We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay l”
Review of Sandy Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Maria
Ranked #18 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Tsilivi
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay l”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the sandy maria for 2 weeks in July, with our two year old son. Firstly I would like to say what great hosts Sandy and Yannis were, nothing to much trouble for them.
The hotel itself is lovely but the rooms just needs a little updating but were more than suitable for our stay.

The hotel is a 10 minute stroll to the main bars/restaurants which suited us as we prefer not to be in the hustle and bustle. Excellent clean pool and bar area with free wifi. The Monday n BBQ/Greek night is a must with both Sandy and Yannis joining in the fun.

We stayed in room 504 and did have a few ants in our room around the sink area but you are surrounded by fields so to be expected, yes the lovely cockerel does like to wake you up at 5.30am but you do get used it and he is rather funny. The ground floor rooms do not have aircon so yes they do get very hot if you get a choice go for one with aircon.

Overall we really enjoyed out stay and would visit again.
Lucy, Andrew & William

Room Tip: ground floor rooms don't have aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    64
    20
    30
    52
See reviews for
100
102
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Ants crawlling all over me as I sleep.... .ants covering my clothes in my wardrobe... ants crawling the sink as I try to wash. Ant infested!
The room was far too hot and they have no air con or fans in the room.
Food ok, drinks good, staff fairly friendly.
Extreme budget.
If you don't mind ants and heat then go!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tsilivi hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The owners that run sandy Maria are most helpful in every way great people. the rooms are clean ,the pool is clean nice food.great place to relax . BBQ was very good with dancers I will recommend this place to my friends
Thanks for having us Rick and Pam

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ricknpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Well where to begin it is a lovely place to stay and i think people that criticise need to remember this place is bigger than most places on the island.

Clean definitely
Pleasant to stay at definitely
Access to local town definitely five to ten Min walk depending on you
Pool clean and large and child friendly definately.
Pleasure to me meet Sandy and Yiannis and Sandy's parents
Sandy made a lovely rabbit stew for the guests which went down well and other stuff for people that don't like

This is a good place to stay with nice owners will return agaian and again

Room Tip: all rooms are good and of a large size and face the pool areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank poppy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the sandy Maria apartments for 2 weeks. The location was lovely and quiet only 5 minute walk from shops or the beach. The owners are very friendly and will help with anything you need, rooms are clean and comfortable for a good price! Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rachelpap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

just come back from a 2 week stay at the lovely sandy maria. The apartments are great and have everything you need for a comfortable stay. sandy and yiannis are always helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. The surrounding area is beautiful and peaceful with only a short walk to main town and the beach. The greek night was fantastic and i recommend this to everyone as its a great way to meet and make friends. We had breakfast and lunch on some days and found the food was great.. Sandy cooked for us and made us feel like family. We were sad to leave but will be going back again..Yammas..La La La !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jonw1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

home from another great holiday with sandy and gianni at the Sandy Maria.. this is our second visit here and we love it..sandy and gianni and little marios made our stay really special..we had three birthdays with our group and sandy arranged a birthday cake for everyone.. the greek night bbq was amazing especially the fish gianni got for us. Our rooms were clean and comfortable with beautiful views..we met some lovely people and had a wonderful time...we will definately be going back again :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sarahjm1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
1.2 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Petros Hotel
Petros Hotel
#21 of 51 in Tsilivi
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#34 of 51 in Tsilivi
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel
Filoxenia Hotel
#6 of 51 in Tsilivi
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Maria

Property: Sandy Maria
Address: Tsilivi, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Maria 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Sandy Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Maria Hotel Tsilivi
Sandy Maria Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing