We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the friendliest, but clean and good location”
Review of Alamis Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alamis Apartments
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the friendliest, but clean and good location”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My Boyfriend and I stayed at the Alamis in Room 41, and were very pleased with the room. We were on the top floor, and had a huge balcony. It had been newly furnished and decorated. The cooking facilities were good, and we had everything we needed to cook basic meals. The room was very clean,and the cleaners came to change the towels and bedding every 2 days. We weren't expecting a shower mounted on the wall, and that was just as well because it was the usual hand held shower head, which seems to be the norm in Greece.

However, we did feel sorry for some of the guests, as their rooms were in a very unfortunate position. One in particular on the ground floor had the shop alley wall as one of their room walls, and their (tiny) balcony was adjacent to the stairway leading up to the other rooms, so not only did they have no privacy, but were subject to the noise of other holiday makers returning of an evening three sheets to the wind! Other rooms in the main block overlooking the pool looked equally poor. We were extremely lucky to be in a new block on the top floor.

Unless you are willing to fork out for air-con, I would advise taking a mosquito net,as you will need to keep the windows open, and will get eaten alive! We also used some incense coils on the balcony, which were inexpensive.

We did not frequent the pool because it was by the road, and not very secluded, plus sun loungers were packed like sardines, and we prefer our privacy.

The staff were very unfriendly, and I only got a grunt from the owner when I greeted him in the morning (don't bother!). However I wouldn't let this put you off staying here.

That said, the Alamis is in a good location, and there is a fantastic resurant nearby called the Menir, which had the best food, and the most friendliest staff. From the appartment it is easy to get away from the pounding music off the 'main drag' which we found utterly foul, and totally un-greek, and avoided at all costs.

We would highly recomend renting a car, and checking out the Island. We shopped around, and actually Olympic car rental was the best. Make sure you get good insurance, the roads are dicey when you get into the mountains.

So in summary; the Alamis does the job, it's a place to crash, and it's clean. We got a cheap holiday with Olympic, and this was better than what were were expecting. It's pot luck which room you will be allocated, but the Alamis does have some great rooms in the new blocks.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phantom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    125
    46
    19
    28
See reviews for
121
141
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Great Location short walk to the beach and to the main drag
Room clean & kept clean for the full 14 days maids great
Pool area also kept clean
Snacks / breakfast available and tasty

Great place to stay would certainly go back

Room Tip: Try for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cleveley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have stayed at the Alamis for the last 5 years and have had a great time every year.

Rooms.... They are basic with a small hob, fridge and kettle and just enough knifes and forks for the amount of people staying in the room. Bins are emptied every day and towels are changed every 2 to 3 days. Beds are changed every 2 to 3 days. The apartments are made up of 3 blocks with the ones at the front of the hotel being the newest.

The small studio apartments at the back are older and smaller and not as nicely decorated. The showers are at waist height and you have to hold the shower head to wash hair and the top of your body, but this is pretty standard in Greece.

If you book with Olympic try to get a 2 bed or 1 bed apartment with an inland view (these are all the ones at the front) you have the choice to pick your room and there is usually little price difference between these and the studio's. 2 bed apartments are very nice with 2 balconies and spacious rooms. Air-con is 60 euros for 2 weeks and a safe is 20 euros a week.

Staff... The staff are very helpful, although their English is not brilliant so they can sometimes come across as a bit unfriendly - I can assure you this is not the case and they are happy to provide anything you need and help with phone calls etc. If you need an iron, extra pillows etc just ask and one will be sent to your room right away.

Food and Bars... There is a small bar at the pool which serves drinks and food all day. There is a covered area with a pool table and TV just in case you really need to catch up with the football/Eastenders. Food is ok, usual stuff, breakfast 4 euros, toasted sandwiches 2 euro's, chips 1.80 euros. Mythos is 2.50 euros a bottle and 50 cents for water. Ice cream for the kids and some cocktails for the big kids. The bar is pretty quite at night, but once a week they have a Greek night with BBQ and dancing.

Location.... perfect! The Alamis is situated at the Planos end of Tsilivi and if you come out of the apartments and turn right its a 5 min walk to the beach, turn left and its a 2 min walk to bars, shops and restaurants. A further 10 mins walk along the street will take you to the centre of Tsilivi, although its quicker to walk along the beach half way and turn up right to more shops and bars.

Eating out... After sampling the majority of restaurants and bars, here's our thoughts on the best ones.

Jolly Roger, next door to Alamis is a family friendly bar run by a great guy called Kosta, he will make you feel like a regular after 5 mins. He also serves the cheapest beer in Tsilivi 2 euros for a big bottle of Mythos and has happy hour all night on cocktails with BOGOF for 5.50 euros.

The Two Brothers is great for a good cheesy night out, singing loudly and dancing in the street, suits all ages.

Molly Malones is a good bar for the youg at heart and at midnight they shut the doors and you can dance until dawn. All music is turned down at midnight at every bar, so this is the place to go if you want to carry on into the early hours.

Th Ark bar is good for a late drink and a nice atmosphere, they also have a creperie attached, so if you get those 'after beer munchies' they can do sweet and savory and both are very nice.

Georgios is a great place to eat (opposite the Ark bar) one of the best and the meals are very large... I have never yet managed to eat a starter and a whole meal, but well worth a visit.

Dyonisis is a very good, cheap place to eat, come out of the Alamis turn right the first right the restaurant is round the back. It get very busy if you go early, but stroll along about 8.30 to 9 and you should get a table. He has specials of the day and these are usually around 6 to 7 euros.

Popeyes is lovely, great friendly staff and good food at reasonable rates. The Menir is very nice too just turn right from the Alamis and walk towards beach and the restaurant is on the right.. nice sea views.

The Alexander Beach Party, Friday nights.... very good for up to date music and dancing to dawn. Mixed age group but most suited to 20 plus or like us oldies that just cant quite give up our youth yet!

Last place I love... The Boomerang Bar on the beach, turn right out of the Alamis and its on the sea front. Great food with lovely views and although not traditional Greek food, they do the best Pizzas I have ever had. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

Things to do.... A must is the Levante Speedboat trip to the Blue caves and Shipwreck beach. www.zantelevante.com It can be hard to find Spiros the captain, but ask the guys at the Boomerang and they will call him and book you on the trip, or book online before you go. The cost is £40 euros each, but well worth the extra money. Captain Spiros is lovely, he lets all the kids and women drive the boat and his handling of the speedboat is second to none.

Around the island trip will cost 20 euros but be prepared!!! This trip is 9 hours long and the boats are often packed to capacity. After you have looked at rocks for 5 hours it becomes a little boring.

Tsilivi water park....this only opened last year but is a very nice place for kids and adults 14 euros per adult and 8 for kids and food is included in the ticket price. Great play area for the little ones and a lovely pool with Jacuzzi for us big ones.

Horse riding... for a nice trek around the olive groves and views over Tsilivi, hire a horse for an hour, they cater for all abilities... but the saddles are hard, you need some junk in your trunk :-)

The beach is safe for kids and has water sports including jet skis and banana rides. 6 euros 2 sun beds and umbrella and cafes and bars along the front.

All in all Tsilivi is a lovely place and a typical European destination, usual gift shops, bars and restaurants but something for every one. If you want traditional Greece, try Kefaloni but if you want some good food, fun nights and lazy days at the beach or pool Tsilivi is the place to be.

Room Tip: ask for rooms that are in the 100, 200 block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Soulcitysoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My husband my brother inlaw and my 2 aunts are just back from a lovely time. The Alamis was the best place we have stayed in over the last 5 yrs it is spotless the breakfast brill the staff and magement very good we will be back for longer for next yr.

Many Thanks to everyone
Mary Gerry Tony Rita and Laura

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinUna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

My girlfriend and I booked a last minute holiday with Going Places Travel and stayed at the Alamis Apartments. We asked for a room overlooking the gardens because the pictures on the website looked very nice, but in truth, the gardens are small and untidy and surrounded by the rest of the old apartment block. Our apartment was number 10 in block C which appeared to be one of the old apartments. The kitchen area was about 4ft x 2ft with a sloping ceilling at one end because there is a staircase above it, Handy if you are a midget, beacause you won't bang your head on the ceilling when getting something from the fridge which is at that end of the kitchen. The kitchen is equipped with an electric hob with with one ring about 8 inches diameter and one ring about 4 inches diameter, kettle, toaster and a large frying pan and a very large saucepan.The kitchen sink didn't have a hot water tap, so we had to boil a kettle to wash up the dishes after cooking. The kettle didn't work, but was replace with one that didn't switch off when it came to the boil. The sheets were clean, but the top cover was stained and looked liked it had not been washed. The bathroom was tiny and the shower was designed for skinny people. We found that when you showered, the shower curtain just clinged to your body. The walls are thin, we could hear people laughing two doors away from us. We did ask to be moved but were told that there was nothing else available. We had paid for 7 nights but only stayed for 5 after finding somewhere else on the island of a better standard.

Room Tip: Steer clear of the Alamis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajharris24746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed for a week at these apartments. Nice clean pool area with reasonable snacks, rooms ok but bathrooms basic, cleaned rooms most days, shower v tiny, 5 mins to the beach, turn left at the bottom of the road and head towards hotel alexander for best beach. sunbeds 6 Euros for 2 beds and parasol. turn right and right again out of apartments to find a traditional greek taverna serving v reasonable food and always lots of it, half carafe house wine 3 Euros.
Turn left out of apartments and at the top of the street on the right is a fantastic cocktail bar - Olly makes the best cocktails on the island and Vicky will ensure you get a free shot, however if you are wine drinkers like us, try the rose only 2 Euros and very nice too!

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Me and my partner stayed in the Alamis Appt back in Oct 2009. I was bought as a last min deal on recommendation through the travel agent - to whom we specifially advised that we liked to experience the culture of the country we travel to and that we cannot stand brits abroad holidays.
On arrival we realised that this would not be the idealic location we were expecting. There was only 1 receptionist at the desk who had to serve a coach full of guests one at a time - after a long journey, this was not acceptable,
We were shown to our room.......or 'pit' to politely put it. The kitchenette that we were supposed to be able to prepare and EAT food at was revolting. Poorly equipped and covered in black mould. The indoor of the fridge was covered in black mould and all the handles and seal was broken. There was 2 forks, 1 knife and 2 plastic plates. The sink looked as though it had not seen a scrubber in years, let alone a dash of bleach.
The bathroom needed a revamp. The shower mat was removd from the shower cubicle only to discover that the entire underside was covered again in black mould. We reported this to the unhelpful hotel staff who removed the matt and after half an hour came back to the room with a newly bought shower matt from the next door shop!!!
The room was hot and stuffy - but we could not sleep with the balcony doors open for love nor money for the horrendous music played by the pool bar/next door bar from early in the morning to late at night.
The pool and pool bar were dirty and poorly kept. After my third 'club sandwich' of the holiday due to lack of choice of other food - I was desp to come home.
The resort was horrific. Our first night was spent searching for a restaurant that served something other than british muck - 'chip butties' DO NOT appeal while I am abroad. The whole resort was catered for people who wish to get away from England but to experience a noisy/booze filled/tacky England in the sun. We witnessed the local entertainment of an ENGLISH man dressing up as ELVIS and travelling to the front of the bar in the back of a 4x4 with sparklers going off. Its was revolting.
We ate in an indian restaurant for 2 of our nights for lack if any other descent food in the area. WE WERE IN GREECE!!!
Don't get me wrong, but I love a night out but we found ourselves in bed for approx 11pm most nights as there was nothing else to do or see without drinking ourselves into a heap and passing out.
The beach we found at the end of our road was small (approx 5ft depth), pebbly and COVERED in sun loungers. We did revisit here again.
The only special aspects of our 'holiday' were when we left the resort and took a cruise to smugglers cove and hired a car to travel the entire island....which IS BEAUTIFUL.
If you wish to experience Greece - I suggest you travel to Greece and leave Zante to people who wish to travel 2 hours oN a plane for a hot, tacky 'England'.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paradiseseeker84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.3 mi away
Callinica Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#26 of 51 in Tsilivi
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anetis Hotel
Anetis Hotel
#30 of 51 in Tsilivi
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andreolas Luxury Suites
Andreolas Luxury Suites
#29 of 51 in Tsilivi
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamis Apartments

Property: Alamis Apartments
Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5km distance from the town of Zakynthos, in the region of Planos village and very near to the beautiful beach of Tsilivi, you will find Alamis apartments. Alamis apartments consist of three separate buildings, designed in an almost classical style and surrounded by lovely gardens scattered with palm trees, creating a quiet and ideal place for your vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alamis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamis Apartments Tsilivi
Alamis Apartments Hotel Tsilivi
Alamis Apartments Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing