we were not disappointed indeed - there's one of the most beautiful beaches nearby - Vojdakilia, and quite a few other beaches - which we we told about by Roi, the owner of the appartments. If you have a car - it is not a problem to approach them all, otherwise the nearest are easily accesible by bike, which you can rent nearby.
Appartments themselves- beyond question - one of the best places we've ever experienced to stay at during out not so long (though) altogether vacation experiences. Designed with great artistic taste, very cousy, spatious and clean inside, with beautiful garden with shady pavillion where you can sit and leisurely talk or surfe through the internet (free WiFi included!) - outside! I admired artistic objects in the garden - created from some sea stones and suitable for kids for climb.
Roi - great host, very warm and hostile. Yound ang beautiful Greek woman! It was a pleasure talking to her about Greece in particularly and life in generaly. She adviced as few great places around to go and see and they all were really worth it! Special thanks to Roi for couple of hidden beaches she recommended us - it was really something! Tiny liitle pieces of sandy shore hidden in rocks with narrow serpentine road coing down to them!
Our kids loved Roi very much - they are pretty small - 3 and 5 years old - and I'm surprised to understand they still spontaneousely remember her with great pleasure and laughter.
All in all - I do recommend the place to anyone who is planning the trip! And by the way - we realised, that Pylos and Gialive are perhaps the best place at southern-west part of Peloponnesus to stay - good mixture of beaches, historical sites and touristic infrastructure (we traveled a lot around and we now know for sure!)

Ivan, Elena, Tonya, Fedya (Moscow, Russia)

Room Tip: All rooms are great! If even they are called just Studio - you definitely get more than you woulkd e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vantso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gialova
0.0 mi away
Zoe Resort
Zoe Resort
#1 of 1 in Gialova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artina Nuovo
Artina Nuovo
#1 of 3 in Marathopoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eleonas Holiday Houses
Eleonas Holiday Houses
#1 of 10 in Gialova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thanos Village
Thanos Village
#1 of 2 in Gialova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palaiokastro Villas
Palaiokastro Villas
#7 of 10 in Gialova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panorama Gialovas
Panorama Gialovas
#5 of 10 in Gialova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mylos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mylos Apartments

Property: Mylos Apartments
Address: Gialova 24001, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Gialova
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Gialova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mylos apartments are situated at the seaside village of Gialova, 5 km west of Pylos. They are only 100 meters from the beach of Gialova and 4 km from Voidokilia beach.The complex consists of 5 studios and 1 two-level apartment. All apartments are air-conditioned, with a fully equipped kitchen and TFT television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Mylos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mylos Apartments Hotel Gialova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing