We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandy Maria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsilivi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandy Maria
Ranked #16 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Tsilivi
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

This place is truly something from holidays from hell. I don't recommend it to anyone other the drunkards that give it a high review.

We stayed one night. Then left to find somewhere else. That's how bad it is. rooms are vile. Dirty and completely sparse. The blankets are stained, as are the pillows (don't remove the cases, be warned).

The pool side bar is near all of the rooms so when you get a bunch of drunks drinking until 2 in the morning, all you can hear is them. Not the place to stay if you actually want to sleep at night!

The equipment in the room is appalling. The room sleeps 4 people. There was 2 cups and 2 glasses. The cooking equipment is just as bad; a rusty small frying pan and a large saucepan. There's a 2 ring hob. That's your lot.

The staff were friendly until we said we wanted to leave. Their priority is the drunk idiots because that's where they make their money, never mind the young families etc.

This place is a disgrace and we will be complaining to the holiday company when we get home.

Disgusting

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank strawbkisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    59
    19
    29
    51
See reviews for
96
98
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed at Sandy Maria from 15th to 29th August 2014. We had two studios my wife & i in one (room 602) and my two sons in the other (Room 603). Both studios were very basic and we have been self catering in Greece for 8-9 years now and we have we have stayed in better accomodation for the price, Toilet seat was broken in one room and took over a week to repair (seat was put back on with self adhesive sticky pads) which came off again, they were basic but were adequate. The studios need updating even for a budget accomodation they just feel "tired". The pool area is clean, my only gripe was quite a few sunbeds were broken. The bar was ok, served reasonable snacks and drinks. The reviews regarding bed linin is correct, we had holes in our sheets but they were clean, and they were changed a couple of times during our stay. i dont think our room was mopped/celaned during our stay as we found a reciept on the floor which was a month old!.Tsilivi is a 10 minute walk and the beack is about 15 min walk which if you have children in the heat is a bit far. If you are on a very tight budget the Sandy Maria is ok, Sandy and Yannis were fine and they do work very hard i think one girl cleaning and changing linen simply is not enough she can only do so much on her own. Overall ok for budget accomodation.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool and all rooms are quiet, i cant comment on other rooms but 602 & 603 wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisJR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed at Sandy Maria from 13-27August 2014.

We had a studio apartment which was basic but adequate. We didn't pay for 5* so we didn't go expecting it unlike some people who have reviewed this accommodation. Our only gripe would be that teh bed linen was only changed twice during our stay. I change it more than this at home and would have expected every 2-3 days in a hot country.

The self catering facilities were typically Greek and limited. Having anticipated this we took our own travel kettle. I managed to cook a couple of nights in the room and ate out the rest.

The pool area is always clean and plenty of sunbeds. The bar is also pleasant if you want a drink or light snack.

There is a 10 minute walk into Tsilivi town centre and to the beach which we liked.

The highlight for us was teh Greek night on Monday. If you stay here this is a must. It is far better than any other Greek night we have been to.

We found the owners Sandy and Yannis to be very friendly and approachable,.

Unlike other reviewers on this site we went with a positive attitude, we were on holiday and going to enjoy it. If you go here determined to find fault, you will find it and be miserable for your holiday. I would reccommend Sandy Maria to friends and family, it is adequate for what you pay.

Room Tip: We had room 604 which was ok. On first floor overlooking the pool. All rooms overlook the pool and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shellebelle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Seriously give these guys a break! For a young couple they work so hard and are there on hand from 8.30 in the morning til late at night. Yes the rooms are basic but you get what you pay for, if you want 5* then pay for it! Having been going to Tsilivi for over 15 years I can honestly say that this isn't the worse I have stayed in! Pool area is lovely and clean, our room was always of a clean standard. At the end of the day the only complaint I have is that the shower wasn't attached to the wall. Was also there when the hot water was off but was approached by Yanni who explained the situation and was sorted the following day. I personally will definitely be returning here again as the atmosphere at the Sandy Maria played a big part in our two week holiday to the beautiful Tsilivi!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharona201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and had thoroughly enjoyable stay.
Our room was basic but clean. If you want to cook a full meal every night this isn't the place for you as the kitchenette is basic but you're on holiday you should be cooking!
The pool is lovely and you're a 10 minute walk from town and the beach.
Sandy and Yannis are lovely and work like Trojans all day everyday.
The hot water broke while we were there but even though it was a bank holiday they managed to get the part to fix the next day so no drama.
A/C is €5 per day and it works really well and the safety deposit box is €15 for the week.
Breakfast is simply toast, coffee and juice, but you can upgrade to a cooked breakfast if you want to.
There is a weekly Greek night and occasional karaoke.
To sum up its not the Ritz but is a great little apartment with friendly owners.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Having travelled the world this is the first review I have ever felt I have needed to do. Hopefully you see sense after reading and avoid booking a holiday at the Sandy Maria. 

We arrived to be told that there were no double beds (which we requested). We were instructed to push the 2 singles together which wasn,t a problem till we saw the beds. They had a wooden frame which meant that the 2 mattresses did not meet. This resulted in a 2 inch gap between the beds, so it was like sleeping in 2 singles all week. Not only this but out beds were uncomfortable (we could feel springs) and the pillows were disgusting when we removed the pillow cases (brown and yellow stains? The sheets also had cigarette burns in.

We had no hot water to shower for 2 days. The shower pressure was the weakest I have ever seen. The shower had no shower curtain which meant when the shower was used the whole bathroom was wet. The bathroom would take 7/8 hours to dry and left a dirty residue. This then got walked into the rest of the bedroom. The bathroom was also very slippy due to there being no mat and guests being banned from putting towels on the floor. 

Rooms are cleaned every 3 days, this I consider to be poor service. But this is possibly due to there only being 1 cleaner who has the responsibility of 35 rooms. 

The toilet kept breaking and wouldnt flush. When the hoteliers were informed they made it seem like we were at fault. 

We booked for self catering and the utensils provided to cook etc were substandard. Rusty pans, no kettle etc. 

I felt the pool snack bar was much more expensive than the bars in town. I.e. €2.20 for a soft drink compared to €1.50 in tsvilli. I felt that all the hoteliers were interested in were making money. 

The few positives were that The pool was nice, there were more than enough loungers and it was quiet.

but this does not come close to outweighing the negatives. The hoteliers are only interested in guests that spend money at the bar. Oh and watching sky sports at the snack bar is a no no as it keeps freezing. 

If you book a stay here you are mad unless you have a lack of self respect, dont mind some of the inadequacies mentioned above or are on a super budget. Lee

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lee1allstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tsilivi hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The last review I read saying Sandy Maria was terrible was completely true the whole apartment was filthy in thirty years of traveling to Greece this was the most basic of places toilet wouldn't flush when reported to owner he was very rude no one bit interested . There was not hot water the shower was a joke. The furniture was falling to bits and balcony table and chairs were dirty and unsafe to sit on. self catering was out of the question did not want to make a three course meal just a cup of tea and toast in the morning but there are no kettles in any of the rooms when I requested one the owner was rude once again 2 knifes 2 forks 2 spoons and 2 very dirty cups in filthy cupboard .The owner is only polite to guests that stand at his bar every night getting drunk with him hence very noisy as all rooms face pool and bar area .It is situated at least a 15 mins walk from beach and town area with not a bar or supermarket close to hand.Would never recommend these apartments to anyone infact stay well away from them

Room Tip: all rooms face pool and bar area very noisy at night no kettle in room and no hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.3 mi away
Petros Hotel
Petros Hotel
#20 of 49 in Tsilivi
349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#10 of 49 in Tsilivi
227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Callinica Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#8 of 49 in Tsilivi
366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#34 of 49 in Tsilivi
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Maria

Property: Sandy Maria
Address: Tsilivi, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Maria 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Sandy Maria Hotel Tsilivi
Sandy Maria Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing