We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and resort”
Review of Altura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Altura Hotel
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here 13th - 20th June and have nothing but praise for the hotel and staff. Our room was spotlessly clean as were the fridge, kettle, toaster, dishes etc. The bathroom was lovely with a really good shower and the towels were changed every day. We decided to eat evening meal at the hotel on our first night and the quality was so good we ate there twice more. It is exceptional value at 12 euros for a five course meal. We would have been happy to eat there every night but we wanted to sample some of the local eateries while we were there. The bar at the hotel is also really good and we were well looked after by our compatriots Steve in the bar and Jackie in the restaurant. The pool is good. Just the right temperature to cool you off and the sunbeds were really comfortable,offering plenty of shade which we welcomed in the 35 degree heat! It's only a short walk down to the main resort and there's plenty on offer for eating and drinking. Magdalena's is good for a fun quiz and karaoke and we found a really good restaurant a little off the beaten track (about 15 minute walk from Mavrikos) called Dionistos Grill where I had the best Beef Stifado, two nights running. Really good value food and a very popular restaurant. You get free wine with your meal too. Opposite there is a little café bar called the Ocean Bar where they do lovely cocktails at 2 for 6 euros. Sweet Revenge is a great place too. They do a lovely breakfast and a really good cup of tea!
We paid 7 euros a day for air conditioning in the hotel for the last 4 nights as it got so warm and it would be nice if that were included in the price. However, that's a minor thing. Overall we loved the hotel and its location and had a wonderful week there. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 837 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel is basic furniture but always very clean and that all im bothered about, when we arrived beginning of june 2013 We received a drink was a very good touch. we was in a studio which had a small balcony, safe and air con facilities. we was on the third floor only down side is there is a lift to second floor but only stairs to third which was hard with 20kg suitcase each but we a young couple so we managed and if you had difficulty im sure the staff would help as they were very nice at pool bar and reception. you never struggled to get a sun bed, we could go for lunch at 12 ish and come back up and still get one at 1 o clock . Don't worry about the hill unless you really do struggle its not that bad.

The beach is a sand beach but has stones on it but you could generally avoid at one end plenty of sun lounges on beach cant say how much as never felt need to use them. the sea is lovely and warm and shallow with water sports which we did that was really fun and seemed very safe.

The place is busy but not party place and that what we like, many restaurant to choose from I would recommend you go to olive tree best steak there not fat and so lovely and cheap also try Pieros and for breakfast try Magdalenas and sunset. we went to many greek night but by far the best one was at Avguostis restaurant this is just a little further up from Alexandra beach.

If you want to try any trip please go with Nefis travel as they was fantastic such lovely people and went out of their way to do anything for you, it is just as you go down to the beach or another one not far from two brothers on main road. we did turtles , scuba diving , Olympus and shipwreck which is a must

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mel150694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have just arrived back (27th June 2013) after a weeks stay at the Mavrikos with two friends who have been coming for the last 5 years. I can see why.

We were greeted after our 20 minute transfer with a cold drink.....really nice touch. Our room overlooking the pool, which my friend had requested, was clean and plenty big enough. Not once did I hear any noise from the pool and slept like a baby (with the aid of air con) every night.

The hill is no problem, steep but thankfully short. All of the staff were really friendly, especially Jean and Steve.

We experienced no difficulties with sun lounger hogging, there were loads free. I don't know what it's like in school holidays but last week was fine. Lovely clean pool with eclectic choice of music and loads of free lilo's and balls to play with.

Tsilivi is AMAZING!!! Paradise bar is ace.....madness! Two Brothers bar, which is a bit of a walk away but only 5 euro's in a taxi is like nothing I've ever experienced. Magdalena's bar with it's nightly quiz was also really entertaining. Family restaurant and Calypso were lovely and staff couldn't do enough for you.

Overall, fantastic holiday.....thanks to all. Mark and Lesley xxx

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here 6th - 20th June and can not fault the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. it is plain to see that the maids care about what they do. we got married whilst we were there and the staff could not do enough to help us. the arrival drink was very welcoming after a long hot journey! we were there the same time as Charlotte B and completely agree with her comment about the 50+ lady in a regular thong by the poolside, not very appropriate. i also agree that it reminded me slightly of Benidorm but thats not a bad thing. i celebrated my birthday whilst there and the staff acknowledged that which was really nice. perfect location i thought for the restaurants etc, nice walk after to let the food settle. woulde definately recommend. only bad point i would say is twin beds rather than a double in master bedroom of two bed apartments and not particularly comfortable for me but that is personal preference, but i think that is just the greek way. one other minor niggle is i think air con should come as standard not be charged extra. it was very difficult to sleep on the hotter days. lovely rooms and balcony space. want to be back there now!!!!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartments with children - excellent and some have seperate balconys for the two rooms - p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Mavrikos 13th -20th June as a party of 3. The rooms were nice, the bathroom probably needed refurbishment, but it served its purpose, we always had hot water and clean towels. The hotel itself was lovely, the amenities are good. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but we did have the breakfast and it was lovely.

We found the cats adorable especially a grey tabby looking cat who we nicknamed Max. You can usually tell its Max as he has the most beautiful face and bow legs :) He also can usually be found round the hotel and at night, he stands guards by the entrance waiting to see if anyone has brought him a special treat back :) Being vegetarians, we didn't think he would appreciate our food, so we bought some kibble from the local shop and he was happy with a handful each night :)

One of our party had a massage at the hotel and said it was out of this world, she felt so relaxed after it. So would definitely recommend that.

We never had a problem getting a sunbed, there were always some free, and the pool was a lovely size.

The staff at the hotel were second to none, always friendly and offering a smile, we hired a car and the reception staff were very informative about the places we should visit. I can honestly say, we have been to a lot of different places and hotels and none have been friendlier than these staff. When they saw you out and about they would even make an effort to acknowledge you and give you a friendly wave :) Thank you to them for making the stay more pleasurable!!!

We were very lucky with the weather when we visited, it started out around 26 at the beginning of our holiday with nice cooler nights, by the end of the week it had reached about 35 and the nights were warm, making us wander down the town to the beach for a gentle breeze.

As others have said there is a slight incline up to the hotel, which we didn't find a problem, it was at its worst when the heat was baring down on you, but just think of that Mythos you can have when you get to the bar and you'll soon be up it ;)

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the children's pool which was a 2 bedroom apartment with 2 balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtvesuvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed here 6th June 2013 for a week, we're 25 and 26. The good points first; the rooms were lovely. I gather there are some recently refurbished and some yet to be done, and some rooms smaller than others. Ours, however, was spacious and lovely, with the first decent shower I've ever had in a Greek hotel! There was a fridge, so we could keep plenty of snacks in the room for late night munchies. There was also a hot plate for cooking but we didn't use this as we like to get out to the tavernas. There was a nice sized balcony with a table and chairs which we sat on every night to play cards and have a drink, and the poolside entertainment wasn't too noisy where we were. The rooms were also cleaned with fresh bedding and towels brought every day, which is brilliant for Greece as it's usually 2-3 times in a week. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night, and had the set menu of 5 courses for €12 which was really nice. The set menu changes daily but is generally a soup, a salad, a starter, a choice of mains, and a choice of desserts, but the lady said if there was anything on the menu we didn't like she would find us something we did like! As it happened it was all delicious.

The downsides; The beds!! Dear god the beds in Greece are dire. A 'double' room always seems to consist of two single beds hastily shoved together with a huge gap between them. I can also see what some people mean about the location; the hill isn't steep particularly and wasn't a task after a few Mythos like someone else said, but it was exhausting in the heat of the day. Also while the shops, cafes and tavernas start right outside the hotel it is a good trek to the beach. We didn't mind too much, but I think it would have been a problem for me in the heat of August (as I've been poorly and I'm not at my fittest) and it may be a problem for older tourists. There is the pool if you aren't bothered about the beach, but there are limited number of beds and there is some god awful music playing. Also, there was an unfortunate recurring incident of toplessness in an older female tourist which I just did not need to see. A 50+ bottle blonde with sun-baked leather for skin strutting about topless in a thong is more than my eyes can take. As it's a family hotel I would have thought there would be rules against this. Also, it was a little bit Benidorm. Most of the staff were Welsh or English, the poolside entertainment was karaoke, play your cards right, telly addicts quiz, etc. I haven't reflected this in the rating I've given the hotel because it's personal preference; it isn't what I like in a hotel but this was a last minute cheap get away after a stressful few months so good rooms and a nice beach were all we asked for and that's what we got. The poolside entertainment didn't really matter as we like to go out to eat and have a few drinks and wander about in the night atmosphere, so it didn't effect our holiday that it wasn't really our thing. I wouldn't stay here as a long planned holiday because I prefer the proper Greek experience (everything Greek run, and traditional tavernas and shops - Tsilivi is very touristy with Chinese restaurants and as many English people as Greek, and very tacky souvenirs). However, it ticked the boxes we wanted ticking on this particular trip, and I can't fault it objectively.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

just arrived back yesterday, and was so sad to leave. we have stayed on most of the greek islands, but this one is by far the most beautiful, and most welcoming. Mavrikos goes that extra mile, and the staff are absolutely brilliant. Jackie and steve are brill, and Jackie did well to encourage me to try the greek cuisine, and for most I enjoyed (gigantes white beans weren't my cup of tea, but the soups were to die for) Jackie, who is gonna make my soups now huh. steve, my ipad is still mine, and no, no candy crush.
silly as it sounds, the one thing that impressed me the most, I could smell fabric conditioner on the sheets when I got into bed, telling me how clean the place was
jokers bar was ace, hello yannis and the staff, their screaming orgasms were addictive
we will be going back, hopefully next year

Room Tip: stayed in 202 - apart from barking dog - perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernie-1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.5 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#23 of 51 in Tsilivi
921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#24 of 51 in Tsilivi
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pallas Hotel
Plaza Pallas Hotel
#16 of 51 in Tsilivi
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel
Filoxenia Hotel
#8 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#10 of 51 in Tsilivi
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altura Hotel

Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece (Formerly Hotel Mavrikos)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range: $72 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altura Zakynthos offers 95 beautiful, comfortable and functional rooms, each of which has a balcony with views. The philosophy of the hotel is to achieve an impeccable level of hospitality: the more we are able to predict in order help realize your ideal holiday, the more fulfilled we become. In an effort to ensure friends and families aren’t separated, we also offer connected rooms. Life at Altura is brimming with happiness, surprises and unforgettable moments with loved ones and new friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Altura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavrikos Hotel Tsilivi
Altura Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing