We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Altura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altura Hotel
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Awesome hotel made us feel welcome especially jackie and Steve. The pool very clen rooms very clean food absolutely lovely and my sons loved the games room and the entertainment and also only a short walk too the shops From Simon Apple James Aaron and Natalie

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon N Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    283
    106
    38
    38
See reviews for
248
369
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Went to the Mavrikos on the 23rd May for the second time and it was again spot on.
The staff are fantastic, the rooms are always nice and clean, also the food was always very very nice. Pool bar staff always made you welcome and served a nice cold pint, I would go back to the Mavrikos today if I could. There is only one sad thing about the place and that is when you have to say GOODBYE TO THEM NICE PEOPLE that you have spent time with on holiday. I really do hpoe that one day we shall meet again on the island of Zante. Mark B

Room Tip: Rooms on Floors 2&3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Second time at Mavrikos, great hotel, staff brill all the same lovely people. We were treated fabulously. Met some fab people, everybody really friendly and helpful. Food delicious as usual. Not too sure about all inclusive.

Room Tip: Rooms 400/500 most modern. Rooms 200/300 sun all afternoon till sundown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 69val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSWICH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Friendly from the moment we arrived - English staff who could not do enough for you. All inclusive was a bargain deal. You will never go hungry as snacks and afternoon tea available (tea and biscuits and most times delicious cake). Big choice of breakfast but the hot breakfast is always the same - if I had asked for something different am sure would have received but lots of choice. Packed roll, fruit and water if you go on trips - only have to ask. Cheese toastie before we left for airport. Do not forget to ask to see the chapel in the grounds. Many thanks to all staff for a wonderful time

Room Tip: I heard no complaints from anyone about their room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KITB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My Wife & I have just returned from two weeks A I at the Mavrikos Hotel and again Massive value for money. We have stayed here four times in successive years, the Hotel clean & comfortable, the rooms spacious and adequately equipped with hot plates, hair dryer, Kettle, & all cooking and eating utensils. The pool excellent and spacious, with the sun all day, John & his Wife Marianna the owners bend over backwards to give the visiting holiday makers a comfortable and enjoyable stay, paying attention to peoples comments and reacting to them, always looking to improve where ever necessary. The new all Inclusive option they have just introduced paying attention to English likes and dislikes with the varied menu definitely a Winner. Breakfast, Lunch, afternoon tea coffee & cake, snacks all day , & Dinner, well thought out and Delicious. (exceptional without doubt) Nothing whats so ever for any one to complain about, so ignore any negatives. From two well traveled people, the best value for money in Tsilivi with out Question. Thank you to the very hard working Jackie, Welsh Cockney Steve the (entertainments Manager, Cocktail Barman?? Kieth, Jean, & Netty (Nurse Gladys) and all the back room staff for another great stay. See you all again soon, John & Linda Cullen.

Room Tip: Sea Views and all inclusive a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JONLIN1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just returned yesterday from an amazing 7 night stay at Mavrikos and I cannot wait to write this review. I have never stayed in such a friendly hotel. The whole team are fantastic. A big thanks to Steve, Andrea, Jackie, Jean, Keith and Netty for making us feel so at home and welcome. There is a notice in the rooms saying "welcome to our, this is your home too" and it really is lived up to. I have never felt so relaxed in a hotel reception but we often would spend time sat chatting on one of the many comfy couches. The clientele is really mixed from young couples to families and older people but I honestly feel the attitude of the staff makes everybody more friendly so everyone gets on.
Now to the nitty gritty. The hotel is 3+ stars. The restaurant is a lovely place to eat a meal beautifully clean and spotless white linen. Driftwood ornaments create a sort of beach ambience. The food is lovely. Every meal there were at least three choices and always a more traditional
Greek option. Everything was beautifully cooked and really tasty. Breakfast was good IMHO with fruit, cereals and cooked options although understandably this didn`t change. Beautiful freshly baked bread was available at every meal. The bar had a great atmosphere, really chilled out and some sort of entertainment is laid on every night.
If there is one thing I can say from other reviews that really bugs me is "THE HILL". After reading reviews I was a little anxious as my mother is nearly 70 but I promise it is only a slightly steep incline for about ten feet it is a hill and no denying but we had people with walking sticks and OAPs when we were there who were up and down it with ease. PLEASE DO NOT LET IT PUT YOU OFF UNLESS YOU HAVE SERIOUS IMPAIRMENT. If you want more proof read one of the few "terrible" reviews???????????? and someone has actually posted a picture of the hill whilst ranting on about in his review!!!
The room I stayed in was immaculately clean. Fairly small but a good size balcony with reasonably modern light wood furniture. The room was cleaned every day.
I have always been a firm believer in the "it`s a big wide world" philosophy and once a place is ticked off the list try somewhere else but I can honestly say Mavrikos has changed that and I am raring to go back I totally agree with a previous review that states felt like a regular after a few days.
Once again a BIG thank you to all the team for making us feel so welcome and see you again very soon so stock up on the grendine lol ;) xxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Fair to say that rooms on second floor have better views and balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EG1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just spent a week at this hotel and I just had to write my findings.
Firstly the Hotel. I can not believe that this is only a 3 star rating. I found the fixtures and fittings to be of the highest quality every where including the bedrooms are all decorated to a high standard. Every where from the dining room to the pool area are fitted out with quality furniture and I defy any one to find speck of dust or any broken fixture any where in the hotel. The majority of the staff is British and working here for many years and I believe you will not come across a friendlier honest and trustworthy staff. From the owner’s family down to the maids that clean the rooms. Nothing is too much trouble and they are never short of a smile or a friendly gesture and they are the most courteous people you will come across. This is confirmed by the number of people who seemed to be customers who have stayed at the hotel in the past and returning year after year.
If you want authentic Geek food ALL the time you may be disappointed. However if you are wanting excellent food with a Greek theme you will NOT be disappointed or hungry. Every day there is a different menu offering you a choice of many types of food. The restrauint again is of high quality and a joy to dine in.
I could go on forever praising this hotel and the staff but I think you will soon get bored.
The only two down sides to this hotel is one that it is situated on a hill (However it manageable even for my husband who is recovering from a broken kneecap). The other downside is that the bedroom walls are very thin (but then again how many holiday hotels have sound proofing in the walls)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chutikarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.5 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#24 of 51 in Tsilivi
884 reviews
0.6 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#26 of 51 in Tsilivi
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel
Filoxenia Hotel
#7 of 51 in Tsilivi
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#8 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altura Hotel

Property: Altura Hotel
Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece (Formerly Hotel Mavrikos)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altura Zakynthos offers 95 beautiful, comfortable and functional rooms, each of which has a balcony with views. The philosophy of the hotel is to achieve an impeccable level of hospitality: the more we are able to predict in order help realize your ideal holiday, the more fulfilled we become. In an effort to ensure friends and families aren’t separated, we also offer connected rooms. Life at Altura is brimming with happiness, surprises and unforgettable moments with loved ones and new friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Expedia so you can book your Altura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavrikos Hotel Tsilivi
Altura Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing