We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL VIEWS”
Review of Balcony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balcony Hotel
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have travelled to Tsilivi many times and wished we had stayed here before.

We took a Taxi from the Airport which only cost 20 euros, well worth it, took only 15/20 minutes to get to the Hotel, so no stopping at every Hotel as you would on Coach Transfers.

On arrival we had a lovely welcome from Sophie the Receptionist and also Eleni.

The first room we were given was nice but small and therefore was grateful Sophie was able to give us a larger room the next day in the new part of the Hotel on the top floor. The room was perfect, with stunning sea views, which were great any time of day. The cleaniness of the room was excellant, I spilt a little sun cream on the floor, cleaned this up with tissue, the tissue was still white not one spot of dirt was found.

We ate dinner a couple of times in the evening at the Hotel and the food we had was really nice. The House Wine was not so good, recommend buying a bottle. The Sun Sets are breath taking.

Breakfast was OK, the same every morning choice of fruit, greek yoghurt honey, jams etc, cereal, cheese, meat, tomatoes, olives feta cheese, bread, bread rolls, pastries and cakes, pizza, boiled egg, bacon and I think omelette/scrambled egg, didn't look very tempting so didn;t fancy that. Found the area too small you were restricted reaching the food. Health & Safety would have a field day with the electric kettle which was on the top tier of the tables, you had to reach over the food to get to the kettle and you had to be tall. The best part of breakfast was sitting outside in the shade eating your breakfast looking out at the sea views.

Getting to the Beach down the steps is an experience, not just that there are no further steps as you get down to the beach and have to struggle the last bit, but also because in the Garden of the property that joins the steps and beach are 3 Alsatians loose in the grounds, they suddenly appear as you are walking down the steps or along side the property and start barking at you, without fail they always made me jump. We found ourselves creeping quietely down the steps hoping we wouldn't be spotted.

In the evenings we walked into Tsilivi but always got a taxi or horse and cart back. The Hill to the Hotel was a killer!!

We had a lovely time here and would certainly go back again all the Staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cubanbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Balcony Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 472 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just retuned this evening from a wonderful stay at Balcony Hotel and have to write about it.

The Balcony Hotel is a very special place to stay. Set on a beautiful cliff top, by itself with commanding views over the Bay of  Tsilvi, the deep blue Ionian sea and distant mountain range. There are no sun beds or poolside bars here. It offers a sophisticated atmosphere that would appeal to the discerning traveller. 

There is a large tastefully landscaped terrace from where to have breakfast and another romantic open air terrace tastefully lit for evening meals. One could be forgiven for mistaking the views with that of a cruise liner at night in harbour. The hotel itself has only 3 stories and we were on the first floor. The beauty of this hotel is that almost every room we are told has (stunning) balcony views directly of the sea; and with it comes the gorgeous evening sunsets set behind glistening distant mountains. The backdrop is simply so romantic. We stayed in room 214 (the hotel has 30 rooms in all). In our case we could view the sea lying on our pillows, through the patio door and sculpted balcony. Air conditioning was very effective and came as standard as did a large fridge in the room and WiFi. The latter being worth its weight in gold. The connection worked directly from our bedroom, unlike some hotels where you have to go to the lobby to get a signal. There was plenty of lighting in the tastefully decorated mature pink bedroom and it was very spacious indeed. The room above us was also available on the top floor, but set out with brown furniture. As my partner preferred the white look we stayed put. The bathroom was dated, but immaculately clean and not off putting. Bathrooms in other other rooms have been renovated to a high and tasteful standard and some have baths, ours only had a shower - but no hardship for either of us. 

This is a family run business, originally started by the proprietor's father. Everything about the hotel says they will make your stay special. And they do. Every hotel has its own USP, some give great meals, some great service, some have fantastic location, but the Balcony Hotel has it all at exceptionally modest prices. I made a number of requests during our stay. The proprietor, Eleni is calming and easy to be around and granted each one of our requests with a smile and a "Can Do" attitude - and that included helping us make sandwiches from the morning buffet menu for our return flight. I didnt feel they were simply trying, or trying too hard, I got the impression this is their way of life. What a refreshing and wonderful take on an often tired industry. It certainly made all the difference to the quality of our stay, something different to the cattle market style hoteliers we have come across in the past.  The food was plentiful and extensive at breakfast and the Greek Yoghurt and honey a simple delight. The evening meals were just stunning and we both regretted not spending more nights eating there by moon light. (We normally check with a moon calendar to try and coincide our stay with a full moon for that special touch). We have both agreed we will simply need to go back and have more meals there by moon light!

Visit the Balcony Hotel. It truly is something special in today's fast, quickly fatigued, lifestyle. 

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VicDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and really, our stay was wonderful ...
Clean and comfortable room, with daily cleaning service, nice shape, new furnitures, a great white TV, dryer, fridge and everything you could need during your stay in a hotel .. From our room, although it was situated on the ground floor, we had a spectacular view of the Ionian Sea.. On the negative side? The café-restaurant-bar of the hotel was not open between 10:00-14:00 so, as we used to wake up late, we couldn't drink our "morning" coffee ... Also, on the in-room menu there were not prices ... Otherwise ... Certainly much more than 2 * hotel, will definitely go again and again and of course I would recommend it to all ...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fotini_gr_piraeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

In this hotel we stayed for three days. The first day we had a very nice room with a terrace and spectacular views of the sea, other days we had a room without a view, but even if not so nice (especially the bathroom), everything was clean and tidy. Service, especially the hotel manager and receptionist was very helpful, incredibly nice and accommodating. Breakfast varied, fresh and taste great. TV and air conditioning work.
I do not know when I will come again on Zakynthos, but I certainly know that I come again, and so I know that I want to stay again in Hotel Balcony.
For a pleasant stay thanks Lucie and Pavel - 110th room

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lucie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were married at the Balcony on 10th June 12, and it was perfect.

There were 8 of us altogether in our group so it was just a intimate wedding but it was lovely.

The views are outstanding and our photos turned out brilliant. We had our wedding breakfast there and chose of their main menu, the food was lovely.

The owner and his family were very friendly and made it special for us. The table was beautifully decorated, we ate inside then went outside on their terraced to see the sun set and have more drinks.

We didn't stay at the balcony but the reception area and toilets were very clean so I expect the accomdation would have been great too.

I would definitely return & visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank clairebear1973Grays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I have stayed there for a week and we've loved it. Our room had a nice balcony with the perfect view overlooking the sea. Very romantic. The hotel has a very good location. The sandy beach is just bellow - you need to walk for only cca. 5 minutes. The touristy center of Tsilivi is close, but still far enough to enjoy some peace and privacy. Thank you, Eleni! We will defenetly come again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Svetjelep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We Stayed 1 week. We had a great stay - the view from our balcony was amazing. The staff were very helpfull, and also the breakfast were ok with coffee, thea, scrambled egg and bread. The surroundings were quit, and once more the position of the hotel is amazing - we enjoyed every day - and we would like to go back for another holiday. The restaurant is very ordinary, but there is a lot of very good restaurants at the beach and the town.



  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ebbep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
0.8 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,314 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
5.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#8 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,229 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony Hotel

Address: Akrotiriou - Gerakariou, Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tsilivi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
#12 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range: $59 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Balcony Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Balcony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing