We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Amazing Staff”
Review of Filoxenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Filoxenia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Amazing Staff”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Firstly I will apologise as it has taken me far too long to write this review. But having said that I am writing it with a smile on my face because I had such a great time. The hotel itself is quite small, but it has two fabulous pools, great sized rooms and an even better restaurant. I went here with my mum and we are both very fussy eaters, but I can honestly say there was not a time that we could not find something that we both loved. Now the best bit. The bar and its staff. The staff Luca and Gerry were amazing, they looked after my mum and myself and made us feel very welcome. They were funny and helpful and they made the holiday fabulous. I also met some great people on this holiday and have to say I still miss them all.
Thank you for what was a very memorable time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tania7257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello Tania!
Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

It is so great to hear that you and your mum had such a wonderful time here with us and that our staff made you both feel so great. It was our pleasure to get to know you better and accommodate you in our hotel.

On behalf of everyone, I would like to express our appreciation for your wonderful comment about us and for giving us all such a credit for what we do. Your words mean a lot to us!

A special thank you on behalf of Gerry and Luca for giving them a praise too. I am sure that you have a put a big smile on their face.

We all hope that we will have the chance to see you back again with us in the near future and share some good moments with you and your mum.

Our home will be always open for you. Until we meet each other again, stay safe, have fun and always smile! Love from all..xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    265
    81
    28
    13
See reviews for
338
413
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my newly titled fiancé have had a fantastic week at the filoxenia! We would like to thank everybody for such hard work to make our stay so enjoyable. The maids for cleaning our rooms everyday, the barmen esp Luca & Gerry ( Hope you enjoyed the Cutty Sark!) Dennis and his staff for running such a good restaurant with first class service. Our special thanks must go to Chef Vasilis and his team for producing great homecooked food all week! We love Greek cuisine and we have been truly spoilt!
I hope the management keep hold of you all, we will remember your lovely hotel and your exellent hard working staff forever as we got ourselves engaged here....room 208 ;)
Oh...Somemone listen to oscar..he has some good idea's.
One day we hope to return, Stuart & Caroline Co . Durham

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello Stuard and Caroline!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday experience with the rest of us.

It makes us all very happy to know that you had such a fantastic time here with us and that you got to know us better. It was a pleasure for us to have here as a guest and we are glad that Filoxenia was up to your standards. Thanks very much for giving that a mention.

On behalf of all the staff and family we would like to pass a huge thank you for your great comments on our people and for giving the a praise on their work and personality.

We all hope that we will have the chance to see you back again with us in the future for a another round of sunny, happy, relaxing, worry free holiday.

Our staff will be here on the spot to greet you once again with a huge smile form the heart. Until then, have a great time back home and always stay safe! Love from all!xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

What can I say that hasn't been said before? Top of the list must go to the staff that work here. The bar staff Grey, Luca, Phillipas and Kostas were amazing, always remembered what drinks you liked and made everyone feel special. Dennis in the resteraunt was a lovely chap and happy to help with anything you asked for. Nothing is too much trouble. Oskar and wallid (willy lol) god knows where they got their energy from. They were in at 9am and didn't go till midnight. Great entertainment. The maids were excellent and came every day to clean, make the beds and change towels if needed. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly.
The food was lovely and while the was wasn't as much as some all inclusives I have been to, the quality was far better. There was never a day when I didn't eat enough (ate too much lol) and it was so nice to never see chips for lunch or dinner (breakfast yes!) Though if you wanted chips, just ask and they will make some fresh for you. Kids are catered for in this way too which is great for them cos they get a bit more choice than the boring adults. Overall I couldn't fault anything with the food.
The hotel itself is lovely. The rooms are so big and the beds are massive. Much better than the usual 2 hard singles you normally get in Greece. We were in the the block over the road from the reception on the 3rd floor. No complaints about the room at all.
Only slight complaint is the distance from the beach. It was a fair half hour walk. There is a minibus which travels down in the morning taking people down and will arrange a time to come and pick you up in the afternoon. It will also stop halfway to pick you up ( as we found out!)
Overall, a wonderful time spent here. Met some lovely people Angie and chaz, Dave and his new wife, the crazy 4 girls, and Dave, Rachel, Pete and Lauren.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennyBrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello Jenny!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here. It was a great pleasure for us to have you as a guest here in our home and get to know you better and spend some time with you.

It makes us happy to know that you had a wonderful time here with us and that you had the chance to make some new holiday friends. We hope that you will have the opportunity to keep in touch with them during the winter and share your memories from Greece.

On behalf of all the staff and the family at Filoxenia hotel we would like to pass our appreciation to you for your wonderful words on our staff members and for giving them a praise on the way they took care of you. Your rewarding comments is our biggest motive to keep on doing what we love with more passion and enthusiasm. That means a lot to us!

We all hope that we will have the chance to have you back again with us in the future and share some good moments together and of course some Greek food that you love so much! Until then, have a great time back home and always remember us and smile! Much love from the Filoxenia team..xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Myself, my girlfriend and our friends stayed at the Filoxenia hotel for ten days. We had fantastic sunshine, breathtaking views and good culture to absorb but the thing that made our holiday extra special were the staff at the hotel. They were all so friendly and nothing was too much for them. Two in particular I would now class as my brothers. Gerry and Luca shone the brightest and made our stay a most memorable one. Thanks guys and see you again soon...Pete M.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello Pete!
Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to spend your summer holidays with us. It was a great pleasure to accommodate you in our home.

It makes us extra happy to know that you had a wonderful and relaxing time here with us and most of all the our staff made you feel so welcome while holidaying with us.

Most of all we would like to say a very big thank you for your lovely words on our staff and especially for Gerry and Luca. They are both fantastic people and we are very proud to have them in our family. I am sure that your words have put a big smile in their face. We appreciate very much the fact that you call them ‘’brothers’’ and that reminds us that the most important thing in life is family and friends. Thanks from the heart that you keep those values alive.

Please know that our home will be always open for you and our staff will be right here on the spot to welcome you once again at the Filoxenia. Until we meet again soon, have a pleasant time back home and always remembers us and smile cause we do…Sending love from all..xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Returned from here on the 7th July after a fantastic 14 night stay. All the all the staff here are brilliant Gerry a top bar man. Dennis head waiter and the beautiful face of Sophia both have always a welcoming smile for everyone which makes all the difference. Met lots of new staff this year that has made this hotel so much better than most hotels I have been to. The rooms are immaculate myself and all of my party thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and we all want to come back next year. Guys looks like you'll have to put up with me and Darren next year too. Well done for all the hard work you put into every day to make our stay special.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Onemarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello Mark!
Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for sharing your wonderful memories with the rest of us here.

It makes us super happy to know that you had such a fantastic time here with us and that our our hotel was up to your needs and expectations. Thank you very much for giving that a mention.

Most of all we are happy that our staff made you feel so warm and comfortable once again and the fact that you spend some quality time with them makes us feel great.

On behalf of all the staff and family at Filoxenia I would like to pass a huge thank you for your lovely comments and for giving a special mention to everyone for their work and personality. It was a pleasure for all of us to have you as a guest in our home.

It would be great if we had the chance to have you back again with us in the near future and share some good moments with you. Please know that Filoxenia will always have its doors open for you and our staff will be right here on the spot to greet you with a smile. Until then, take care because we care.. Love from all the team…xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I returned from a week at the Filoxenia on the 5th of July. Our room was lovely - very spacious and the decor was really nice. The bed was two doubles put together so there was plenty of space to sprawl out! There was also a fridge which was useful for our bottled water. The cleaner came in every day and changed the towels etc. We were in the block over the road from the reception and restaurant on the third floor and had fantastic views of the mountains and hotel pool. Safety deposit boxes were 20 euros so we hired one for peace of mind.

The food was very good - not as much variety as some larger hotels we have stayed in but we could always find plenty of things that we liked. There were a number of themed nights including Italian and Greek nights which we particularly enjoyed! Snacks were also put on in the afternoon which were good if you didn't fancy a full lunch. There was a good selection of all inclusive drinks - the only thing that wasn't available for free were the cocktails which were 4 euros.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the team put on entertainment throughout the day and night which people seemed to enjoy. We didn't get involved with this though as we like to be out sightseeing and walking, but for people who like to relax at the hotel all day it would be well suited to them.

Other people commented in their reviews that the location wasn't very good and the resort and beach were too far away (over half an hour walk) - We timed our walk into Tsilivi and it took us 12 minutes so I don't know how slow these people were walking!! The beach is another couple of minutes. We visited Tsilivi Water Park twice as it was a great day out and only 30 minutes walk from the hotel also. The bus stop to Zante town was located conveniently opposite the hotel and ran hourly. It was also on time which is more than can be said for English buses!! It was 1.60 euro each way so very reasonable.

The only issue we had which is the reason for not rating this review as 'excellent' was our final day. We had to check out of our room at 11am on the Thursday even though we were not flying until 6am on Friday morning! This meant we had a lot of waiting around to do and we had no room to sleep in so we had to try and sleep in reception which was noisy. Other guests departing at the same time as us also commented that we should have had our room for our final night. This problem was also partly the fault of our travel agency Cosmos as they did not make us aware of this.

On the whole though, the holiday was fantastic and we had a great time at the Filoxenia. We would definitely recommend the hotel for the location, facilities and kind staff.

Room Tip: Rooms in the block opposite the reception are quieter and the pool is less busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Libby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hello Libby!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

First of all we would like to say a big thank you for your kind words about us and for giving a credit to our hotel and our staff. We are very glad that Filoxenia was up to your expectations and that you felt relaxed and comfortable while staying with us.

We hope that your strolls in the small village of Tsilivi were pleasant and that you found some good places to visit in the resort.

With regards to your last night please allow me to express my frustration. I am very surprised to hear that you were not informed by your tour operator about this issue.

To make it clear for you why this happens, in order to check in as soon as you arrive in the hotel and not wait until check in time which is at 12 pm, your tour operator books your room from the previous night. This is a common practice of tour operator’s operation dealing with early morning flights.

As a result, you have to check out by 11am the day before you depart. This is always mentioned in travel brochures and web sites of tour operators and you should be informed in advance by the travel company you have booked with.

In particular, your tour operator is obliged to inform you prior to your arrival in the hotel that your departure date changes because of this action.

As a solution our hotel can offer you upon availability a room for late check out at a ( half day cost). As we realize this inconvenience caused by the tour operator’s action, our hotel offers you an extension ( at no extra cost) of your all inclusive services until the time you depart to the airport. In case our hotel do not have room availability, we make sure to find alternative room for you in a nearby accommodation at the same cost.

Normally, what most our guests do is to give as a prior notice of a late check out remark and then we do our best to find accommodation for them in our hotel ( upon availability) or in a nearby accommodation.

I hope that this last night of yours did not influence in a bad way the overall experience of your holidays and that you left our island with some beautiful memories.

It will be a great pleasure for us if we had the chance to see you back again sometime in th future and take care of you the best way we can. Please know that Filoxenia will have its doors open for you and our staff will be right here on the spot to welcome you with a smile. We wish you have a great winter back home and take care.

Sending love from all the staff and family at Filoxenia..xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was the first trip to the island of Zante for my partner and myself, and as we always like an all inclusive deal, we found The Filoxenia hotel ticked all the right boxes. There was a good start as we received a welcome drink on arrival, and even met another family that we socialized with for the remainder of the week, within an hour of arriving......that's the main positive about the hotel; the friendliness of ALL the staff, which resonates through to the hotel guests thus creating a really happy and relaxed atmosphere. We were wary that the quality of food at all inclusive hotels, can be a little bland, lets say, but I can safely report that this was one of the most impressive displays of food options that I've ever seen.....something different each night and the chef would be happy to cook anything else on request ( within reason! ). The animation team do what they are paid to do, and learn everyones names quickly, but don't force you to do anything you don't want to do. Although, at first glance, the rooms look spacious and quirky ( which they are ),we soon found out that the walls, in the bathroom particularly, were paper thin and it was if there was no wall at all at times!, and we also had a couple of incidents of ants, also in the bathroom. ( room 107, for the record ). There is a good option of a 20 minute stroll into town, where everyone seemed friendly and a good selection of restaurants should you wish to do something different one night. So, to summarise, get yourself down to the Filoxenia and find out for yourself exactly how friendly everybody is!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pug296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hello Pug!
Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday experience with the rest of us here.

First of all , we would like to apologize for the drawbacks you face in regards to your room. I hop ethat these did not influence the overall stay of yours. With regards to our bathrooms we would like to inform you that they are all build with bricks and as far as I know this is the most common material for bathroom walls. I am sorry that their sound proofing was not adequate for your needs.

As for the ants, although our pest control is updated once a month in our hotel, due to the fact the our hotel is located in the country side there might be cases when you may see some ants around. We always make sure to take the necessary precautions for that but ants are very difficult to be defeated. Please accept our apologies for this.

On behalf of all the staff and family at Filoxenia we would like to say a very big thank you for your lovely words on our staff and for giving them a credit on the way they took care of you. Your rewarding comments are so valuable to us and they boost our passion and enthusiasm for what we love to do.

It is also great to know that you got the chance to explore the lovely resort of Tsilivi. Indeed it is a very welcoming place full of family run businesses and some lovely people to share their smile with you. We hope that you enjoyed your visits to our village.

Well, that was just a note to you to say a huge thank you for your feedback and for your time to go through our response. We hope that we will have the chance to see you back again sometime in the future and share some good moments with you once more.

Please know that our home will be always open for you and our staff will be here on the spot to greet you with a smile. Until then, take care and always smile.. Love from all..xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
1.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
255 reviews
3.9 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,465 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#8 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#24 of 51 in Tsilivi
884 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#11 of 51 in Tsilivi
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Property: Filoxenia Hotel
Address: Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald green grass. Topaz blue skies and big mountains. These are the jewels of Tsilivi Zakynthos that plan to spoil you from the moment you arrive in Filoxenia Hotel. The natural scenic beauty of the complex is juxtaposed by our traditional Greek hospitality; enchanting visitors who leave with the most favorable impressions and the certainty that they will keep in touch and vow to return. An exquisite and comfortable "Home away from home", a warm feeling of welcome in a quite and soft atmosphere, unique in Zakynthos. Newly refurbished in 2009 with its new modern minimal character and very spacious and unique accommodation, will certainly give you the comfort you expect from your holidays.The four star Filoxenia Hotel is only 4 km away from Zante town, ideally situated in one of the less busy and beautiful countryside in the island, within 20-30 minutes walking from Tsilivi beach and the busy resort center.Modern amenities, a sprinkling of umbrellas by the poolside, 2 swimming pools and a children's pool accentuate the natural beauty of our complex for the young guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Bookgreece.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tsilivi
Filoxenia Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing