We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY LOVELY”
Review of Zante Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zante Star
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Very nice hotel with all the amenities needed. The price was wonderful (olympic holidays), the rooms very clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful and professional. You can tell they take pride in their job and hotel. Recommended to anyone who wants a lovely quiet and relaxing break. Already booked to go back in September and counting down the days....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 583 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just got back after 2 weeks at this accommodation. We booked solely based on the fantastic reviews but I cannot understand the attraction to this place. Our room was basic (as expected), with little twin beds, no TV, Microwave or Sandwich Toaster (which we have had at other hotels in Tsilivi). The balcony was a real let-down - no dividers betwen balconies meant that there was absolutely no privacy and waking up to Mr & Mrs Woodbine's breakfast of 10 B&H every morning was not pleasant. That and the din of the air-con units on the other balconies meant that we really couldn't stomach being out there. The hotel is a good (hot!) 15 minute walk from town and the beach. I'm not sure about peaceful either, what with the cockerel, local dogs frenzied barking at all hours and a digger firing up at 8am on some days! We use our hotel only as a base and did not use the pool, eat here or partake of the entertainment - maybe this is what other guests liked so much about this hotel but for what we wanted it was very dissapointing. Having said that the staff are absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mazfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We visited the Zante Star the last two weeks in June this year, it was our first visit but it wont be our last.
The hotel is set out of town and is very peaceful, it is very clean and well maintained, the staff a
are very very friendly and always around to help if needed.The pool and bar area are spacious and well set out. Food in the Hotel is reasonbly priced altho we only ate their a few times for a s
snack at lunch time but what we had was lovely.

Tsillvi is only a short walk away from the hotel, bout ten mins at the most! lots of bars and resterants, all very resonably priced, and lots of cheap drinks if you catch them at happy hour!

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear of the hotel, lovely and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharron32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I can't believe the star rating and the comments about this hotel, I have stayed in many hotels in Tsilivi for 14 years now and many hotels that are far better in quality and location. I can only assume from previous comments that they are made by people who spend there whole holiday at the hotel and sit around the pool all day. If that's for you then this hotel is probably great.

Firstly don't get me wrong the staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble but here are some facts that you should consider before booking a holiday here. I understand the hotel was constructed approxiamately seven years ago, like in the UK to get a building licence there must ventalation to a bathroom/toilet, our room 129 did not have any windows or extractor fan. This made the room very stuffy and warm indeed (Sauna), so much so it's very difficult to survive the heat without purchasing a fan or air conditioning. Here comes the sting, the cost to have air con for two weeks is 90 euro's and gets more expensive the sorter you have it. We were also quoted 28 Euro's for four nights (7 euro a night!), an extortionate amount of money which you do need to consider as an additional charge to your holiday. I also can't believe that know one else has mentioned that the balconies have no dividers giving you no privacy, the noise is also an issue. The air conditioning units have been sited on the balcony floors the noise from the unit on the balcony next door was a joke! I can't imagine what it would be like with all four rooms units going, cut and paste this you tube clip into your browswer and see for yourself. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0AWSuWVzpBs
I can only assume that people don't use their balconies because they are shut in doors with the air con on!??

The rooms are clean and tidy but basic for a hotel with this rating, if the hotel was in such a great location why were there so many hire cars in the car park!! It's a good walk to Tsilivi Centre!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel you may get a breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just returned from our first visit to the Zante star and it won't be our last. The whole holiday was fab which in most part was down to the friendliness of the staff and guests of the hotel. The rooms are really spacious and the pool and bar are lovely. The resort itself is perfect for families and couples with loads of good restaurants and bars, Trenta nove and sambuca bar were are favourites but we never had a bad meal and were slways greeted with a warm welcome wherever we ate and are already planning our visit next year

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_atelh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We first visited the Zante Star in 2005, and returned again in 2007 - after a 5 year break we decided it was time to visit Zante again and when we saw the Zante Star was still available there was no question of us staying anywhere else.

Although we were incredibly sad to learn that Yannis is no longer with us, I can honestly say he would be so proud of his daughters for continuing to run his hotel and for maintaining the incredibly high standards he'd achieved and had become known for.

We were given a wonderful room with a pool/sea view, and it was absolutely spotless. Everything was well maintained, with plenty of cooking utensils (not that we did any cooking, but if you wanted to then the rooms are well equipped!). Towels and bedding are changed every few days, more often if needed or requested. Nothing is too much trouble!

We decided to pay the extra for the air con (as opposed to a fan) and I'm very glad we did, with temperatures in the late 30's early 40's it was lovely to have a cool room to retreat in to when it got too hot outside.

We ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel most days, and spent our days lazying around the pool. The food is good and of a reasonable price with a good selection of bar type meals. Toula, the waitress during the day and Anna, the waitress is the evening are both incredibly hard working and so friendly. Nothing is too much trouble!

We did the Greek night (but not the Games night) while we were there and it was a good fun evening. Great food and great entertainment. One of the best we've been to!

Of an evening, we ate out in various restaurants but our favourites had to be Premier and Sweet Revenge. We ate at Premier several times and had great food each time, it's on the left as you walk in to Tsilivi and you are assured a warm welcome every time you go. Highly recommended! Sweet Revenge was also great, just on the corner as you get in to Tsilivi - great good and a huge selection of food. Again, highly recommended! Louisa at the Sambuca bar is lovely, and very friendly. We had quite a few drinks in there over the course of our holiday, but we spent the vast majority of our time in Friends bar. Although sadly now at the opposite end of the resort to the Zante Star, it's well worth a trip to find them.

It takes about 10 minutes to walk into the main part of Tsilivi, and about 20 minutes to walk to the opposite end. What we found was that we'd walk in most evenings (stopping for a meal and a few drinks along the way) and then get a Taxi back at the end of the night. A taxi within Tsilivi is 5 euros regardless of where you go and although we could have a walked for the sake of 5 euros it didn't seem worth it. Not sure how much the horse and carts are, as my husband is allergic to horses but we were told they were quite a bit more expensive than getting a Taxi.

We can't believe how quickly our 2 weeks went at the Zante Star, one of the best holidays we've had and we are so glad we decided to come back. If we do come back to Zante again, we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but in our experience rooms in the second block are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Zante Star and having been to Tsilivi four times now and I have to say that this is the best property we have stayed in. Previously we have stayed at the Petros, Sunrise and an apartment that has long since closed.
We had two rooms 132 and 130 and the standard of both was excellent, the cleaners did a great job during our stay. The rooms are well equipped for self-catering, not that we did any cooking; towels and bed linen are of good quality and get changed often.
All the staff make you most welcome and we would like to thank Erini, Helen, Toula and Anna for looking after us during our stay, nothing appears to be too much trouble for them.
We spent most of our days around the pool and had lunch at the hotel most days, the food is of a high standard, good value for money and service is excellent. We prefer to go out of an evening to try different restaurants and to give to the local economy rather than to the large holiday companies who run the All Inclusive resorts.
We are all aware that the Greek people are going through hard times and I think visitors to the country should all play their part in helping them out visiting the local bars and restaurants, in the years we have visited Tsilivi you can see the effect AI is having.
The hotel is a short walk away from the bars and restaurants which I have to say is a good thing as it does not have any problems with noise and the views are great. I would love to go back to the Zante Star and would recommend it to anyone. It is on an elevated position, but if you can walk up the stairs to get on an aeroplane then you should have no problems here.
We ate in a number of places and would recommend the follow as both good value and great food,
Premiere which is not too far from the Zante Star, turn right when you leave the hotel, they do a great homemade starter of potato and aubergine.
The Grill which is also not far from the Zante Star, just turn left as you leave the hotel, if you are really hungry try the meat platter, I bet you will struggle to eat it all.
Benikos is good value and has a wide menu to choose from and they make you most welcome, try the house wine.
The best and most traditional restaurant is Dennis’s which is out past Sandra’s bar on the outskirts of Tsilivi. The food served there is by far the best in the area and his village wine is first class, no visit to the area is complete without at least one visit here. Make the effort to try Denis’s and I guarantee that you will be glad you did.
Sandra’s bar is really good for a drink and is by the bus stop, both Sandra and Costas will make you welcome and have all the local knowledge you need. They also only use genuine named beers and spirits which cannot be said for all the bars in Tsivili.
A restaurant a little further away in Zante Town is Seafood Flavours on the sea front in the main town. The 14.50 euro meze menu takes some beating and includes free wine. Look out for the Sandra Bullock look alike and make sure you take a camera, she may just serve you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmcuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
0.4 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
485 reviews
5.0 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
272 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zante Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Star

Address: Tsilivi zante, Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tsilivi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
#3 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range: $26 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Zante Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zante Star Tsilivi
Zante Star Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing