We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough hotel with good food but lacks standards” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Filoxenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Filoxenia Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
206 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good enough hotel with good food but lacks standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

We travelled as a couple to this hotel from 6th to 13th September and decided to take the all inclusive option rather than self catering. Having returned to the resort of Tsilivi for a 4th year we were unsure of what to expect at this hotel after reading mixed reviews about it...
The hotel is on the southern outskirts of Tsilivi and is a minimum of 20 to 30 minutes walk to resort centre and beach. We stayed in room 224 in the accomodation block away from main hotel and bar area. This was a blessing in disguise due to the late nights and loud customers in bar area until the very early hours (must have been a nightmare for those staying at hotel area).
The rooms are of an adequate standard but the decor we had was somewhat bizarre to say the least (the picture on the wall of the room that is)!. The beds are king size with plenty of room in the apartment along with fridge and cooker (even on the all inclusive package). Air conditioning was payable as an extra even although it stated that it was included within our holiday package.
The food was very good and overall a good selection was available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Chef was very helpful and polite and went out of his way to please you. Snacks were available during the afternoon that was included in the package and also served up in the evenings.
Service from reception could have been a lot better and to our standards was poor. Three times we asked reception for a table for our balcony and we were simply ignored. For 3 nights we had to shower with no hot water. Our holiday stated that air conditioning along with an upper floor was included but was not and the hotel were not helpful at all. All us brits appeared to be allocated the lower ground floors with upper floors reserved for Greeks! For these reasons and the distance away from the resort then we would not consider returning.
If its a boozy holiday you are after with no frills then this is the place for you.
Thanks to Babis, Alex and Melana for their hospitality but please stop playing the same music night after night!!! Oh and the chef for some really good food...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cammie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    245
    76
    25
    12
See reviews for
298
372
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

Hotel staff were friendly and as were the cleaners, however, we were woken every morning by Hens, cleaner swept dust under the bed and bedding was not always changed as we had accidently spilt some tea on the bed and the cleaner just made the bed with the same sheets!!! Food was appalling, the same thing every night and day, deserts were borning and tasteless and food was not always labelled, we had bare electrical wires in the shower and both light fittings in the room were hanging from the ceiling! TV did not work and shower curtain had mould on! not a great honeymoon and would have rather spent 2 weeks at home! Absoloutley no evening entertainment at all, had to walk 20 mins to town for evening entertainment, will never go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princesspink10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaHotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel. First of all i would like to thank you for expressing your positive comments about our staff’s friendliness, as this is a major factor for us. I also need to apologize for the fact that the issues you faced did not leave you with an enjoyable experience in our hotel. We always take big efforts to serve our guests the best way we can and if any issues arise during their stay we make sure to take care of them the same day. From your writings, I understand that you faced several issues on our cleaning, maintenance and restaurant departments. With all due respect I need to make some comments on what is written.
Normally, when linen have any kind of dirt the maid has to change it directly. I assume that this happened because see mistakenly missed to spot the dirt from the tea. As I am not able to track if this was reported at reception from you, I hope you did, as our staff would be happy to change the dirty linen at no time and the whole issue could be solved directly. As I am not aware of your exact room number, I will make sure that our housekeeping department will go through a re training so as to avoid similar issues in the future. It will be also my pleasure to keep you informed about our training progress if you wish so.
As for the TV where you state that it did not work, I have to inform you that the signal for the TV is the same for the whole building. As we did not receive any reports from other rooms I assume that the cable in your TV was somehow pulled and you lost the signal. This also could be reported at reception and be solved immediately from our maintenance. In regards to the lights hanging next to the beds, if I understand well, this is the décor of the rooms in general. All of our rooms are equipped with pendants for side bed lighting. I would be grateful if you could be more precise about this as it is not clearly stated. With regards to the other maintenance issues you faced, I will make sure to find out what is behind your writings and take all appropriate measures on our maintenance operation through training and monitoring where needed.
With regards to your comments about the food, although so far we have the best compliments about our chef Andreas and his recipes, I assure you I will check it in personally. To inform other readers, our hotel organizes theme kitchen nights 4 days a week with show cooking from our chef. Even if someone has a special taste while dining, our chef is always happy to prepare it on the spot. This is something we always get compliments from our guests.
Again I must express my frustration about your holiday experience. I will make sure all those issues are solved in short term. In case you wish to discuss any of the above, please feel free to contact us in our mailbox.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

I am in complete agreement with everybody about this lovely hotel. It is small, clean, friendly, relaxed. Food is good. We were all inclusive and once we'd worked out the best way to do it we were fine. We'd get the 10 am free shuttle to the beach in the morning, have 4 hours on the beach and ask the driver to pick us up again at 2pm - which meant that we got back to the hotel just in time for lunch. Afternoons were generally spent round the pool if we didn't go out on a trip. If you want a chilled out holiday this is the place to go (as long as you don't mind a little walk). The only negative thing I have to say is about the cockerels/chickens. The first night we were woken up about 3 times as they were calling to each other from the trees outside our room which was a bit of a shock. This continues day and night but you get used to it and block it out eventually.

Beautiful island. Recommend Special Offer Tours on the right just before Popeye's as you walk into town. Went on several tours with them and they were very good. Guide Sue was excellent, especially with the children.

Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenfingers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines,Middlesex, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

We booked a last-minute all inclusive holiday in this newly renovated hotel just outside Tsilivi. Built around two small-ish pools with another tiny one for toddlers. Huge bedrooms with enormouse beds and balconies. Ours had fridge, microwave and solid hob with utensils and crockery but we didn’t use need to use them. There’s only one bar but it’s friendly and service is fast. One restaurant, self-service but good, honest and authentic food. It equates to a three star hotel in the UK, but makes up for any shortfall in standard with amazingly hard-working and charming staff. There is now a small outside lift for access for the infirm.
Fifteen/Twenty minute walk to the beach, less to Tsilivi town. In town there are plenty of agencies where you can book boat trips round the island and see the turtles. It was nice to be within walking distance but outside the normal resort noise from bars and clubs. We also hired bikes and a car for exploring further afield. Zakynthos in June is just beautiful. The sea around ‘shipwreck bay’ is pure turquoise. The countryside is full of olive groves and wild flowers.
I’ve stayed in plenty of better class hotels but none as friendly and keen to please as you’ll find here. For the price we paid, we could not have chosen better and although it’s against my declared policy, we will return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiddxTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

the wife and I had one room and the two kids (27! & 12) had another. Each room had two double beds and a single sized couch/bed with scatter cushions. Each room had its own brightly decorated boutique style theme. Stylishly furnished with a fridge, hotplate, kettle etc.
We were all inclusive and the food choice did not disappoint satisfying two meat eaters and two vegetarians. Salad choices, cold and cooked meats and vegetables displaying both Greek and English traditions and puddings never disappointing. The dining area very contemporary light and airy. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful in both the restaurant and the small bar area. Two pool areas - one near the bar and another just a stones throw away - so you could relax with whatever level of interaction suited you. Brits, Poles, Russians, Finns and the bus load of visiting Greek pensioners never phased the staff. Only caution, its on the outskirts of Tsilivi and in rural setting and there are cockerels/chickens in a neighboring property who had free reign and did wake us on our first night (avoid room 6 & 7 on ground floor) we moved to the slightly more distant block after first night and had no further problem. This in no way detracted from this excellent hotel. As Tslivi is low rise, slightly sprawling attractively ramshackle "resort", the hotel is about 60 meters from the outskirts and a 20 minute walk in to the "centre". Partly why so many disagree on how far to the beach as there were more than one route to differing bits of the beach. Beach safe, shallow and mostly sandy, with margins of pebbles. Little traffic, we drove around the sometimes tortuous twisty roads safely and confidently with no fear of holding up the traffic, or being tail gated. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevestoneTrimingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

Holidayed here in July for 1 week and I can honestly say that we had the most perfect chilled out time here. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was fantastic (we were all inclusive).The chef took pride in his work and would always take time to chat to you and ensure that you were happy with the food. Rooms had everything you needed and although there was not much entertainment at night, you could enjoy a short walk into town for a livelier evening. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie67_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

had a week at the filoxenia in july. had fab time. loved the food. always something you can find to eat and CHEFFY is very eager to please. restaurant very chic. white leather chairs. rooms very large and very clean. we went all inclusive and i could not fault the place. special thank you to you all for making our holiday so much fun. very friendly place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue19127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
3.9 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#8 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Property: Filoxenia Hotel
Address: Tsilivi, Zakynthos, Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald green grass. Topaz blue skies and big mountains. These are the jewels of Tsilivi Zakynthos that plan to spoil you from the moment you arrive in Filoxenia Hotel. The natural scenic beauty of the complex is juxtaposed by our traditional Greek hospitality; enchanting visitors who leave with the most favorable impressions and the certainty that they will keep in touch and vow to return. An exquisite and comfortable "Home away from home", a warm feeling of welcome in a quite and soft atmosphere, unique in Zakynthos. Newly refurbished in 2009 with its new modern minimal character and very spacious and unique accommodation, will certainly give you the comfort you expect from your holidays.The four star Filoxenia Hotel is only 4 km away from Zante town, ideally situated in one of the less busy and beautiful countryside in the island, within 20-30 minutes walking from Tsilivi beach and the busy resort center.Modern amenities, a sprinkling of umbrellas by the poolside, 2 swimming pools and a children's pool accentuate the natural beauty of our complex for the young guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tsilivi
Filoxenia Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing