We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”
Review of Amarylis Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tsilivi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amarylis Hotel
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed at the amarylis July 2014, we returned to tsivili as we were there last year but stayed at the Mavrikos but this has now gone all inclusive so went to amarylis after friends recommended it and reading the reviews. We were not disappointed and only wish we had gone there the year before. I have never met such friendly people Anna, Nikos and her 2 sons Joseph and Louis are the best, we felt at home for the whole 2 weeks we were there. They are so friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The food round Anna's pool bar is excellent and the English breakfast is lovely and good value for money. We loved it so much we have booked to go back next year. We met loads of friendly people staying here and will be meeting up with some next year. We also visited people we met last year in some of the many bars here and we were remembered by them all. Michael Jackson tribute is a must at Jokers he is amazing. The turtle trip is also a must we did it last year as well and both time saw the turtles. The rooms are very basic but kept spotless. Clean towels and sheets every other day. Free wi if round the pool and most of the bars. Had to get the air conditioning on the 2nd week and couldn't sleep was so hot and was 45 euros for the week which I thought was a bit expensive but was worth it for the sleep. We had no problems with noise from the bar as some of the previous reviews have said. All in all we had a fantastic holiday and can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sue_caffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    62
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
77
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

If your looking for a typical English holiday this is not the place to be. The hotel is beautiful but don't get me wrong it's Not your five star hotel in Dubai. I've been coming here for the past nine year so I'm speaking from experience. Most people find it's expensive here but that's only because they're eating and drinking imported English goods, stick to what is local and your guaranteed to have the best time. All complaints on here are bias, people complain about the most irrelevant things. The owners of both the pool bar and hotel make sure everyone is so happy, you couldn't ask to be more welcomed here. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chloe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I really don't know what all the fuss is all about!

We holiday four or five times a year and stay in all levels of accommodation.

Yes Greek studios can be small
Yes they can be basic
Yes the bathrooms have handheld showers and often no shower trays.

Given all of the above, you will find that the Amarylis to be extremely clean and the hotel staff couldn't be more obliging, We asked for a room on the 3rd floor as we had be allocated the ground floor, we asked for extra pillows etc etc. all of our request were met with no hassles.

People seem to mention the noise from the pool bar, personally we never found it to be overwhelming or intrusive. Granted there are ground floor rooms right next to the bar and i can imagine that the noise here is more intrusive.

The Pool bar is run by Anna and her family and each one of them go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay ( Check out Anna's Beef Stifado its to die for)

My tip would be to ask for rooms in the back block on the right hand side of the pool bar.
we had room 38 on the top floor (view form our balcony attached)

Room Tip: My tip would be to ask for rooms in the back block on the right hand side of the pool bar. we had r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brin710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just returned from a 7 night stay at the Amarylis. Having re-read some of the earlier reviews, I think that there are different standards of accommodation here. We stayed in the apartments/studios on the right hand side of the pool (as you face the pool bar). This block consisted of 15 units, we were given No.15 which was on the top floor after two flights of stairs. As it was so hot, we asked for the air-con; the cost of 50 euros/week was very high but felt that we had no option but to pay it as it was unbearable in the room. Unfortunately the air con unit was only in 1 bedroom and not all of the apartment. On the first day we had only been left large towels (no hand towels or shower mat). On the third day, we went to reception to ask for clean towels (large and small) and a shower mat as the bathroom floor was dangerously slippy when leaving the shower. Later on we had to ask the maid for toilet roll. The sheets were not changed, just folded for reuse. We found it odd that the maids helped themselves to our carrier bags and used them in the bathroom bin. We paid £777 for the week here for two people including flights and feel that the standards even for Greece were not good. If you wanted to use the "self catering" facilities, you'd be hard pressed to cook, as there was a kettle, toaster, toastie machine, 1 milk pan and a large pan, plates etc, a 2 ring hob. No microwave or oven.
The apartment consisted of two bedrooms and a bathroom. The main bedroom had a double bed also contained the kitchen area. The second bedroom containing 2 single beds had all the wardrobe space and led off to the bathroom. We also had two furnished balconies. Surprisingly there was a hairdryer in the second bedroom,
We didn't find noise a problem at night and always seemed to be plenty of sunbeds, although we chose to use other pools. We ate a snack in the pool bar on our first day and had a drink there at night but as we got two glass of white wine, 1 chilled and the other warm,(would have preferred both chilled) for 5 euros we decided not to go again. It is in a good location with lots of shops and restaurants close by and not too far to walk to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missussippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great holiday, great staff and lovely pool bar as most people agree, Anna and her family are really friendly. I do agree that the noise can be intrusive and our room was very small and very basic but kept very clean, great location and met some lovely people.
Wouldn't recommend for children, pool very deep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyPhil14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsteignton
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just got back from staying at Amarylis and I loved every minute of it.
We arrived quite early and our room wasn't quite ready but a quick drink in the pool bar and we were good to go.
The room (number 38) was really quite big and although basic - had a better equipped kitchen that a lot of places we have previously stayed in.
The room was quiet so we got a goon nights sleep (although the maids were really noisy very early on change over days)
The maid really cleaned the rooms well every day and we had regular linen changes.
The apartments are well situated in the middle of town with the beach just a short walk away.
We stopped for a drink with Lewis in Annas pool bar at the end of most nights out and found him to be very friendly and entertaining.
Personally I couldn't really fault my stay here and I would happily come back again.

Room Tip: top level rooms at the end of the corridor are very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebrisDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic holiday, rooms were basic but kept very clean. Best part was Annas pool and bar. Anna, Nikos, Joseph & Lewis made us so welcome and go out of their way to help people (knee massages with home brew !) The food is fantastic and the pool perfect. No surprise that people go back year after year. Met some lovely people Stan &Molly you are legends !!! We hope to see you all next year, same time same place x

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilf1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
5.1 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alamis Apartments
Alamis Apartments
#26 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Petros Hotel
Petros Hotel
#20 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anetis Hotel
Anetis Hotel
#28 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#19 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#34 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarylis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarylis Hotel

Property: Amarylis Hotel
Address: Main Road, Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tsilivi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
#20 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Amarylis Hotel Tsilivi
Amarylis Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing