We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent basic accommodation close to the sea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spiros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spiros
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Cambridge
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent basic accommodation close to the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just returned from two weeks staying at the Spiros apartments and had a great time. The apartments are all located in one traditional looking block surrounded by a semi tropical garden with plenty of shade. A path leads down to the sea which is less than two hundred yards away. There are fourteen or so apartments in the block all (I suspect) with a similar layout of a large bedroom, a shower toilet room and kitchenette. Cooking equipment is basic but most guests eat out as great quality food is readily available within very easy walking distance. The beds were comfy and sheets changed twice a week. The balcony doors have both double glazed patio type doors as well as slatted and apparently insect proof sliding shutters allowing in fresh air and some cooling during the night. While we were there daytime temperatures were running at around 36 C and 27C at night so you would be wise to budget for air conditioning at 8€ a night. Whilst this is expensive it is very efficient and quiet running. The apartment balconies are great but apply insect repellent if sitting out after sunset. All the first floor apartments have sea views whilst the ground floor apartments look out on the garden. If you want shade go for the ground floor, views ask for the first floor. Anna is very accommodating and will help make the stay comfortable and enjoyable. If on a package type stay with choice of tours don't miss the Island tour - relatively cheap and an excellent day out that includes a boat trip to a few of the Blue Caves. The apartments are clean and quiet but if you are expecting new build "all inclusive" bells and whistles it is probably not for you. For my wife and I it was a great laid back break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grasstley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

just got back from lovely stay at annas.lovely setting,cleaned everyday fresh towels and sheets twice a week.any problems anna was very happy to help.if your looking for a nice quiet studio go to spiros

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eileen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a very tradional style Greek Studio that is well equipped and very clean. The best things about it were the sense of tranquility, the superb location, the fabulous garden and the owner Anna who was very helpful and kind. We would definitely chose to stay here again should we return to Tsilivi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Caterina17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Well what can i say BRILLIANT,BRILLIANT,BRILLIANT.These studio's are in the perfect locaction for just about everything beach,supermarkets and lovely resteraunts.The 1st floor rooms all have a sea view lovely to wake up in the morning and see this.They are very roomy and have plenty of storage space.They have a lovely little kitchenette area with all you need to make a meal if you decide to eat in but its cheaper to eat out and more fun haha.The bathroom is plenty big enough with a really powerful shower just what you need after a long day at the beach.And last but certainly not least the lovely Anna who owns and cleans the rooms herself is adorable she is so helpful and if you need anything she will get it for you a big massive thankyou ANNA.The rooms are spotless and cleaned everyday towels and bed linen changed a lot cant remember how often they were changed but i think it was two or three times a week.I would reccomend this place to everyone you will not be dissapointed,i will be returning next year with my mother thats how great this place is if i can get one dates are filling up very quickly for May 2014 so hopefully i will see you next year Anna thankyou very much for making my holiday one the best ever xx

Room Tip: Rooms on uper floor have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent 2 weeks in Spiros in August/September this year, this was our first time here, what can we say it was just....brilliant. The apartments were just basic typical Greek style and no different from any others we have stayed in not just on Zante but on many other islands. They had everything we needed for our stay and although we ate out at night we had breakfast & lunch in the apartments and most mornings it was cooked. Anna & her husband were lovely and happy to help if needed. She did actually save us money whilst there. The safety deposit box was solid and fixed to wall in wardrobe and for 10 euros a week, it has been the cheapest we have paid for. Tha apartment was very roomy and was cleaned daily. We were 2 minutes from the beach & Main Street. We could have had a room for last nite at 30 euros again bout the going rate on most Greek Islands. We were so happy that we have booked again for next year as have our friends. For the price it is excellent value and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lister1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just returned from yet another fabulous trip to Tsilivi staying at the Spiros don't know what some of the previous comments were aimed at, the shower, shower tray and shower curtain were fine in room 16 and the view from the balcony great with the added benefit of capturing the sunrise in the morning, then it's only a short stroll to the lovely beach. Anna and her husband are lovely and she is not as one previous reviwer stated getting on a bit, she is only 62 which I regard as middle aged. I think you will find that all self-catering studios are similar, in fact I have stayed elsewhere in Tsilivi and had no shower tray or curtain at all it is the Greek way. At the end of the day it is in a lovely quiet spot and is good value for money, what more do you need than a bed to sleep a fridge to keep a bottle of wine in and a kettle to make a cup of tea in the morning there's no need to cook in the rooms as there are so many cheap places to eat in the resort all you need is a carton of fresh milk fot the tea.

Room Tip: Any of the upstairs rooms provide sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank claire016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Summer 2012
This is the 3rd worst place I have stayed in which says plenty as I have been travelling for 30 years.
Unless this is the only place left to stay in find somewhere else. We chose it because it is supposed to be self catering - fat chance. The "cooker" is a 2 ring hob (1x large 1x tiny) which sits on the very small worktop there is no oven or grill, there was a kettle, a sandwich toaster and fridge in the "kitchen" area, I use the term kitchen loosely. (see photos) There were an assortment of plates cups and cutlery. Although the room was serviced every day there were the same cobwebs from the start of the fortnight to the end all that happened was a mop of the bathroom floor and the beds were made. The rooms are fairly clean but in need of some modernising they are looking tired. The bathrooms are tiny the shower tray is not full size more like one you find in a caravan the curtain sticks to your butt when showering, the best thing to do is leave the curtain open but then the water sprays everywhere as the shower head is crusted with limescale :-(
The room had an air-con unit which you could use if you paid an extra €7 per day and there was a safety deposit box in the wardrobe for €10 per week
Due to stupid flight times we had to pay to keep the room an extra night this cost €30 This was essential as the checkout time is 12:00 at the latest and there is nowhere safe to leave luggage, the only other option is to take it with you wherever you go.
The best thing about these appts is that they are on the edge of the resort so fairly quiet, don't get me wrong it is only a short walk up to the main street but there is no disturbance from bars etc. at night. There is a great taverna just across the rd. You can be on the beach in 3-4 minutes but the best area of the beach is at the other end of the bay, about 10 mins walk.
If you want to use a pool the one which you get directed to is at Alamis hotel, don't bother it gets very crowded, go in the opposite direction to Odysseas Studios the pool there is lovely. You can use almost any other pool you find as long as you buy your drinks there.
If the cost of the room was lower then the rating would be higher as I based my rating on value for money, there are some really nice rooms available in Tsilivi for the same rate as this one.

Nearby there is a mini golf course, look for the deals, barBQ large beer and a round of golf €10 good fun. Scuba dive centre next to Subway store. Plenty of supermarkets to choose from, most will change money at a reasonable rate. Car hire, moped hire, bike hire on the main rd.

Room Tip: You don't want room 3, the owners live in room 1-2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
0.0 mi away
Yria Hotel
Yria Hotel
#5 of 12 in Zakynthos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anetis Hotel
Anetis Hotel
#30 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Callinica Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amoudi Studios Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spiros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spiros

Property: Spiros
Address: Tsilivi, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Spiros 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Spiros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiros Hotel Tsilivi
Spiros Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing