We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB”
Review of Filoxenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Filoxenia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Travelled as a group of 8 family and friends. Had the best time ever, food fantastic, service with a smile every time. Entertainment enjoyable. After reading the reviews from previous guests thought it was too good to be true but we were not disappointed. Cant praise everyone enough right down to the maids who did an excellent job. Thank you Luca, Dennis, Gerry, Ramos, Walid and Oscar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank melanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello Melanie!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to spend your summer holidays with us.

We are very glad to know that you all had a fantastic time here with us and that you enjoyed every minute of your holidays.

It was a big pleasure for us to have you here in our home and we would like to thank you for sharing all those beautiful words about us. Please accept our deepest appreciation for your rewarding comments to our lovely staff.

We hope that we will get the chance to see you back again with us sometime in the future for a second round of relaxing, sunny and worry free holiday. Until we meet each other again, have a great time back home and always smile..xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just come back from a week here with a 16 year old. On arriving we were welcomed warmly and shown to our two huge rooms, both with two queen size beds in them! The rooms were exceptionally clean and were kept as such with daily cleaning by unobtrusive staff. The food was simple but very enjoyable with a wider range of choices than we were expecting for a hotel of their size. The staff were really wonderful, from the first day until we left we were looked after so well. We would thoroughly recommend the hotel. Thank you for a fabulous week!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello Zoe!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday experience with the rest of us here.

It was our pleasure to have you here in our hotel and we are glad that our facilities and the efficiency of our service were up to your needs and standards.

We would like to express our appreciation for your special credit to our staff and the way they took care of you. Thank you very much for acknowledging that and for rewarding us in that way.

It will be a great pleasure for us to have you back again with us in the future and spend some more time with you and all the family.

Until then, we all wish you have a nice time back home and take care of each other. Sending love from all the staff and family..xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just arrived back after a 10 night stay at the Filoxenia,

Where will I begin, this hotel is a absolutely fabulous, all staff extremely friendly and always served with a smile.
The entertainment team were great, special thanks to Oscar who kept going even though he was in extreme pain, hope all goes well with the operation, Walid was also extremely pleasant and also took time out to speak with you, he works exceptionally hard.
The food was very good with a varied selection it was also very tasty.

The room we had was at the rear of the hotel and was quiet, the room was nicely decorated however the bathrooms could do with a bit of an upgrade, the room was kept spotlessly clean as was the whole hotel, the cleaners are also a credit to the hotel/

I could go on all day singing the praises of all staff from receptionist to cleaners to restaurant and bar staff to the quality of food, it really is one of the best hotels we have stayed in and will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H0liday07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello holiday07!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your memories with the rest of us here.

It was a great pleasure to accommodate you here in our home and spend sometime with you. We are very glad to know that you had brilliant time here with us and that our people made you feel like home.

We would like to thank you very much for giving a credit to our hotel and its facilities for making you feel comfortable and most of all we would like to pass our appreciation for your special credit to our awesome staff for their hard work and personality.
It was our pleasure to take care of you the best way we could.

Please know that our home will always have its doors open for you and our staff will be right here on the spot to give you a warm welcome back on your next visit. Until then, have a great time back home and remember us and smile! xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Well what can i say, me and my daughter arrived in july 2013, at check in we were given our key and told about safes and extra air conditioning which was reasonable at 20 euros each for a week.
The receptionist was very polite and showed us to our room.

Our room was clean and well furnished, we went to breakfast and was pleasantly suprised as breakfast in some hotels we have stayed in was bad.

After breakfast we had a look around and went into town, its a bit of a trek in hot weather but not too taxing around 15 mins but after the first 1 or 2 times you can do it in 10 mins, town has all you need bars, restaurants, phones, supermarkets and tour places for boat trips and the like.

Back at the hotel we met the animation team Willie and Oscar, what a pair they are awesome, these guys work their socks off and everyone loved them.

Other staff from the cleaners to the kitchen staff and chef are fantastic, now to my favorites the barmen, these guys work so hard, just watching them made me sweat.
Special praise goes out to 2 of them although all were great but Luca went out of his way to try and find my daughter a friend to spend some time with and for that i thank him massively.
The king of barmen for me was my main man Gery you will always hold a special place in my heart buddy, awesome to talk too, always knew what i needed and always went that extra mile to make sure you enjoyed yourself, for that mate i will remain eternally grateful.
Please please please give the staff at this hotel a pay rise they do not get enough for the service they provide.

Hotel Filoxenia i salute you, i would love to come back soon and see you all, Gery keep the ice cool!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billdunnWhitehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello billdunnWhitehaven!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

We are very happy to see that you had a wonderful time here with us and that our hotel along with its facilities were up to your needs and standards.

Most of all we would like to say a massive thank you for your wonderful comments to each member of our staff and for giving them a praise for their work and character. Especially for Gerry, who is a wonderful person, always caring and polite.

Your credit is very important to us and it boosts up our love and passion on making everyone happy.. Thumbs up Gerry, I know you are reading this ;-)

On behalf of all the staff and family I would like to say that it will be a great pleasure for us to have you back again at the filoxenia in the near future.

Please know that our home is your home and our staff are your friends who are looking forward to see you again and welcome you with a smile.

Until we meet again, have a great time back home and stay safe. Love from all!xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We returned from Filoxenia on 22nd July we went for a week to celebrate my wifes 60th birthday with a couple of friends on arriving we were greeted with a nice cold drink and our bags were taken to our rooms great start.
The rooms were very spacious spotlessly clean with 2 king size beds,flat screen T.V. and a fully equipped kitchen ideal if you travel with kids and the décor was great their was a limitation with the air con only on certain times but are room was always fairly cool
Their were 2 swimming pools one in the main Hotel and the other 50 yards away in a separate block all had comfy sun beds and nice comfortable relaxing settees and chairs if you wanted to get out of the sun.
The restaurant although small was never over crowded and was all air conditioned and the food at breakfast lunch and evening meals was excellent with a good choice of food and the staff led by Dennis were brilliant always cheerful and friendly and on my wifes birthday they even presented her with a birthday cake which was a total surprise and was not asked for.
The main bar was manned by Luca and Gerry (oz) they also were always happy and always knew what you were drinking and made up some of their own concoctions for you to try and the A/I drinks package was very good not branded spirits but fairly decent stuff .
Their was an entertainment bar open in the evenings but we only visited it once as we tended to take the 15 minute walk into the main town
The beach was also a 15/20 minute walk but the Hotel do lay on a courtesy bus to take you to and fro but we preferred the walk
The only downside which did not affect us is that the Hotel is set on quite a busy road not over noisy but if you are travelling with children their is only a narrow path between the main hotel and the additional accommadation and swimming pool so you need to keep an eye on them when going to and fro the drinks bar .
All in all great stay made better by the great staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer accommodation block room 119 below pool level so lot cooler when the sun went...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gib186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello Gib!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

It was our pleasure to have accommodate you here in our hotel and we are very glad that Filoxenia was up to your standards and expectations.

We are glad that we had the chance to surprise your wife with a nice birthday cake and it is great that you had fun and you enjoyed it.

Most of all, we would like to say a big thank you for your kind comments on our staff and for giving them a special praise on their works and character.

Your credit to them on the way they took care of your is so valuable to us and your rewarding comments is our biggest motive on keep on doing what we love with passion and enthusiasm. Please accept our appreciation for putting a smile our face with your feedback.

We would like you to know that our home will be always open for you, your friends and family and our staff will be always here to welcome you back with a smile on your next visit. Until then, take care and have a wonderful time back home. Love from all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just arrived from a week on this stunning island. We stayed at Filoxenia after finding a very good all-inclusive deal that was perfect for us.

We called the hotel a day before we arrive after reading some people complaining about rooms too close to the road or the enterntainment area. They were right. I am happy that we called before, and Helena was very nice on the phone and she arranged us a good room away from most of the noise. However, as the hotel is quite small and people arrive/leave the rooms through the night normally and they are not carefull with the noise we still had a few problems to get a proper sleep in some nights.

The staff in the hotel is just fantastic. From the reception to the restaurant every single member of staff always treated us very well and attended our requests the best way they could. A special note goes to Denis from the restaurant, a good lad that is extremely nice to everyone, always ready to help.

The food was surprisingly good. We did not have great expectations, considering that this hotel is a 3.5 star hotel, but the quality of the food was consistently good thourgh the week. A bit repetitive (always same fish cooked in different ways) but I understand that coming from a small hotel. It tasted as a good home cooked food and it was delicious. Breakfast was good as well, but they could improve it varying a bit more. It was always the exact same thing.

The most negative note goes to the air conditioning. It is very limited, only 2 hours during the day and you cannot even chose which time you want it on. The time you can turn it on was useless as we were always on the beach at that time, so we had to pay the extra to have a few more hours available. We try not to be negative about it, but I really don't understand this policy. It was very annoying and it can be a deal-breaker.

As a general comment, for the price we paid for and the comfort level, I would recommend this hotel. Just mind that you'll have to pay a lot more if you want full air conditioned during your stay.

Pros: Staff, food, nice pools, good all-inclusive.
Cons: Noise, air conditioned policy

Room Tip: Call before and ask for a room away from the road and the entertainment area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silasrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hello silasrp!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

First of all we would like to thank you very much for your kind comments on our staff and for giving them a credit for their work and the way they took care of you. We are vary happy that you had a great time here with us and that our hotel were up to your needs and expectations.

As for the noise we would like to apologize for this drawback and we hope that it did not influence the overall holiday of yours. We always try to keep noise level into a minimum.

As you have already mentioned in your review, for the price you paid for and the comfort level, you would recommend our hotel. I suppose then that you have found a very good deal from the tour operator that does not include some of the basic facilities such as air conditioning and that is the reason actually the deal is good.

With regards to the air conditioning cost please let me explain why you had to pay extra for this facility. This happens because of the nature of our agreement with some of our affiliated Tour Operators. Price competition among tour companies does not allow them to include extra services in the accommodation rate such as air conditioning.

As a result this is charged extra, as they do not choose to include it in the package rate so the price you see can be appealing and proceed with a purchase. This action has nothing to do with our hotel and the way we promote and sell our facilities. It solely has to do with the pricing policy of tour companies. Every information is always mentioned in our hotel description in their travel brochures and web sites and always available to see before anyone chooses to book in our hotel.

We believe that it would be more convenient if all services were included in your package rate and this is our primary aim as a hotel group when it comes to distribute our accommodation.
Unfortunately, tour operators choose not to include them in the rate and as a result this appears as an extra charge to pay.

There are some cases that you will find our accommodation a little more expensive
and this is because some other tour operators choose to include all facilities such as air conditioning in a package rate.

So, it is all a matter of pricing strategy that we are not able to change.
What we choose to do in our web site on the other hand is to include all services in the package rate, plus extra benefits for our guests, including transfer from and to the airport. We believe that a nice package can cover every need of our guests.

If for any reason you were not informed by your tour operator prior to your arrival, that is considered to be a hidden cost and this is something that is not suppose to be happening. What we can advise you for the future is to pay a great attention to the hotel descriptions when booking via third parties and more importantly when you see a cheap deal give a close look to what is included in the rate you pay.

I hope that now you have a clearer picture on this issue.

We would like to you to know that Filoxenia will always have its doors open for you and our staff will be right here on the spot to welcome you with a smile. Until you hopefully visit us again next time, we wish you have a great winter back home. Sending love from all the staff and family at Filoxenia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Me & my better half stayed here AI for 4 nights from 10th to 14th July 2013. We thought the hotel was very nice indeed. All the staff were very nice & chatty. The food was nice too, plenty of choice especially for the evening meal, very good.

Free internet, it has to be a first, only one computer by reception but it was often available for use. Different colour scheme in different rooms, all rooms were large with very large beds, air con on three times a day included in the price, or pay an extra 20 euros a week to have it on whenever you liked.

We first stayed in Rhodes on this trip, then took two internal flights to Zante so we could attend a wedding. We were very happy with this hotel, it was a lot more up to date than our first. Although the first hotel had a much larger swimming pool. There are two pools at the Filoxenia hotel but they were not very large.

Over all I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to travel to Zante. The small village is about 20 minutes walk, turn left outside hotel, keep walking straight ahead & you can not miss it. Keep going to the local beach, take sea shoes though, or your feet will hurt because of the stones as you enter the sea, we did not like them & did not have our sea shoes so had to use our flip flops, nasty. The sea was refreshing though, after the 35 minutes or so it took us the walk there.

So if you are thinking of staying in this part of Greece, this is a good hotel for value for money, food, the staff, the rooms, etc, etc.

I hope this review has been of some help.

Jimmy & Liz

Room Tip: I think all rooms have had face lift, so not much between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmy1966_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hello Jimmy and Liz!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday experience with the rest of us here.

We are very happy to hear that you had a nice time here in our hotel and that we succeeded on meeting your needs and expectations.

We would like to say a very big thank you for your kind comments about us and most of all for our staff and the credit you are giving them on the way they took care of you.

We that in those four days your schedule was full enough to get to see some of the beauties of Zakynthos. Our island has a lot more to give and it is full of hidden gems. It just takes one boat trip to discover and a day driving to our beautiful mountains.

We do hope that we will have the chance to see you back sometime in the future at Filoxenia and sunny Zante. Please know that our home will be always open for you and our staff will be here on the spot to welcome you back with a smile. Until then, have a great time back home and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
3.9 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,551 reviews
1.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#11 of 51 in Tsilivi
273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
1 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#22 of 51 in Tsilivi
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Address: Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tsilivi
#6 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range: $105 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Filoxenia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald green grass. Topaz blue skies and big mountains. These are the jewels of Tsilivi Zakynthos that plan to spoil you from the moment you arrive in Filoxenia Hotel. The natural scenic beauty of the complex is juxtaposed by our traditional Greek hospitality; enchanting visitors who leave with the most favorable impressions and the certainty that they will keep in touch and vow to return. An exquisite and comfortable "Home away from home", a warm feeling of welcome in a quite and soft atmosphere, unique in Zakynthos. Newly refurbished in 2009 with its new modern minimal character and very spacious and unique accommodation, will certainly give you the comfort you expect from your holidays.The four star Filoxenia Hotel is only 4 km away from Zante town, ideally situated in one of the less busy and beautiful countryside in the island, within 20-30 minutes walking from Tsilivi beach and the busy resort center.Modern amenities, a sprinkling of umbrellas by the poolside, 2 swimming pools and a children's pool accentuate the natural beauty of our complex for the young guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tsilivi
Filoxenia Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing