We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem of a place”
Review of Zante Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zante Star
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I could not say a bad word about this place. Staff are absolutely amazing. The hotel itself is great. Clean pool, loads of Sunbeds, plenty of food choice and great selection of drinks. You can see why everyone comes back here after a couple of days. I will be coming back for sure. The staff go the extra mile, Anna behind the bar was brilliant in organising little things of champagne and flowers in our room for my now fiancee! Cannot speak more highly about Zante star

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mptopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Zante Star
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 576 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Zante Star Apartments was a gorgeous little hotel located 5-10 minutes outside Tsilivi and a relativley short walk from the beach. The hotel itself is emaculate with superb attention to detail and beautiful surroundings. This is accompanied by a fantastic bar (which, despite being more expensive than bars and restraunts in tsilivi is still cheaper than home) and pool area. The rooms were a bit basic and small but were still fine for what we needed. The staff were also brilliant, nothing was too much trouble and any problems would be sorted out there and then.

Tsilivi is a resort with lots of tavernas and bars, with enough going on to keep everyone of all ages entertained. There is one or two nightclubs but there wasn't anyone ever in them so if your looking for something a bit more lively for one evening then a taxi to laganas is only 20 euros. The beach in Tsilivi isn't the best with bits concrete and rubbish lying around, but it still provided a long stretch of sand with plenty of places to sun bathe. The sea is very shallow for a fair distance out and so is ideal for families although snorkelling isn't particularly good.

All in all we had a brilliant holiday staing at the Zante star apartments and wouldn't hesitate to recomend it to anyone. It wasn't the best place we've ever stayed although that's not to say everything about our holiday wasn't great. We would stringly recomend a visit to Zakynthos town, 'ship wreck cove' and the beach south of vasilikos on the eastern tip of the island.

The Good:
-Well kept hotel with friendly staff
-Beautifully surroundings
-Very Quiet location
-Not far from tsilivi or the beach
-Food in Tsilivi is very cheap and for the most part very tasty
-Some beautiful parts to the island

The Bad:
-Rooms were a little small
-Hard to get to sleep as it's very hot and air conditioning costs around 45 euros

The Ugly:
The litter on the beach and sea bed (Nothing to do with the hotel)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jakish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just got back from a fantastic 2 weeks at the Zante Star. 20 minutes from airport - no long transfers
On Arrival immediately made at ease and because our room wasn't immediately ready for us shown to the bar from reception and bought a drink, 10 minutes later - room was ready.
As already said many times but worth repeating...Irene, Toula and our other reception and day staff were all really friendly in fact the hotel is family run which added much to the welcoming atmosphere.
Cleanliness - all the public areas, reception bar, pool were all kept immaculate.
The cleaning staff seemed to change the beds or sweep and refresh the rooms every day.
During the Evening, bar staff Anna was as so hard working, extremely efficient, greeted you by name from day 1 (don't know how she did it!) and always friendly with it, a real asset to the hotel!
Great cocktails and really good value for money 2 euros for large beer, 3 euros for a selection of their cocktails during happy hour (7-9pm). 2.50Euro for large beer outside these times.
We had breakfast almost every day at the hotel which was really good value, great selection with prices from 2Euros to 6 Euros for Toast through to the Zante Star Breakfast which was the full English Breakfast - plenty of it. Snacks during the day such as pizza, burger, greek salad etc all coming in at under 6 Euro's. We also ate in the evening twice, Chicken Slavaki (Chicken Kebab) with pita, rice.chips really nicely presented, tasty and possible for 2 adults and a child to eat and drink for under 25 Euro's.
10 minutes to the beach, 15 minutes to the town with 30 minutes required if you wish to walk to the other side of the bay.

While we were there we went to the beach twice - beautiful, warm, slowly shelving sandy with plenty of lounges (even though this was the height of the season).

A lastly, we did two trips during our two weeks, both of them with Captain Spiros, both trips were fantastic the Ship Wreck and Blue Caves during the first week was beautiful, you get to the famous wreck before anyone else on the Captains Speed Boat. After the wreck the Captain takes you in the blue caves to see the corals - some swimming etc...
We took the Trip with the Captain to see the Famous Loggerhead Turtles on the second week, this was THE best excursion we have ever taken on any holiday. Turtles, spotted all the women and the children got to drive the boat, loads of swimming, snorkeling and Dolphins on way back home. For the full information and links etc visit the following TripAdvisor page http://goo.gl/TBOqb .
In summary - its not if we will be going back to the Zante Star but when and as you can see from the title there were tears when we were all waved off by Irene, Toula and the friends we made their - see you next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were good, Air Con available for 90 Euro's for two weeks.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheArchBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My family and I have recently returned from our 2nd visit to The Zante Star and it was even better this year! The welcome from Eirini, Helen and Toula was very warm and it felt like coming home. The rooms are spotless, the pool is lovely and the food is gorgeous with generous portions. Try the chicken souvlaki! As there are only 34 apartments, it's more intimate than on a larger hotel or complex. And as a result you see the same faces on a daily basis & you make friends easier. I have never been to a more friendly place. In the evening the cocktails are made by the lovely Anna who not only is a fantastic cocktail maker but a great host of the games night. Where there is a quiz, racing and bingo where you can win some 'easy euro's'
Away from the Zante Star, my favourite restaurants were Sweet Revenge and The Balcony. Catching the sunset at The Balcony is beautiful, make sure you have your cameras ready. There are still several restaurants we haven't tried, hopefully we'll get the chance to sample their delights next year.
I noticed from another review that they were disappointed with having no balcony divider, while this may be true, I found it a great opportunity to chat with fellow holiday makers.
So, if you're thinking of booking a trip to Zante and you're looking for a relaxing, friendly and fun place, The Zante Star is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmcaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Went this year for the first time to this island. The groups of teenagers sharing the flight from Bristol were in high spirits, looking forward to a parot-tastic time. For a family group like us, that was a little disturbing because it confirmed some ideas that the island is for young people looking for Blackpool with nice weather, cheap booze and anything else that takes their fancy. Don't be fooled by that. We are a family of four, kids aged 14 and 11, and had a great time. The island has some breathtaking views, great swimming and little gems that repay in spades what little effort it takes to find them. And that includes restaurants that are just a bit off the beaten track. I can't recommend more highly a great little book on the island that's part of the Sunflower 'Guide' series. And Zante Star? Great people working there - from the family through to the support staff. The food is good and fairly priced. Nothing is too much trouble. My single, little, teeny-weeny gripe is the bathroom. My eldest (boy) and I were chivalrous and let the girls go first every night at shower time, and it got a bit wet and cramped in there. But that didn't stop us enjoying great hospitality, great service, a good location and a beautiful island. Oh, and all these people that come back time after time must say something about how good Zante Star is, don't you think?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

we stayed at the zante star in june and could not fault the place ,staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble .it was a short walk to the beach and bars the rooms were very clean so was the pool & bar area ,we travelled as a couple and on a buget and we got exellent value for what we paid for our holiday it was my birthday while we were there and on our return from the beach a chilled bottle of champage and card was waiting in our room ,nice touch well done to all the zante star staff my only gripe was that we only stayed for a week hope to go back again next year .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We returned home early August after spending two fantastic weeks at the Zante Star.
I really can't add much more to the reviews already left, as this place is amazing.
It has been the best holiday we've ever had and were hoping to return next year.
This hotel sure is a small part of Eden.
The family and staff are such lovely people, we found it very difficult to leave. We've made many new good friends, and we miss you all!!
If your planning on booking here you won't be disappointed.
And try Anna's Pina Colada's!!!!

Room Tip: Don't think your find a bad room, but a ground floor pool view is good if you have children.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mumzie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
0.4 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
473 reviews
5.0 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#10 of 51 in Tsilivi
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#8 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,231 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zante Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Star

Address: Tsilivi zante, Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
#3 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range: $28 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Zante Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zante Star Tsilivi
Zante Star Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing