We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average 3 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Zante Maris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zante Maris Hotel
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average 3 star hotel”
Reviewed September 13, 2007

We stayed at the Zante Maris in the last two weeks of August. This hotel was definitely not 4 star...even for greek standards. The positive was that the hotel was situated right on the beach. The beach could have been lovely but was covered in litter (especially cigarette butts) which of course my 14 month old loved to pick up and shove in his mouth. It was also crammed with sunbeds which left very little room for children to play. The towels on sunbed situation was ridiculous, I could not believe that you had to resort to getting up at 6am to reserve your sunbed!!! and even then a good few were already taken!. The hotel room was basic but very clean, the bathroom was in very poor condition and was absolutely tiny. The bath was all stained which made it look dirty even after it had been cleaned, for some bizarre reason there was a phone right next to the shower which had fallen off leaving a wire exposed....not the safest place!. The evening entertainment was pretty awful (bingo / pop quizes / elvis impersonater). The food was the WORST food I have EVER had. We unfortuantely booked half board, ate there on the first evening at that was it ......it 's what you imagine prison slop to be like. Some of the staff were really friendly....but there only seemed to be 3 waiters who were not very friendly and hardly said a word to you. Even so we did have a very enjoyable holiday. Tsilivi as a resort was not really our 'cup of tea' with every bar having large screens with football / only fools and horses or some other old english programmes playing. It is definitely not a traditional greek place to visit, there was no character at all.

  • Disliked — Cramped bathroom in very poor condition
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    350
    119
    22
    4
See reviews for
383
545
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2007

We stayed here for two weeks at the end of August, booked through First Choice.

First, the good things. The hotel is well positioned right next to the (crowded, narrow) beach and far enough out of Tsilivi to be peaceful. The rooms are well equipped with air-con / fridge / tv, and were cleaned to a high standard, with clean towels supplied daily. The bar is quite a pleasant place to sit, and was reasonably priced.

Next, the not-so-good things. Breakfast was poor, with barely drinkable orange juice (we were not alone in taking our own). Dinner was very early, finishing at 9. The choice was OK and the food edible (but not Greek - fellow Brits, why do you insist on going abroad and then eating the same food you eat all year round!?). We ate there a couple of times, but there are much better options in Tsilivi.

Finally, the bad things. Service in general, and in particular behind reception, was poor, and we had the misfortune to meet two of the rudest receptionists we have ever met. One lady managed to take our payment at the end of the holiday without even making eye contact. The doors connecting the rooms to the corridor provide almost no soundproofing. Only in the bar could you charge the cost to the room. The (ahem) entertainment was dire. Ladies, if you ask for any beauty treatment, you will get absolutely fleeced. Check the prices carefully beforehand.

Although we still had a great holiday, this is the first time tripadvisor has let me down. The marks given to this hotel on this website are way over the top. This hotel is an average four star package holiday hotel with rude staff.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RobKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

Myself, my boyfriend and my mum and dad have just returned from a weeks stay at the Zante Maris hotel.

Firstly, the weather in Zante is absolutely the best. Even at night it is boiling hot. This was a bit of problem for us when we ate in the hotel restuarant as the air conditioning didn't seem to work which was very uncomfortable.

Don't rely on the late night room service the hotel offers because reception don't answer the phone.

The food is average, not much choice but nice enough. If you do stay half board try and eat out a few times because there are some AMAZING restaurants nearby. The best one is a short walk along the beach heading to your left. It is very reasonably priced, with lovely views, excellent service and the probably one of the best meals we have ever eaten.

For lunch go to the miami beach bar which is also just to the left of the beach. It is much nicer than the hotel's snack bar and has the same prices.

The pool is quite nice but a lady told us that people start reserving their sunbeds at 5am. We managed to get the last 2 sunbeds at about 8am when we dragged 2 single beds to a space together. We only stayed by the pool once.

The beach is nice but busy. The sea is warm and shallow for ages.

Laganas is a 16 - 18 euro cab ride away and has some good bars/clubs but don't go until about 10pm, when the nghtlife starts.

There is no hotel entertainment during the day but they do have quiz's, elvis nights etc at night. We never stayed at the hotel because there are so many bars on your doorstep and various activities i.e. crazy golf, bowling.

Also, football is on EVERYWHERE, at any time of the day and night. The TV's in the hotel rooms show sky sports and nothing much else.

I probably wouldn't stay in this hotel again but I definately would go back to Tsvili, it is very English and so much fun and the weather is perfect.

I would definately recommend this hotel for family's (which it mosly was), but not older couples who want a quiet, relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of entertainment during the day
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for the first time this year although we had visited Tsilivi many times mainly on a room only basis.We stayed at the Zante Maris on a breakfast only deal but half board was available and our friends opted for that deal.We knew what the hotel looked like as we had our niece visit the first year it opened and we liked what we saw. The hotel is nicely placed on the beach.We arrived 3 hours late but the reception staff were very good and we did not have long to wait before we were booked in.Our room was on the bottom floor [we asked for a higher floor] but it was as we expected. It was just like hotel rooms throughout Europe and the air conditioning was on.This was needed throughout our stay as Zante was going through a mini heat wave.However it did break down on a daily basis.The hotel handyman was very dedicated and sorted it out every time. The restaurant was fine with enough food of a nice standard and we didn't have long queues.My only criticism was that people were taking food from the restaurant to be eaten elsewhere.One woman even taking bacon and eggs in a plastic bag.unbelievable. For many years I have taken the micky out of the Germans for placing towels on poolside beds [I speak German].However in this hotel its the British who are putting towels on beds in the early hours so if you decide to visit 'beware' you late risers. I suspect the majority cannot abide by the hotel rules as there is a sign stating no reserving beds. If you have problems getting around there are lifts in the hotel but you do have to use steps in some areas. I cannot comment on the bar as I didn't really use it as we were always outside in other bars. The entertainment sounded ok but we did get fed up of listening to 'Elvis'. We will definately book again as it matches our needs.

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — breaking down of the air conditioning
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yorkyindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Got married in zante but at hotel no special treatment no bottle of bubbly even tho we booked for our wedding party most dissapointing. Basic but clean rooms. Breakfast was luke warm as was the coffee!
We went elsewhere to eat, some of the staff friendly but not all.Will not stay again. The sea view was the best part of the stay. Must say that the bedrooms are very basic. I dont know who does the ratings but this is more 2 star.
Mrs. Rock

  • Liked — Sea view and Bella and Alma
  • Disliked — niosy air con-- could here sea at night!
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank clangers1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Regarding the fact that we had spent our holidays in various hotels of different categories, I feel that the hotel fulfills the basic criteria of a 4star hotel. The advantage of the hotel is its convenient location - right on the beach, and at the same time not far from the centre - about a 3 min walk, located in a quiet part of Tsilivi as well. Another point to make about the hotel are spacious rooms equipped with fair-quality furniture and a small fridge is definitely a comfort. A/C works well - even if it seems the temperature was impossible to change (it must have been set centrally). We were satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel - bearing the fact that we were in Greece. The only aspect of hotel services that did not fulfil our expectations was the food, which does not correspond with the requirements put on a 4-star hotel.
We didn't like particularly poor choice of food at breakfast (3 kinds of juices were too "chemical", poor coffee and limited choice of breakfast meals, fruit at breakfast and dinner consisted of water and honey melons and parts of apples). And, of course, breakfast choice never changed. However, dinners were (despite the poor choice of meals for breakfast) very good and tasty. One more thing - cocktails in the hotel bar were a bit "lighter" than they should be.
All in all, in spite of some defficiencies, the hotel is "trying hard" to look like a good 4* hotel. Apart from all factors and remembering that you are in Greece, I think that you will leave the hotel satisfied.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank WalterSlovakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

our first visit to zante and the zante maris hotel and hopefully won't be our last as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
we booked half board and were a little bit dissapointed with the evening meal side of it, as the food at dinner was not up to 4* standard. the breakfast was very good and would book on a bed and breakfast basis if we stayed there again, which i hope we will.
the hotel itself was kept very clean by the always busy room maids and cleaning staff. our room was cleaned daily with fresh towels nearly every day and bed linen when needed. we had a sea view room with a brilliant view and would be happy to pay the extra for that type of room again. the only thing i would say against the cleanliness is the carpets in the hotel rooms and corridors could do with being changed but overall the hygene was very good.
the location is excellent right on the beach where we spent most of our days and only a short stroll to the centre of tsilivi.
the staff are mostly very good, speak good english and are always willing to help. a special mention must go to takis who was a gentleman throughout our holiday, alma and bella who were always smiling and cheery and would never pass you without saying hello and asking if everything was ok. john the barman from glasgow also worked very hard on an evening and nothing seemed too much bother to him.
entertainment wise we never stayed in the hotel for long at night so cant really comment but others who stayed said the elvis night and also the singer hayleybelle were good.
the only problem we encountered at this hotel was one morning we awoke to find we had no water in our room which we heard was due to a pump failure somewhere in the hotel but which was quickly rectified within an hour and a half with a new pump being fitted.

i recommend this hotel to anyone visiting tsilivi but would advise to book b+b as there a are plenty of very good places to eat out in the resort.

  • Liked — the location and staff
  • Disliked — evening meal
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank col_campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
0.1 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#23 of 49 in Tsilivi
804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Zante Maris Suites
Zante Maris Suites
#17 of 49 in Tsilivi
40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#8 of 49 in Tsilivi
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zante Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Maris Hotel

Property: Zante Maris Hotel
Address: Planos, Tsilivi, Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Zante Maris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zante Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zante Maris
Zante Maris Tsilivi
Zante Maris Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing