We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Filoxenia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$189
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zante Pantheon Hotel(Tsilivi)(Great Value!)
$75
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$360
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunrise Hotel(Tsilivi)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alamis Apartments(Tsilivi)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Plaza Pallas Hotel(Tsilivi)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$152
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Planos Beach Hotel(Tsilivi)(Great Value!)
$125
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,051)
Filter reviews
1,051 results
Traveler rating
616
297
92
28
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
297
92
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar staffhotel minibusgreek nighttwo double bedsfree minibusair concourtesy busquieter poolanimation teamgreat holidaynext yearwalk into townevening entertainmentsandra's barwelcome drinkfish fingersall inclusive drinks
Filter
Updating list...
961 - 966 of 1,051 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We hired a car and were glad we did, it was not far from the airport but far enough to not see aeroplanes or hear them. The Filoxenia is at the end of the main town you could walk into the centre and beach but it took 30mins, ok if your on your own but not with tired kids late at night. We did get the horse and cart one night which was fun. We also used the car to go round the island this only took 2 days. We saw turtles at kalamaki beach and done watersports at banana beach both beaches are a must to visit.
Zante was beautiful and we had a lovely time, however we were disapointed with the apartment.
We had a 2bed, both rooms had lots of ants and mosquitos, they were all on the walls, Would recommend a plug in to keep them away.
Bathroom was small and dingy and we had to fight for hot water.
The pool was nice and was always sunbeds, the pool bar staff were very friendly and we often stayed by the pool late at night, they would sometimes have greek nights on.
A lovely time just the rooms need updating.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RudyKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

This was by far the best holiday I have ever had. The hotel staff where very friendly and the rooms where immaculate. It was a lovely 10min walk into town centre and the beach was another 10 mins. Every restaurant we sampled was better than the last and the bars where always ready to entertain even when quite. I would recommend this hotel and holiday to everyone that enjoys sun great hospitality and food. I refuse going back to the same places as i love to explore, however the Filoxenia will 100% be seeing us again. (We even saw dolphins on the Ship Wreak Cove tour)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheStill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Our party consisted of 4 adults (45 to 55 age group) in 2 studio rooms. The rooms are spacious, sparsely furnished, 2 single beds (very hard) pushed together, a smallish but adequate bathroom & a reasonably sized balcony, which is a story in itself. Before I left on holiday I emailed the hotel direct to ensure that we had been allocated rooms with a balcony rather than a terrace, as request at the time of booking some 9 months earlier. I received an email back from the hotel (Katerina) saying that NONE of their studio rooms had balconies. We were disappointed with this news & hence amazed when we found both rooms had a balcony, & in fact most studios did. This was just as well because the rooms without balconies were below ground level by appox. 4 feet. This meant that if you sat on your terrace you had an ants eye veiw of the pool area, not good.
The kitchen area was small but it had a fridge, microwave & a kettle as well as a small cooker. The rooms do not have a hairdryer.
The room also had air con but you had to buy this, it cost us 30 euros per week per room. There is a safety dep box also which cost 20 euros for the week per room. What furniture is in the room was dated & ours was starting to fall apart, screws dropping out, handles loose etc. We understand that the hotel is due for a refurb so I guess they don't want to spend any money on maintenance.
How good the hotels location is depends on your circumstances. We enjoyed the fact that we had a good 15 to 20 mins walk back from the restaurants/bars in the centre of Tsilivi, but this may not suit everyone. You can break up your walk back by calling into Sandras Bar, but don't try to take any pictures of this place otherwize a demented barman runs outside & waves his arms about shouting that you need his permission to do this. At least that's what happened to me, needless to say I told him what he could do with his permission & took the photo anyway. We didn't go back after that but it's a nice bar.
The best restaurant in Tsilivi that we tried was without doubt the Olive Tree (not to be confused with the Olive Garden which was decsribed to us by someone who ate there as having food akin to a motorway service station). The only problem with the Olive Tree is getting a table. We like to eat late (after 10pm) & so we were OK but if you go much before this it is packed.
Be careful of the Traffic bar, they are happy to serve you drinks with totally flat mixers, but the girls liked the cocktails.
We booked for 2 excursions, but one to see the turtles was cancelled by the operators. The one we went on was to see the blue caves & the shipwreck. We went on a smaller boat than most tours go on (described as a VIP tour) which was slightly more expensive that the others but we got right into the caves which was quite an experience. This cost us 35 euros each, no food inc but you do get to see some of the island by coach as well as by sea. The company that do these tours is called Nefeli.
Finally we enjoyed our little break on Zante but I doubt if I would go back in a hurry. There are prettier Greek islands with greater historical interest.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoLankyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmargari, Management Representative at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2009

First of all i must thank you for adding a review on Filoxenia and for adding some positive comments concerning your holiday experience.
I must say that from the time we first had an email conversation, our primary purpose was to serve you the best way we can by describing in detail our room descriptions.

We have exchanged many email messages and finally we found out that what we describe as terrace& balcony is the opposite to you and this is when the misunderstanding started to arise.

After taking some photos, i emailed them to you so i can be more detailed in my description. As i have mentioned in my email sent offline, i will strongly take into consideration your suggestions about our room descriptions so as to avoid any future problems.

In regards to the refurbishment of Filoxenia, this will take place during winter 2010. I must explain that to make such changes is not a matter of cost. The main reason is that to make such changes, the hotel must be empty to avoid noise as we are not eligible to make refurbishments while guests are in the hotel.

We will be more than glad to see you again in the future and give as a chance to serve you the best way we can. We are sure that you will love the new look of Filoxenia hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

The hotel doesn't look exactly like the photos but its virtues soon become clear. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable if you like a firm mattress. The kettle,hobs and fridge are excellent. We had to pay for the safe and the air-con but both were worthwhile.
There were two pools we had the one in our half almost to ourselves and children used the one in the other half. There were plenty of parasols and sun loungers and you could hire a soft mattress if needed. A shop provided ice creams, fruit, biscuits and other items and the bar was available for drinks, snacks and the inevitable coctails, especially during 'happy hour' when Denis would produce a variety of unusual combinations at a very reasonable price.
Cleaning was done every day without fuss and beds and towels changed.
The only downside was the distance from the beach although the walk did give us much needed exercise. I wouldn't want to walk that distance with young children. A well-advertised bus service would be a good idea.
We did two boat trips. Unfortunately we had booked on a large boat before going out with the famous Captain Spiros on his small craft. There really is no comparison. Spiros tells you exactly what is expected of you and, in contrast to a review I read before the holiday, made us feel very safe. Swimming in the Keri caves will remain one of our most fantastic experiences. Sailing along on the bigger boat was relaxing but removed from the sea and not half so exciting. There were far too many people on the Shipwreck beach when we got there. I suspect a trip here with Spiros would have been much more satisfying.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurbageBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We have visited this hotel before but sadly the place is not the same, the entertainment has gone along with the atmosphere!! The british guests that we talked to felt disappointed that no effort was put into making the bar a place to want to come back to on an evening as most resorted to an early night with a book like ourselves. Mellie and Dennis are as professional and friendly as ever, and its a shame for them too to see a lively bar going down the pan!. It is true that the hotel is looking tired but the cleaning staff keep it spotless with linen and towel changes every couple of days. Last time I said this place was a great family holiday now I would say its for the fit over 55's. The credit crunch appears to have hit the town as restaurants have shut down and others are struggling (although McDonalds closing is a blessing). Our favourite eating places this year were Apollon, King Prawn and Romios. The positives are the sun still shines, the sea is still still lovely and warm and the greek hospitality still lives on!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireHotFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews