We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel with great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mavrikos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mavrikos
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good hotel with great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We went for a cheap week having been to Tslivi once before to another hotel. We didn't expect much but we were pleasantly surprised.
We arrived on their opening day for the season so things were a bit confused at times but the willingness and friendlyness of all the staff more than made up for this. Steve Jackie and Jean all made a point of introducing themselves and making sure they knew our names. All of the local staff were also very friendly and spoke good English which is always a bonus for us Brits.
We spent most of our time around the pool which because the hotel was not very busy was great because there were always plenty of spare sunbeds.
My wife was not very well (from before we went) and Jackie and Jean really went out of their way to be sympathetic and ask if she needed anything.
We would happily go back as we felt like we were staying with friends but would try to choose again the less busy times of the season.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    247
    88
    29
    32
See reviews for
214
312
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed as a couple in this hotel last June and got a brilliant late deal on it. For what we paid we didn't expect much but it turned out to be everything in a nut shell. The staff at the hotel were really pleasant from the moment we arrived with rooms being basic but with all the self catering facilities we needed. Once you leave the hotel you are immediately in the town of Tsilivi with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants and after about a 5 minute walk you are at a lovely beach (where we spent most of our holiday). There are watersports available at the beach which we couldn't resist. There are buses to go into Zante Town and Laganas and other places but as we were only there for a week we only did Zante Town (which had a lovely harbour) as we just wanted to chill. The only thing I wasn't too keen on was walking through the town at night as everyone was trying to get you into their bars and restaurants, but i suppose you get that most places. Apart from that I would deffinately go back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

I have been staying in this hotel for over 12 years and will return soon! Have stayed as solo traveller, with friends and with my own children and have loved every minute!

The hotel is central to the main strip, just up small hill, with outdoor pool, very clean apartments, small breakfast room, games room, gym and lots more!There is a small church hidden in the back of the complex, open on Sundays. The reception is open and airy and the staff are wonderfully friendly and welcoming! The pool-bar is headed up by Jean and Keith, both go out of their way to ensure your stay is completely stress-free!

Maid service is daily and towels are also changed on a daily basis! There is a small 'shop' in the foyer for t-bags, coffee and snacks! However, this is an expensive option, there is 2 small local supermarkets within walking distance! Lunches are also served from the poolbar! Very reasonably priced and good portions!

Entertainment is often provided during high season, in and around the pool! Quiz nights and Hawaiian nights are organised for all the family and are such fun! All entertainment stops at 12o'clock so no chance of sleepless nights! Good all round family hotel!!

Room Tip: Main hotel to back offers wonderful views of town and sea, best for sunsets! Can be noisy with bars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petalootha46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull,UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Arrived at 6am & had a very quick check in, the chap on reception made everybody come back later in the day to arrange safes & air con - which was good & speeded everything up. The staff are mainly from the UK & friendly & are great cooks. We kept our room on until 2am on our last day at 30 euros.

Our room was on the top floor which we had asked for & was brilliant as we got a great breeze on the balcony & even though it was July we did not need to pay for air con. The view over the town was fine as you are on the hillside quite high up, some of the bars were quite noisy until the early hours like 4/5am but it wasn't too much of a problem with the doors pulled too. Rooms are basic but clean we ate out & just used the kettle which was great to have.

It is a good 20 minutes walk from the beach so we hired a dune buggy for the week to get out & about from the rental place at the bottom right of the Mavrikos hill . We were going to stay by the pool but as many of the clients have been coming here for years they act like the Mavrikos Mafia & they all save the beds for each other & give you the evil eye if you dare to take a sunbed that their fellow mavrikos mafia chums usually have. I have seen beds reserved by families in the morning that I have then seen at the beach all day - selfish or what !! It is the only holiday I have been on where I have not gone in the pool .............

We spent every day at Moby Dicks beach bar/restaurant right on Tsilvi beach where the loungers are plush & a free as long as you take a drink or eat with them - best deal in resort & lovley staff. We have booked to go back to Tsilivi this summer for 2 weeks & to stay at the Plaza Pallas as 5 minutes walk to the beach.

When I asked for a greek salad at the Mavrikos I was asked if I wanted Olives & Feta cheese with it - all in all this sums up the type of guest that stays there, if you like a full english breafast you are sorted !!

We ate many nights at the Apollon which is down the hill , round to the right- the food was great & they had many main courses for 7 to 10 euros, highly recommended & looking forward to going back.

This holiday was £220 each for 7 nights in July, I would have been pretty miffed if I had paid a higher amount for it.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking town, but remember yu have to get your suitcases up 4 flights of stairs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KazinSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

we vizited this hotel in october and it wasnt very busy as it was the end of the season. everyone was very friendly and made you feel very welcome. the rooms were nice and were cleaned regularly by the maids. nice place if you just want to chill. would also recommend the calypso restaurant which is near the hotel, very amazing food and great service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank steven t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a week in September 2011. It is quite run down and could do with renovating but other than that it is a great hotel. The bed sheets were changed every day and rooms were kept clean. The receptionists were lovely and very helpful. It was my boyfriends birthday while we were there and we arrived back from the beach on his birthday to find a bottle of wine left in our room with a note from the hotel management which we thought was a lovely touch as we had not requested this or even told anyone it was his birthday.

It is only a few mins walk to the restaurants, bars and shops and about 10 mins to the beach so a great location. The pool area seemed crowded though and not as big as it looks in the pictures. The beach is sandy with a couple of restaurants, water sports and plenty of sunbeds. Our favourite thing about the beach though was the sea. so warm and clear and we could go far out before it got deep.

We went to a water park for the day. It was around a 20 min walk but it was only 14 euro each for the day including lunch, we found it good value. Lots of sunbeds and good slides.

Overall Tsilivi has lots of great restaurants, a nice beach and very friendly people and we would return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mariaalex043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Don't go expecting Barcelo/De Vere standards. My girlfriend and I went last minute with Monarch and paid next to nothing for the week there. The self catering apartment was basic but clean and comfortable. Sheets were changed everyday and when a tap broke it replaced within an afternoon of being at the beach. The shower's decent. The kitchen has all the bits and bobs you need to keep drinks and basics cool and sort breakfast out in your room. You could rustle up a meal but it's not worth buy food from the supermarkets as the restaurants are so affordable. We were on the bottom floor so the view was rubbish but then you can't see a lot when you're lying in bed sleeping and there's no reason in Tsilivi to be sitting in a hotel room looking out the window.

The staff are very friendly and are eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Reception staff sorted taxi's for us. They were happy to give us towels on the last day to shower in the communal showers saving us from having to pay an extra day for the room due to a late departure.

About half of the people staying in the hotel while we were there were couples, the other half young families. The pool got pretty crowded but beach is so nice that there's no reason to spend day after day around the pool. The beach is about 5/10min walk away and this mountain on which the hotel apparently sits is none existent. Only people with severe mobility issues will struggle to walk up the slight incline.

Would definitely go back. Good location, great value and friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SargeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.6 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#34 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel
Filoxenia Hotel
#5 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#31 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#23 of 49 in Tsilivi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mavrikos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mavrikos

Property: Hotel Mavrikos
Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mavrikos 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Mavrikos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavrikos Hotel Tsilivi
Hotel Mavrikos Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing