We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“September stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Filoxenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Filoxenia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“September stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at The Filoxenia for one week in September, overall a good holiday. Our room was on the ground floor by the busy pool so quite noisy. The rooms are very spacious and clean, but there were smells from the drains. What makes this hotel is the staff, they are all amazing, Luca Gerry, all of them at the bar and the restaurant were great. The food was really lovely some of the best food I have had in an all inclusive, plenty of choice and always fresh. The big let down for us was the drinks quality, soft drinks was cheap bottled coke, lemonade, orange, etc, and all left out of fridge so warm. The same with spirits cheap local gin, rum, vodka, whiskey, brandy etc the worst I've had. Machine coffee not nice. Lager was nice my hubbie happy, I drink wine and it was awful and there are some lovely wines in Zante at cheap prices. This needs to change. Will not go back for this reason.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello Maria!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on filoxenia hotel and for bringing the above issues into our attention. First of all we would like to express our frustration for the drawbacks that you had during your stay with us.

We are very sorry to hear that our drinks quality is the reason you will not come back to the Filoxenia. We would like you to know that as an all inclusive hotel, we do take a lot of research so as to select the best local quality of beverages. Our supplier, keeps a big market share among all inclusive hotels in Zante and the standards of drinks are considered to be the best in the market. We are very sorry to hear that we could not keep you happy with our services in this matter.

As for the drain smell near your room, I hope that you did get the chance to report it at reception. I assume that it would be due to some damage that could be fixed by our maintenance fast. As you are not clarifying, I hope that this smell was not there for long, considering that our maintenance was aware of this issue.

We do hope that those drawbacks you had did not influence you holidays overall and that you left Zante with good memories.

On behalf of all, I would like to say thank you for your kind comments on our staff and given a second chance we would be happy if you reconsider visit us again. I am confident that all the issues you faced can be solved from our side so we can meet you expectations and needs.

Thank you very much again for ringing our bells with your review. Your comments will be taken very seriously into consideration and we will consider them as advice for our improvement. Thank you for taking the time to go through our response. Regards from sunny Zante and the Filoxenia team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    245
    76
    25
    12
See reviews for
298
372
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for the first two weeks of June this year but have only just got round to writing this review.
The hotel is generally clean, the rooms are a good size and reasonably furnished and although it has all been modernised at some point in time some of it is now looking a little tired.
We could not fault the food, it was varied and always of good quality and the maids did a very good job.
It is a long walk to the beach but well worth the effort to visit it and there are some decent eating places on the way, There was a hotel bus if the walk was too much.
The pool is not great and personally we didn't care for the bar area but having said that, the greek dancers were very good.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LincolnshireExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello LincolnshireExplorer

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share you thoughts with the rest of us.

On behalf of all the staff and family I would like to express our appreciation for you kind comments on our hotel and for your compliments to our chef and his team.

We would like you to know that we will take all of your comments under serious consideration so as to improve ourselves through your advice.

We do hope that we will have a second chance from you to meet you standards and expectations. Please note that you are always welcome at the Filoxenia and our staff will be always here on the spot to greet you back with a smile.

Greetings from sunny Zante!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed her for 2 weeks, 26th September-10th October and had a fantastic time. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk away from the centre of town and 20 minutes from the beach, which is fine as you need to walk off the calories from all the fantastic food you consume daily!! A fantastic choice of great food every mealtime. If you can't be bothered to walk there is a courtesy mini bus which will take you into town whenever you ask. The rooms are large, and as this used to be a self catering complex you still have the kitchen area in your room with kettle, toaster, microwave, etc. It was quite quiet when we were there as it was end of season so there was never an issue with sunbeds at either pool. The staff throughout are lovely friendly people, always service with a smile. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and can't wait to return, hopefully next year. Most relaxing holiday we've ever had!!!!! Only small gripe I had was that if you want air-conditioning 24/7 you have to pay extra for it, you only get it between specific times otherwise. Think this should be included in the price. We had a couple of days rain and magnificent thunderstorms at the end of our holiday, but can't blame the hotel for that, maybe just a bit late in the year to guarantee 14 days of sun.Thank You, all at Filoxenia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chardonnaylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello chardonnaylady!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your memories with the rest of us.

It is a great pleasure for us to know that you had such a fantastic time here with us and we would like to say a big thank you for your wonderful comments on our staff and your compliments to our lovely chef Vasilis!

We are very much looking forward to accommodate you back in our home and our staff will be right here on the spot to welcome you back with a smile. As for the air conditioning please note that there are tour operators that do include the AC in the room rate and some are not. Those who decide not to do so, is because this enables them to publish a lower rate to be more competitive. I am afraid that this is not up to our initiative. Well, I hope that I helped you somehow with my answer.

We all hope to see you back soon again and until then, have a great time back home and keep smiling. Love from all the staff and family at Filoxenia..xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Had a two week holiday at the filoxenia hotel the last two weeks in august. On arriving at the
hotel we found the staff to be very friendly but on first impressions the hotel itself was not as nicely decorated as the photo's show on the thomas cook website. The food at the hotel was lovely lots of choice, even though it was a small restaurant. I wouldnt reccomend this hotel if you rely on the animation team for entertainment as there we only two guys who didnt seem very organised at all. There was some themed nights, the greek night was good, got everyone to join in. The location of the hotel nice as its not far from the beach, and they have a shuttle bus that will take you down with a lovely driver called fatos who is very friendly and helpful. The best part about the hotel are the staff, especially luca and jerry who made our holiday a lovely one, we would like to thank both very much. If you do venture out i reccomend the turtle trip it was a half day trip and we did get to see some turtles, also there is a fabulous restaurant called gio gio's (italian) absolutely gorgeous and the staff are very friendly, some nice bars are molly malones (irish bar) good fun. we also tried the local water park which is not very big but had a great day out. Also zante town itself is very pretty and lots of shops to look around. All in all, we met some lovely people and had a fabulous holiday and would like to return some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicola009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello Nicola!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for sharing your thoughts with the rest of us.

On behalf of all the staff and family I would like to say a very big thank you for your kind comments on our staff and for giving them a credit on their work. We are very happy that you had a nice holiday and found some places to amuse you and we it will be our pleasure to see you back again sometime in the future.

I am sorry to hear that the decoration of the hotel was not up to your standards. We do hope that the modern and fresh decoration of the rooms and public areas would add a summer - positive mood to our guests. It would be very useful for us if you could let us know what exactly your thought was different from the Thomas Cook photos.

As for our animation team, I am sorry to hear that they did not succeed on meeting your expectations. Our animators are very hard working and always on the spot to have fun with our guests. Our hotel keeps a 14 day schedule of entertainment that of course can change if our guests wish so, adding extra activities or skipping existing ones if our guests request so.

Well, we do hope that we will have the chance to have you back at the Filoxenia and hopefully you can give us the opportunity to serve you the way you expect and cover all your needs. Until then, have a great time back home and stay safe. Greetings from the Filoxenia team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our first time to Zante and we stayed in your hotel for 3 weeks. We had an excellent time from start to finish. The staff were quite simply a joy. The room very comfortable ,spacious and spotlessly clean. The food was fantastic and even after 3 weeks,we still found all meals to be varied and tasty. I would strongly recommend this hotel. We are very particular but didn't even try to find fault,we relaxed, used the ever available courtesy mini-bus and did what a holiday is all about and relaxed. Hope Katarina enjoyed her 'Scottish Biscuits'.

Room Tip: We had an enormous room in the 'quiet pool' area and would strongly suggest trying for one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annemcneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello Anne!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share you holiday memories with the rest of us.

First of all, we would like to say a huge thank you for your kind words on our hotel and for giving such a praise to all of our people for making you feel so welcome and comfortable. Your rewarding feedback is the greatest motive for us to love what we do more and more each day.

We are very happy to know that you had such a great time here with us and we are looking forward to see you back again inb our home for another great holiday!

Also I would like to thank you so much for the lovely her 'Scottish Biscuits' touch! You just reminded me that chocolates is one of the greatest pleasure in life… especially the 'Scottish ones!

We all wish you have a wonderful winter back home and always remember us and smile cause we do.. Love from all..xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

after having a great holiday at this hotel the end of august 2013 I came home and today I received my credit card bill and thanks to the rep and instead of 100 euros for two trips I booked 200 euros has been charged to my bill not happy at all never again WATCH OUT because I signed my receipt and double checked it said £100 euros but someone has changed it NOT HAPPY

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello Clare!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel. First of all we would like to say a big thank you for your kind words about us. We are very happy to see that you had a lovely holiday with us.

As for the issue with the money deducted from your credit card unexpectedly, we are very sorry to hear that but I believe that this is something that you can sort out with your bank. Considering that you have only signed for a 100 Euro charge the other 100 Euros must be a mistake that can be resolved from your bank hopefully.

We all hope ta the Filoxenia that this drawback will not put you back on visit us again. It will be our pleasure to have you back sometime in the future. Until then, have a great time and stay safe. Love from all..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lots of previous reviews have said how nice this hotel is and how friendly the staff are and we could not agree anymore, the staff hear go out of there way to make sure you have a great time. The food was very good with a good variety every day in the restaurant , even though it was end of season when we were there the standards were very high. Being end of season it was not so lively but that is just how we like it. We met some lovely people who were on holiday like us and the evenings around the bar and the entertainment lounge were great fun. Luca came into his own. Through no fault of the hotel the mosquitos took a real shine to me and made sure that being all inclusive they had their moneys worth with the help yourself service I provided, but not everyone was effected by the mossies, and so if we go back we will make sure we have the all of the repellents that we needed next time. A pleasant fifteen minute walk into town or the hotel mini bus to take you and pick you up again if you did not fancy the walk , free of charge. A nice hotel with really good staff and this is my honest opinion, hope this helps.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chezal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello Chezal!

Thank you very much for taking the the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel ande for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful time in our hotel and that our facilities were up to your needs and standards.

Most of all, what makes us more happy is that our staff took care of you the best way they could and made you feel so welcome and relaxed. So, well done to all the fabulous team at the Filoxenia. Luca you are a star!

We are very sorry to hear about the mosquito attack you had and we hope that now you are much better. Next time you come and visit us we can suggest you some good repellents that will help you sleep like an angel free from bites.

Please know that our home will be always open for you and our staff will be right here to greet you with a warm smile. Until we get to meet each other again, stay safe and enjoy the winter back home. Love from all..xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
3.9 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 29 in Argassi
1,342 reviews
1.0 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#8 of 49 in Tsilivi
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 49 in Tsilivi
1,122 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#23 of 49 in Tsilivi
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Property: Filoxenia Hotel
Address: Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald green grass. Topaz blue skies and big mountains. These are the jewels of Tsilivi Zakynthos that plan to spoil you from the moment you arrive in Filoxenia Hotel. The natural scenic beauty of the complex is juxtaposed by our traditional Greek hospitality; enchanting visitors who leave with the most favorable impressions and the certainty that they will keep in touch and vow to return. An exquisite and comfortable "Home away from home", a warm feeling of welcome in a quite and soft atmosphere, unique in Zakynthos. Newly refurbished in 2009 with its new modern minimal character and very spacious and unique accommodation, will certainly give you the comfort you expect from your holidays.The four star Filoxenia Hotel is only 4 km away from Zante town, ideally situated in one of the less busy and beautiful countryside in the island, within 20-30 minutes walking from Tsilivi beach and the busy resort center.Modern amenities, a sprinkling of umbrellas by the poolside, 2 swimming pools and a children's pool accentuate the natural beauty of our complex for the young guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tsilivi
Filoxenia Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing