We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holidy”
Review of Tom & John Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tom & John Center
Ranked #19 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We requested a room with a view and we certainly got that with one of our 2 windows directly infront of the fabulous Tsilivi Beach. The 2 bed appartment was clean with a large balcony and handy clothes horse. The maid attended most days and provided clean towels and changed the bedding every 2 days. The appartment was very basic with a little studio kitchen with kettle and sandwich toaster and fridge making it a little tricky if you were self-catering, however, infinitely easier if bed & breakfast. The fridge was very very noisy at night as it made a loud rattling noise every few minutes.. However we still really enjoyed our stay at Tom and Johns. Ava who worked in the bar/pool area across the road was very friendly and made sure you had everything you needed,and whilst the breakfast was large and filling Ava was happy to accommodate any needs. The appartments are excellently located with a short walk to the beach and the many bars and restaurants in Tsilvi- we quite often went to the beach in the morning and wandered back for the afternoon sun by the pool area which was extremely clean and well maintained. The only point to add is that the 4 star is probably attributed to the pool and bar area if this is your thing. So if you are beach and sea people be mindful of this.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lafayette75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 110 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

As stated in previous reviews, Yannis and Ava are fabulous at what they do with the pool and bar and deserve every success in the future. They were the difference between a good holiday and a poor one. Their incredibly helpful and friendly attitude make them deserving of a fab review.

However, the same cannot be said of the accomodation! Two room apartment was poorly equipped for a self catering holiday, dark, dismal and uncomfortable! We had two bedrooms but air con only worked in one despite paying 90 euros for the privilege. No lving area, just bathroom, bedroom and small sink & worktop area for a kitchen. Having travelled extensively throughout the Greek islands, I am well aware of the plumbing and bathroom facilities and do not expect the same as at home. The bathroom in our apartment contained nothing more than a floor tray and hose from the wall, signs on the wall threatening costs if you used a towel for the floor to try and prevent slipping! Grubby kitchen facilities, lacking the basics for any kind of self catering apart from a kettle and sandwich toaster. Hard beds, and if you wanted to use air conditioning it was impossible to open the shutters to let the light in. Electrical points were hanging out of the walls, making them dangerous to use. The walss seperating the apartments were very thin and although there is little or no noise from the resort itself, I was kept awake not only by my own husband snoring (twin beds meant I couldnt kick him!) but that of the man next door as well!! We made the big mistake of booking bed and breakfast, it only gives the continental breakfast (two eggs, one slice of ham and cheese, two slices of toast, orange juice and tea or coffee) which is actually charged by Easyjet holidays at more than it would cost to by a full breakfast direct from Yannis and Ava, and after 10 days, despite Ava's willingness to vary the method of cooking the eggs is incredibly boring! This is Greece!! the land of yoghurt and honey, fresh watermelon to name just a couple of the nations fabulous foods!

The locals are very friendly and eating out was very good value, although we found the contast barrage from restaurant staff exorting you to eat in their establishment a complete pain. This resort is not for the person who likes to see the real country..the motto seems to be "chips with everything" The two restaurants we favoured were the Trente Nove and Beniko's who offered a more traditional dining experience and fantastic food. Particularly irritating were the restaurants that would bring bread and NOT tell you that they were charging for it, I had more time for the ones that asked first.

All in all, thank you to Ava and Yannis, because without them this would not have a been a holiday we could have enjoyed without them!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

just stayed at tom and johns in july 2012 and had a fantastic time the appartments were basic and clean,the bathroom was quite spacious with a shower in,didnt have a shower curtain so floor got quite wet but a mop and bucket was left for you if needed,the beds were quite hard but soon got used to that,air conditioning was ten euros a day which is about average price.we stayed in a two bedroom apartment and was told we might need to pay for air conditioning in both rooms but we found out if we left both bedroom doors open the air conditioning circulated through the two rooms.safe boxes are available for ten euros for a week but these are in the shop so you can only access these when the shop is open [between 9 and 7].you need to try levante day trips if wanting a day out with captain spiros these are deffinatly the best in tsilivi.would deffinatly recommend tom and johns to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We we're the first guests of the season in May 2012- we had a clean appartment with a balcony. The maid attended most days and provided clean towels. The appartment was very basic little studio kitchen with kettle and sandwich toaster and fridge and two single beds rather than a double, with a little balcony. The fridge was very very noisy at night as it made a loud rattling noise every few minuets. However we still really enjoyed our stay at Tom and Johns. Ava who worked in the bar/pool area across the road was very friendly and made sure you had everything you needed, including lovely cocktails! The appartments are a short walk from the beach and the many bars and restaurants in Tsilvi- we quite often went to the beach in the morning and wandered back for the afternoon sun by the pool. They also do bar snacks, we ate there once, and shared a burger and a chicken salad which was fine for a quick and easy lunch.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CProctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have just returned from a 10 night stay and overall had a lovely time.

The apartments are very basic but spotless, with clean sheets and towels twice a week. They are so close to the beach, perfect when travelling with kids. The area is nice and quiet despite being so close to all the bars and restaurants. We went bed and breakfast and the couple running the pool bar opposite do all they can to make your stay as pleasant as they can offering literally anything you want for breakfast. We didn't go every day as sometimes wanted an early start and they were really concerned that their breakfasts weren't 'up to scratch'.. it was so important to them that we enjoyed our food - and we did.

When we initially arrived, we didn't have a cot despite requesting it on the booking form, the owner said he didn't know we wanted one, (even though it was right there in front of him on the form) he did find us one though and told me to take the sheets of one of the beds to use with it. There was no mattress on the cot so I had to use a folded blanket for cushioning - not ideal but, it was better than nothing.

A few other niggles about the accommodation .. there is no bath, only a shower over a tray with no shower curtain.. it would have helped if the shower head worked properly but it leaked and spurted in every direction...with four people sharing, there was a lot of water paddling about each evening, my 2 year old slipped on the floor on several occasions despite trying to mop up continuously, it was quite frustrating and caused extra work each evening mopping the floors. The showers were also cold on several occasions - if you hadn't showered by 5pm - forget the hot water! We had a two bedroomed apartment but there is no 'living' area. If you didn't want to sit on a bed, it had to be out on the balcony. Only one bedroom had a door, the one adjoining the kitchen / bathroom was open plan which wasn't ideal with a young teen. The beds were also incredibly hard.

Tsilivi was lovely but a lot quieter than expected.. lots of bars, shops and restaurants but very empty. We would go again but wouldn't stay at Tom and John's. Would definitely return to the pool bar though for breakfast - the couple there really were lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsH264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a weeks stay. What a lovely relaxing holiday. We got a taxi to the apartments, saves going round different hotels. Our room was above the shop, but don't let that put you off. We went into the shop and was greeted by John, checked in and went to our room. Dropped off the cases and went across the road to the bar and pool (all part of the centre) there we met Yanos and Ava. Two of the most fantastic people you could ever meet. Yanos would cook the breakfast in the mornings, if he had to pop out then Ava would step in. If your not staying here and walk past there on your way to the beach pop in for breakfast, they really go out of their way to make your day pleasent, they are a real asset to Tom and John's centre. Everybody no matter where you eat are genuinely very friendly and glad to see you. We tried a different restaurant and bars every night and the food and drink was great (never had a bad meal) The beach is a one minute walk from the centre, both this and the sea is clean. The main high street where we would eat at night is a five minute walk away.

The apartment is clean and tidy although a beds was very hard, kettle, two ring electric hob and sandwich toaster are supplied but we only used the kettle. When you speak to other holiday makers 75 % of them have stayed in the area before and 40% go twice a year.
We will be going back next year and I only hope Yanos and Ava are still running the snack and drinks bar by the pool. Thank you John, Yanos and Ava and every one else we met on our weeks holiday. Hope to see you soon . Glenn and Gaynor .

Room Tip: Don't worry there all nice and it's very quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

we will be staying at tom and johns in june and all reviews were very helpful but can anyone tell me what bottle beers do they sell in the bars, we only drink bud and coors light, do the bars sell those beers? and also what are the best bars to go to for entertainment :)

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank philomenacork o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.1 mi away
Phoenix Beach Hotel
Phoenix Beach Hotel
#15 of 51 in Tsilivi
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#25 of 51 in Tsilivi
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pallas Hotel
Plaza Pallas Hotel
#21 of 51 in Tsilivi
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Christy's Beach Villas
Christy's Beach Villas
#26 of 51 in Tsilivi
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom & John Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom & John Center

Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Tsilivi
Price Range: $43 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tom & John Center 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tom & John Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tom & John Hotel Tsilivi
Tom And John Center
Tom & John Center Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing