We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TUI Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TUI Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have just returned from the Caravel Hotel and having read some recent reviews were a little apprehensive before going but had a very nice stay. The hotel is in a lovely location by the beach and we enjoyed sitting out at night with a drink by the sea listening to the waves. The beach itself is a little stony in places but there is some nice spots to snorkel and if you walk a little further round there is a sandy beach where you can access the water easily and swim in the crystal clear water. As previously mentioned, even as an all-inclusive guest you have to pay 6 Euros to use the sun-loungers on the beach, however we felt this was worthwhile as we personally prefer the beach to the poolside (where there is a lack of sun-loungers and you will have to get up very early to get one!). The rooms are slightly dated, but in our opinion perfectly adequate (with flat-screen TVs) and cleaned daily to a good standard. The only problem we had was that the air-con is only free in July & August and as our stay extended into the first 3 days in September the air-con control was removed from our room on the 1st September so we spent the last 3 nights of our holiday very warm at night and in hindsight should have paid for the last 3 nights air-con so we got a better nights sleep as it is still very hot in September. You will also have to pay an additional 25 Euros if you wish to use the safe in the room, which we again personally felt was worth the extra expense for security. This was our first experience of AI and the food and wine were very nice in the hotel restuarant with a good selection of food which was always hot. We did choose to eat out on our last night for a change and went to the Olde Vineyard Restuarant next to the hotel which we would recommend - lovely food, very drinkable house-wine and lovely sea-views from the restuarant. Regarding the staff, a special mention for Maria who always greeted you with a smile at night when entering the restuarant for dinner and gave it her all with the entertainment and Andreas the waiter who worked non-stop, yet was always smiling and making the guests laugh. Also a big thank you to Jenny on Reception, we had requested a late check-out as we were not getting picked up until 2:30am the following morning and had to vacate our room by 11:00am. The hotel were happy to arrange this (for an additional 60 Euros), however we had to move room as our room was required for new guests arriving and my husband accidentally left his wedding ring in the safe. Jenny was very helpful in getting the safe searched and the wedding ring returned to him so a big thank you again! We do not generally return to the same place twice as there is so much of the world we want to visit, but Zakynthos is a beautiful island, and if we were to return would happily stay at the Hotel Caravel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarillaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill A K, Owner at TUI Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Marilla H.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a nice review, about our hotel.
Thank you also for making clear that our food is served hot in the buffet and that it had a good selection to please everybody. Some guests don’t seem to have the same opinion….
All our staff is grateful for your nice words about them.
We are happy to know, that if you ever return to Zakythos, you will choose us to stay with

Best regards
Bill A. Kyres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    171
    91
    57
    37
See reviews for
180
243
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel's location on a sandy beach with the crystal clear multi-coloured blue-turqoise sea, (which is lovely to look at, to hear and to swim in), the beautiful green foothill surroundings, the very nicely landscaped large gardens, the spacious and elegantly decorated lobby, restaurant, and rooms, create a relaxed atmosphere, relieving all stress. The efficient, courteous and pleasant staff offer a flawless service, under the alert hands-on supervision of the Hotel's President, Mr Theodosios Kyres and its Vice President, Mr Basil Kyres, and also of its Manager, Mr Andreas Mylonas, and make you feel special and accommodate all your holiday needs. The versatile daytime and evening entertainment program is very enjoyable thanks to skilful and charming Maria. The cuisine is superb, alternating between traditional to modern and imaginative Greek, Italian, French, and Far East Asian most delicious dishes and sweets Every ample buffet meal is a feast for one's eyes and pallet, under the immaculate direction of Chef Mr Thomas Lazanas, who is a great asset to this Hotel and makes you remember that cooking is both an art and an important element of civilization. Very importantly, staying at this hotel is most enjoyable not only for families and couples, but also for single young men and women, who can work out in the fully equipped gym, engage in many sports activities such as water polo, beach volley, swimming and mini golf, and also socialise and meet interesting new people from various countries, or even get married ! (two most charming wedding ceremonies - the sea in the background - took place during my stay in this hotel). One minor reservation on my part: I heard that from next year onwards all guests will be exclusively on "all inclusive deals". This is really a shame, because some of us do not enjoy drinking much, and we would also like to spend enough time outside the hotel, in order to relish also some other most beautiful sandy beaches of Zante island, such as "Gerakas" beach (where the famous careta careta sea turtles lay their eggs), and also do a little sightseeing, i.e. eat out some times. In brief, my holidays in this hotel bordered on perfection, although I expect them to be even better next summer, when I go back to Caravel Hotel Zante.

Room Tip: Rooms in smaller buildings located near the street are not as quiet as the rest (the hotel consists...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank THEODORE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill A K, Owner at TUI Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Mr. Theodore B.
It is a great honor, for us to receive such an excellent review from a professor like you.
It is always a pleasure to have you in our hotel.
Do not worry at all about next year, it will only get better.

So, until next year stay well
Best regards
Bill A. Kyres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Fristly let me say that I'm not sure what people expect from a hotel... please read between the lines of some reviews and make up your own mind... I've stayed in lots of AI hotels around the globe and this is up there with the best... particularly for food.

Anyway, here's how we found the Caravel...

I travelled with my 77 year old mother (I’m 39) who whilst can get about fairly well, having had two knee replacements in as many years, we wanted somewhere fairly flat and close to shops and bars - we weren't disappointed. There are many bars, restaurants, shops and places to book trips right outside the hotel grounds. There's also a local bus stop about five minutes walk away which takes you to Zante Town, Laganas and beyond from as little as 1.60 Euro's each.

We paid for a private taxi transfer, which you can pick up directly at the door of the airport for around 20 Euro's to Tsilivi. Well worth it - from the plane touching down, to being checked in to our room at the Caravel was exactly 40 minutes... who can fault that...?!

The rooms were a good size, we had room 123 on the first floor overlooking the children's play area, which had a side sea view - well worth paying the extra, if only to guarantee that you weren't just overlooking the entrance / car park. The rooms are a little dated, but security was good and we paid an extra 25 Euro's to have a safe (a bit expensive, but worth the piece of mind). You weren't able to sit on the balcony with the air conditioning switched on inside as the unit was on the balcony itself and blasted out hot air... My only real bug bear was the beds - now I like a hard bed, but these really were extremely hard - we put the two winter fleece blankets out of the cupboard under the bottom sheets to try to give a little more comfort...!

Reception staff were very efficient and friendly. Jenny booked a two hour horse ride for me - I told her what I wanted and she sorted everything, leaving a lovely letter through the door explaining where to meet, times etc.

Now I've stayed in a fair amount of AI hotels, in many different places, Europe, Egypt, Caribbean and I have to say that the food at the Caravel has to be the best. Although it's only a small to medium sized hotel, the choices of dishes and quality of food was next to none. WELL DONE...

A big thanks to Ervin on the bar, Sergio - fitness guy and Pierre and his team in the restaurant - you're all doing a great job. My only negative on any of the staff was the guy who served most days on the bar next to the main pool - never once did his face break into a smile - never once did he pass any pleasantries with you when ordering. One day I got there just after he'd stopped serving, but rather than simply let me know this he kept me waiting until he'd cashed up his till - then walked over to me and simply stated "closed".

We stayed the first week in July and by the end of our week the hotel was certainly filling up with more guests - I guess therefore more sunbeds around the pool wouldn't go amiss. This is the first AI hotel I've been to that doesn't offer towels (albeit with a refundable deposit) free of charge or sunbeds on the beach (especially when it's located directly on the beach)... a shame really as this really lets it down in this area.

I can understand why this hotel seems to have reviews from so many return visitors... I'll certainly be recommending it to my friends and family (I'm not one to return to the same resort twice, let alone the same hotel... the world's simply too big!).

A big thank you Caravel - we both had a great vacation we won't forget, with a few tweaks you'd be perfect... τέλεια - Ευχαριστούμε.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a sea view - you won't be dissappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dianeuk111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill A K, Owner at TUI Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear dianeuk 111,
We are very grateful for your “excellent” review.
We are always very happy when guests appreciate our hotel and service and don’t unimportant things ruin their holidays and good spirit.
Recommending us to your friends and family is a big honor. Thank you!!

Best regards
Bill A. Kyres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were very pleased with the choice of hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is fine. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The whole complex is very well maintained. Only, there are not enough beds in the hotel sector. Some of the beds, which are available are already broken. Also the specification of the second pool is misleading. This pool is outside the hotel and is open to the public, so you have to pay for the beds there. On the whole a very nice vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erika_suchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill A K, Owner at TUI Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear erika_suchy,
It was a great honor to have you as a guest in our hotel.
Thank you very much for your great review.

Hope to see you again one day
Best regards
Bill A.Kyres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

A very nice cosy hotel with perfect location (close to the airport, close to the town, right on the sea shore....), amicable staff, wonderful sea, decent customers. If you want to enjoy your holiday - follow our example and come to Caravel. This August we stayed there (it was our second visit to Caravel) for three weeks and I wished I could stay there for a couple of months more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill A K, Owner at TUI Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Olga,
Thank you very much for visiting us again this year.
It was once again a great pleasure to have you and your family here with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays so much, that you would like to stay for a couple of months longer, who knows, maybe next year.
As for now have a nice winter in Moscow and see you again next year.

Best regards
Bill A. Kyres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just back from a 10-day stay in Caravel Zante with a friend and my 16-year old son.
Indeed, family room is just a double bedroom with additional bed wich was much too small for my 1m80 tall son. But this is an issue from the travel agency and not from the hotel, they did their utmost best to find an appropiate solution.
Staff super friendly, restaurant more than OK, well organized, choice enough.very nice poolbar, swimming pool OK, beach very nice.
The only thing I hate is that towels are put on the sunbeds very early in the morning, but again, this is a tourist issue and not a hotel issue. Maybe more sunbeds would be recommended.
The location of the hotel is unique, I went already several times to Greece on different islands, but this location was the best, immediately at the beach.
Given a little tip from time to time to the friendly staff makes your holidays for sure better, the deserve it.
Greatings from Belgium.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pascale31082012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill A K, Owner at TUI Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear pascale31082012,
After all we are very happy that we managed for you and your family to have an unforgettable stay with us. Thank you for your “excellent’ review.
As far for next year we will try to arrange everything as we have already planned it.

See you next summer
Best regards
Bill A. Kyres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just returned from Caravel hotel best thing about holiday was weather and the air con in room.Beds in room only made twice on arrival and on departure sheets otherwise left at bottom of bed folded or on top of suitcases Food in canteen not restauraunt not bad but repetitive only time maitre d smiled was when we paid 55euros for birthday cake!Snack bar staff absolutely as miserable as sin only person polite was young lady in the evening there.Sergio Ervin Angela Nikos and lovely lady who took drinks order best thing about hotel .Pool areas floors not clean always dusty and tiles were missing from bottom of larger pool.Unless you got to pool at 6.30 you couldnt get a bed Only AI I ve stayed in that didnt provide towels and snack bar closed at lunch time so you had to leave pool area to go into canteen for lunch.Disappointed overall with facilities not worth the monety we paid

Room Tip: ask for full sea view 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill A K, Owner at TUI Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Brian g.
We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but
1) We have guests which are paying for a full sea view room, so we could not provide them to you for free
2) You did not allow the maids to clean your room every day, they actually complained about the condition of your room.
3) It is an insult to us and to our guests, who appreciate and love our restaurant to call it a canteen, maybe it did not suit you but most of our 4 star hotel guests are very happy and return sometimes only for our food.
4) In all our brochures you will find the information that the Snack Bar serves the AI guests at the times when the restaurant is closed. Anyway this misunderstanding will not exist next year since we will be ONLY AI.

Hope the next hotel you will book for your vacation, will suit you more
Regards
Bill A. Kyres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
0.6 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
1.1 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#24 of 49 in Tsilivi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Andreolas Luxury Suites
Andreolas Luxury Suites
#21 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
6.4 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa

Property: TUI Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
Address: Tsilivi, Tsilivi 29100, Greece (Formerly Caravel Hotel Zante)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tsilivi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tsilivi
#23 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the fully renovated hotel in Zakynthos Caravel Zante, located on the beautiful sandy beach of Tsilivi, just 6 km from the city center. Ideal location and destination for relaxing accommodation in Zakynthos, for families, couples and groups. Facilities and staff in our hotel in Zakynthos, Caravel Zante, are waiting to serve you, at the best possible way, to offer you every luxury and make you feel at home. In an idyllic location overlooking the blue Ionian Sea, our hotel, one of the best hotels in Zakynthos, awaits you with four star facilities to accommodate you and guarantee you an unforgettable holiday in a friendly, family atmosphere and amenities befitting only to customers of Caravel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your TUI Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Tsilivi
Caravel Hotel Zante
Hotel Caravel Zante
TUI Sensimar Caravel Resort And Spa Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing