We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hope to return sometime.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ariadne Hotel Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tsilivi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ariadne Hotel Apartments
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Hope to return sometime.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Dont be put off by reports of a steep hill leading up from the town to the apartments.Its not that bad.The appartment that we used was clean and tidy,airy and spacious.All the staff were welcoming and helpfull.All in all we had a great time and would love to return again.Especially to have a few beers and enjoy some seriously rocking music in the bar.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldSmig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    47
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
122
129
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

Where to start?? The hill - before booking this hotel we had read the reviews about the hill - it turned out that it really wasn’t a problem - 10 minutes maximum at midday plus it helped to burn off all those holiday calories!

The rooms were very clean and well looked after and there was sufficient cooking facilities. rooms were cleaned daily and bedding and towels changed frequently. The view from the balcony was amazing - you could see the mainland and Kefalonia - all rooms face forward so everyone faces the sea!

The pool area was well kept and there were plenty of sun beds. The prices in the pool bar were a little pricey especially for a can of coke 2 Euro! Just down the hill though there are plenty of bars and restaurants, some favourites of ours were: Ark Bar (amazing night out!), Georigos, Nemesis, Athena and Koukos (great Greek dancing, plate smashing, fire dancing and food!).

I would highly recommend hiring a car to really see the best of Zante - we worked out that if we had of booked tour operator trips to see the same things we did with the car it would have cost an extra 200 euros! Also book a car when you get there rather than through a tour operator - we went to Euro Alpha who were excellent, reasonably priced, spoke good English and have no hidden excesses.

I would highly recommend both the Ariadne and Zante as a whole, it was a fantastic and relaxing holiday – wish we were still there!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kefaloniazante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Stayed for one week in early september, be prepared for delays at the airport as they dont seem to handle more than one arrival and we ended up circling the airport for half an hour having also been delayed on runway for one hour before they would allow us to take off! Arrived at the hotel and were met by Pamela, checked in quickly but were disappointed with being on lower ground floor when we requested upper floor and also people were given better rooms when they hadnt actually booked this hotel. Rooms were adequate, beds very uncomfortable, kitchen area fitted with hob, microwave, fridge freezer, kettle and toaster. Air con and safe seemed expensive €22 for safe for one week and €50 air con, internet available at €1/15mins. Food in the pool bar was good for breakfast or lunch but maybe a little expensive especially cans of pop. Pool small but very clean and well maintained, lots of sun beds available. We didnt find the staff to be that friendly, unless you had previously stayed. On a couple of occassions we went back to the hotel for a drink to find the bar was closed before 1030pm. Good restaurants in Tsilivi were King Prawn (most expensive £60 for 2), Stamnes most authentic, Olive Tree original Greek Taverna but we were rushed and a little disappointed. Zante town is very expensive, we used the public bus which was cheap but not reliable as they arrive when they want so we returned by taxi, approximately €9. We went on Island Cruise with Thomson, was a good trip enjoyed the day but didnt manage to spot any turtles -£70 per couple.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsGNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

This was our third time to Tsilivi, (usually stay at the Zante Maris, but it was fully booked)Didnt really know what to expect having read all the reviews and i have to say we were dis-appointed. Unfortunately we were allocated a ground floor room looking right into the pool bar. We had requested a better room but it was fully booked. The room was cleaned every day and adequate towel changes but was dark and no view at all! The cost of the air-conditioning was far too expensive, 100 euros for 2 weeks. The planet apts down the road were charging 40 for 2 weeks! so we were too hot at night!.
The location is poor, we expected the hill due to what we had read but not like it was! You have to tackle the hill even to nip to the shops and no bar on route! Food ok at the bar but again not cheap, we went to the beach most days and ate down on the beach front restaurants. The cats are gorgeous that are at the hotel and very friendly and cheeky! the highlight of the hotel!!. im sure those who stay and get a good room and view will have had a different experience but its a massive gamble. 4 out of 16 studios look into the bar. For an extra £300 next year you can stay at the Zante Maris (we've already booked!) with free air con and B&B and nice views, sorry Ariadne but just not worth the money! Tsilivi still fantastic though, food great! people great! loved Piero's, Apollon, Athena, Nemesis to name a few, Level bar guys are great! cant wait to see you next year!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

I agree with most of the remarks made about these apartments, but beware.
I booked my break over the internet with Skytours/Thomson and it was not cheep considering that the apartments are up a steep hill.My main moan is the fact that when i got to the place, i went to get the air conditioning turned on and a safety deposit box.
I have been to Tsilivi 7 times, so i know there is always a payment for these which is extra to the holiday. I went to the bar and asked for the above and was then told for 1 week it was going to be 102 euro.I thought it was a mistake and had to ask twice to make sure that i had heard him right. This was a lot of money to add on which was a extra hidden cost. If the cost had been published on the internet, i would not have considered this place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gasmancoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london,england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

have just arrived home from the most relaxing holiday. the hotel is the best, ultra clean and very friendly. very small and family run. helena and costas with their son yiannis and daughter in law pamela. every room has a sea view even on the ground floor, the pool area is spotless and there are always plenty of sunbeds. because it is so small everyone talks to each other and new friendships are forged. we went last year and met up with the same lovely people this year. helena and costas do all the cooking at the pool bar and it is always enjoyable (and big portions) pamela and yiannis run the bar and it stays open till the last man leaves!! the hill is steep but hey thats a small price to pay for the view kefalonia to the left and greece to the right and the sunrises are wonderful as are the sunsets. we are seriously thinking of booking up for next year. at the bottom of the hill are two supermarkets and loads of restaurants and bars. the hotel must have the best views in zante. would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coyne45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Ariadne and had a great time. It is a lovely friendly family run hotel who work really hard doing a bit of everything,which is why they can't be in the reception to greet you on arrival or wave you off as you leave as some previous reviewer complained. The pool area is immaculate and cleaned daily and the bar food better than some resturants we visited and is very reasonably priced. The rooms are nice and spacious and you get an excellent view over Tsilivi. Yes local resident/stray dogs do bark (but not much) and cockerels can be noisy in the morning (this is natural) but I don't see how some reviewers can blame the hotel for this, they have no control over them. Also to the reviewer who didn't know how to work the electric, it is very common abroad to have to put your key into a slot to get power, even in 5 star hotels.The hill can be a bit of a challenge but without it you wouldn't get the fantastic views, and to be honest it was the only excercise I got all holiday so was glad of a bit of an excuse to tone the legs. We Will definately return to this hotel and would recommend it to everyone we know who wants a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margeritaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.7 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alamis Apartments
Alamis Apartments
#27 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plaza Pallas Hotel
Plaza Pallas Hotel
#24 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariadne Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariadne Hotel Apartments

Property: Ariadne Hotel Apartments
Address: Planos 30, Tsilivi, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariadne Hotel is a family-owned hotel open since May 2004. The Ariadne complex combines a central location along with a beautiful setting, with it's elevated position providing stunning views. The high quality accommodation is well-tended, meaning you can relax and enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ariadne Hotel Tsilivi
Ariadne Apartments
Ariadne Hotel Apartments Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing