We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymoon”
Review of Zante Maris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zante Maris Hotel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

just got back from zante maris for our honeymoon had a fantastic time hotel spotless cleaned every day food fantastic with plenty of choice staff really friendly location brilliant could have done with a better evening entertainment programme but otherwise superb would definately go back

Room Tip: be hard to find better sea and pool view were the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Spent 1 week at Zante Maris booked through First Choice. Overall we had a good week at the hotel which is situated on the beach and only a 20 minute transfer from Zakynthos airport and 20 minute drive from Zakynthos town. Tsilli town is only a few minutes walk away, with lots of gift shops, bars and restuarants. The beach is a bit crowded with all the sun loungers. There were sun loungers by the pool, which often were not occupied, but could not be used as other guests had left their towels on them while they went off elsewhere.

The staff were pleasant enough, though Dritan (manager??) is quite scary when trying to get the guests to participate and encourage them to clap along to the entertainment!! It also seemed that returning guests were treated differently and given more attention (and they expected this).

We went on 3 tours while in Zakynthos, the best of these undoubtedly was Captain Spiros' speedboat trip to the shipwreck and blue caves. There was only about 35 people on the boat which was an ideal number. I would recommend this tour.

The other 2 tours we done were booked with First Choice. The first of these was to Olympia. We really enjoyed our trip but felt 3 hours in Olympia was not enough time to see everything and there was a lot of the site we did not get to see. 2/3s of the day was spent travelling. Also in addition to the advertised price in the First Choice brochure, you have to pay an additional 9 euros entry fee, so I would recommend checking for any hidden charges before booking tours with First Choice.

The other tour we booked with First Choice was the turtle island tour. We went with this tour as is was advertised as 'turtle friendly'. There were people from a turtle protection organisation on board, so guess they approved of the way the tour was done. On the tour, there were 150 - 200 people on our boat, which I feel was too many. If I ever went on this tour again, I would look for a local tour company, such as Captain Spiros' turtle tour, where you are in a much smaller group.

Room Tip: Entertainment does not start until 10pm at night - usually until midnight. If you want early nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kazza99_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We make a point of never going back to the same hotel twice, but we enjoyed it so much the first time in June 2011 when friends asked us to join them to celebrate their Golden Wedding at the Zante Maris in September 2012, we said Yes thinking it could not possibly be as good, We were wrong, it was like coming home. Everyone remembered us, the whole place was buzzing with happy people. Even the 3 days of violent storms, worst in 35 years,. did not spoil it. We feel we cannot possibly have a beach holiday anywhere else and cannot wait to go back again next year.

Room Tip: Third floor pool view is our favourite. all the rooms are designed the same, but the location is nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the Zante Maris hotel between 18th-25th September on our honeymoon, all inclusive, as that was all that was available through Thomsons. We would say the hotel was good rather than very good but trip adviser does not give a "good" option. We had a nice surprise waiting for us in the hotel room as we had been provided with a complimentary bottle of red wine.

The room was a nice size. The beds were okay. The staff had pushed two twin beds together but a proper double bed would have been better for a honeymoon couple ;) pillows a bit lumpy Bath was bit small and lack of toiletries. No tissues, shampoo and bath foam not very good but our main gripe was that after 15th September you have to pay for aircon? Seems strange in 4 star hotel and all inclusive. Also the room safe is 9 euros, which we thought should have been included in the package we paid for. 9 Euros seems quite a lot but we did hire the safe anyway.

Room was kept tidy and the cleaning staff mostly did a good job even tidying our own stuff. However, we did find quite a lot of cobwebs underneath the bed on the last day. Nice :(

Food & Drink - We thought the food was mostly really good with plenty of choice. It was cooked well and hot. We didn't find George grumpy like some other reviewers on here but didn't get to know him personally. We did find the desserts a bit hit and miss. Some were nice but some a bit tasteless but if you like Melon you were quids in. The fruit juice machines were not great. The orange juice tasted cheap and the machines were sometimes out of order. No chance of getting a good cup of tea. The waitress served drinks at dinner which were fine and they were friendly. The theme nights at the beach bar were good but the Chinese, Indian night needs improvement and whatever you do, don't find fault when asked how the meal was, as some interogation will follow. You will also find some cute cat/kittens roaming around the tables which don't bother you but if you don't like cats this could be an issue for you. The few dogs are not in the restaurant but in the street but they are harmless unlesss you are driving a car lol.
Ice creams and crisps were 2 Euros for all inclusive but you did get scoop ice cream free of charge at meal times.

Entertainment - Hit and miss. The hotel did make an effort with evening entertainment with some singers and greek dancers which were reasonably good. There was a disco night but the disco bar was closed, no proper dance floor, who ever heard of a disco without a proper dance floor. The music was mostly 70's which we guess was good for the majority of the guests in the hotel who were of a certain age group who might appreciate this the most. The bingo, quiz night was basic. One card each to get a line and then a full house and then a 20 question general knowledge quiz. This does not constitute a quiz night! The entertainment started to late. For example the bingo quiz night did not finally get going until 10.15pm when advertised as 9.45pm.

Swimming pool - The outdoor swimming pool is a nice size but cold, nevermind. Some other guests were putting towels on loungers before breakfast to lay on later and not always possible to get a lounger. The poolside jacquzzi was only switched on for half and hour in the morning and same in the afternoon, to apparantly save energy but such short periods of time to use this facility did seem ridiculous to me.

Beach - The beach is a decent one and just next to the hotel, ideal location. Close to centre of Tsilivi, few minutes walk and 20 mins drive from Zante Town and 20 mins walk from harbour. Bus service unreliable. Recommend taxi share. 20 minute transfer from airport is good.

Overall - We enjoyed our stay at the Zante Maris Hotel and if we ever go back to Zakynthos then would consider this hotel. The resort of Tsilivi is nice, a little quiet but some bars, restaurants, shops and one or two night clubs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

just came back from the maris could not find one fault with this hotel food brill thanks george room cleaned every day spotless thanks dori all staff friendly with always a smile for you especially latta at the pool bar cant wait to go back
entertainment ok nice beach lovely sea to walk in walk 50 yards and the sea just up to your waist
a trip not to be missed is captain spiros boat trip a lovely man who loves is job
a special thanks to all at the maris
see you next year
steve n nina

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I can't praise this hotel enough. The last review I placed on another hotel was scathing so I am not easily pleased. We spent two weeks at the Zante Maris leaving there on 18 Sep (room 111) and loved it. Excellent location right on the beach and Tsivili is on your doorstep with shops, tavernas and bars within easy reach (I love my football and there are sports bars galore in Tsivili). It is a low rise, family run hotel with excellent staff almost too many to name but I will try. The main man is Dritan who is there at breakfast welcoming you in, he is also at lunch and dinner, he runs the afternoon activities and evening entertainment. He has a wonderful personality as does his wife Bela who also works at the hotel. Georgia is a leading light in the restaurant and is geniunely attentive and caring, she also helps out in the evening at the bar. Also in the restaurant I must mention Aida and Tonia who attended our tables with humour and professionalism. The other front of kitchen staff also appeared nice but did not attend our table. The head chef is George who is a treasure, he appears reserved and distant at first but when you get to know him he is a great guy and an excellent chef. The bar staff have been bred for their task showing humour and knowledge of their jobs. Fotis, the older of the guys first got my attention when I saw him tell an east european queue jumper to go to the back of the line (on a rare occasion when there was a queue as they produce the goods quickly and with a smile). The other two bar staff who stood out were Theo and Costas who both had a great sense of humour and got to know their guests quickly. The hotel was clean, the cleaning staff were industrious and kept the rooms spotless, our sheets and towels were changed daily. The reception staff were very good, the food was of good quality, the lager was good as were most of the locally produced spirits (except for the whisky which was poor), the entertainment was mostly good and the overall holiday was first class. We met many guests who were there for the umpteenth time and that must say something for the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MajorTom515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just come back from all Inc package would have preferred half board but was not available with our tour company . Lovely hotel clean and well kept . Nice size 3rd floor pool view room which was requested ( not always guaranteed ) bathroom was small with a shower head that clipped on the wall and was ok if you were a lot smaller than myself ( 5ft.2 ) and the water always went all over bathroom floor no mater what I did with shower curtain so there was always a lot of wet towels . Very impressed with tea making facility's and 2 large bottles of water a day for the fridge never had that before . No air conditioning only if you pay 5 euros a day from 16th sep so we managed . All Inc soft drinks ok wine rubbish beer rubbish , so paid 2euros for big bottle of mythos which is nice greek larger , we went out for drinks and a meal at night because we didn't want to be in hotel all the time . The big big disappointment was the beach or lack of it , very narrow not very tidy, very busy , and lots of dried sea weed piled up , if you wanted to walk length of beach you had to walk over the seaweed which was quite deep ,and some people were actually sun bathing on it , not my idea of a lovely beach ,we went with intention of lounging on a lovely beach all day but spent all day round the pool very regimental .

Room Tip: Higher rooms over pool or defiantly sea view but there are not many
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.6 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#22 of 51 in Tsilivi
927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zante Maris Suites
Zante Maris Suites
#28 of 51 in Tsilivi
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zante Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Maris Hotel

Address: Planos, Tsilivi, Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range: $150 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zante Maris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Zante Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zante Maris
Zante Maris Tsilivi
Zante Maris Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing