We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, But ...”
Review of Zante Maris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zante Maris Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, But ...”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Looking at previous reviews before we booked here we thought great and the odd dodgy review was just by "stick-in-the-muds!" We are easily pleased and had a good hoilday but... this is no way a 4 star all-inclusive hotel. The good bits were staff that worked hard and you could buy anything and everything for 2 euros, including brand-name drinks (although at 10:55pm there was a massive queue at the bar to stock-up the freebies!), the location, sunbeds on the beach and lovely warm sea. However, the staff are over-worked and so rarely have a smile for the customers. The hotel is full of "regulars" who act as though they own the place and make it unwelcoming. The sunbeds round the pool are crammed in like soldiers in ranks with no room to move around to the sun. You are plagued with "Thai Massage" sellers every 5 minutes in the hotel and on the beach (who incidentally use the same "rag" to wipe the sand off anyone, never are seen to wash their hands between clients and are putting their hands in ears, down bottoms etc. and is grossly unhygienic!) The pool bar music, which is piped all round the hotel is, well, nothing less than shocking, the same 7 songs on a playlist all day long and not even original artists. The general evening entertainment was hit and miss. The Greek Night was easilty suprassed by the one in the Paradise bar in town, as was the Quiz Night. What is available on all-inclusive is not advertised clearly and the so-called snacks are limited and repetitive, as is the food in the restaurant. It was also obvious that some of the lunch and breakfast items were re-cooked foods from the previous evening. Previous reviews mentioned George the chef who we only ever saw carving meat, never cooking a thing. The drinks are watered down and the breakfast fruit juice is just squash. The main part of our room was adequate but the bathrooms are small and in need of updating, we also had brown water a few times which we have never had before in our many travels around the Greek Islands. This was after the pool toilets were seen flushing with sewage and the drains had to be cleared - what was coming out of our taps?! The water was nearly always cold, not good for shaving and the sheets were stained the first night we arrived! This sounds like a lot of moans but they were all niggly little things that made the hotel much less than what we had expected.
Lastly, would recommend the area of Tsilivi, the beach sunbeds at 6 euros per day for two with sea like a bath. Also highly recommend the Levante Speedboat Trips and Captain Spiros - absolutely well worth every euro.
A relaxing break but we've had much better.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    355
    119
    23
    4
See reviews for
390
553
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MAGOR SOUTH WALES
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 week holiday and cannot praise the staff enough headed by Dritan who is the hardest working Manager I have seen in any hotel, always on hand getting involved in everything with a smile for guests and his staff, he is obviously respected by all. Special thanks also to Bela and Fotu who kept us stocked with drinks and the lovely smiling Tasia in the beach restaurant and Georgiana in the main restaurant. The bedrooms are big, comfortable and very clean, the maids don't just clean the areas that are visible they actually moved cabinets, beds etc to clean underneath. The hotel is in a fantastic location the town with bars and restaurants within easy walking distance and the beach with its lovely shallow clear sea at its rear.
An excellent trip outside the hotel is with Levante tours with Captain Spiros a real character!!
Families, couples or singles all will enjoy this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach or overlooking the side street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BIDDIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have just got back from a 2 week stay at Zante Maris Hotel we had a fabulous time the hotel was clean and tidy.The rooms were larger than normal. The staff work so hard but always helpful nothing is too much trouble. The food was lovely and varied every day something for everyone (some good theme nights worth a visit.) The Hotel is situated on the beach which was good as it satisfied everyone the choice of the pool or beach.
My only advice to anyone visiting is to definately get a safe deposit box as not only us but a few other people had either money or jewellery taken this in no way would deter us from visiting again as the positives far outway the negative of this brilliant holiday hotel.

Room Tip: we found our room a good one as although not a pool or sea view very quiet at night which suited us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

just back from a lovely week at the zante maris, this well maintained hotel is full of friendly and helpful staff, its worth the extra for a sea view room which puts you bang on the beach. Always plenty of sunbeds even in august, The pool is large and i never saw more then 10 people in at one time, why would you want to, when you have a great beach on your doorstep, the sea is nice and warm and very shallow and calm, making it safe for kiddies, all in all a nice place for a quite relaxing week, this is one place i would return to.

Room Tip: most rooms have at least a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmasonManningtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is lovely hotel with large rooms and plenty of spacious public areas. It is right on the beach which we really enjoyed and the beach bar is large, cool and airy making a nice place to go and get a break from the sun. Also a great place to sit and watch the sun go down. The food was varied and of good quality. We went with our two children aged 14 and 16 and they thoroughy enjoyed themselves and were never bored. Swimming in the lovely warm sea was a highlight and playing in the waves on breezy days was great fun. We went on two trips with Captain Spiros on his speedboat which were fantastic, the best trips I have ever been on. Zante is a lovely place and we can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view so I wouldn't worry too much about what room you choose. There are su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the Zante Maris Hotel the last week in July and first week in August with my Mum & Dad and we couldn't fault it, All the staff work so hard to keep the hotel running smoothly and efficiently. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The food was excellent with a good variety. The restaurant and bar staff were always smiling, especially Georgia and Bella (even though they were always run off their feet as it was high season). The rooms were a good size, cleaned daily and kept to a very high standard. As the hotel is situated on the beach, you have the best of both; the swimming pool or the lovely warm sea. There is also a beach bar which is open from 10.30a.m. through till after midnight. where you can get snacks and drinks as and when you want them. This bar also puts on themed nights about 3 times a week, if you felt like a change from the Ambrosia Restaurant. We booked a couple of boat trips with Captain Spiros. Although they were a little dearer than some, they were well worth it as Captain Spiros is a great host. As the trips left from the harbour, there was no need for a coach as the harbour is only minutes away from the Zante Maris. Also, as it was a speed boat it was small enough to go right inside the caves, where we were able to dive off and swim in the sea. This is the first time we have ever been all-inclusive and were a little dubious. However, we all had a really great holiday and would not hesitate to return to the Zante Maris Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank musky1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have just come back from a week's family holiday at the Zante Maris Hotel. This was a late booking so we were not too sure to expect. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The food, cleanliness of the rooms and attentiveness of all the staff was excellent at all times. The only minor gripe we had was the lack of sunbeds avaiable after 9am in the morning. Note: If you want to guarantee a sunbed then you will need to get up early. Having said this, it was not a problem for us (me, my wife and our two teenage sons) as the fantastic beach is literally on your doorstep and there were always plenty of sunbeds and parasols available for hire at a very reasonable price (2 beds and a parasol was 6 euros for the day). The evening entertainment was also good, and if you did not like it then it is only a 5 minute walk into town, where you can find a number of bars, tavernas and restaurants to suit all tastes. All being well we hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
0.1 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#23 of 49 in Tsilivi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Zante Maris Suites
Zante Maris Suites
#17 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
6.0 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#8 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zante Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Maris Hotel

Property: Zante Maris Hotel
Address: Planos, Tsilivi, Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Zante Maris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zante Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zante Maris
Zante Maris Tsilivi
Zante Maris Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing