We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic hotel but excellent bar and food.”
Review of Planos Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Planos Beach Hotel
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Excellent holiday. hotel room very basic with small room/bathroom, power shower tho!! Daily room service and the cleaners did a very good job. Rooms very hot so definitly recommend air conditioning but had to pay £80 euro's for the 2 wks. Could not have managed without it. Self catering facilities poor, small kitchen area and dirty cooker/utensils but we ate out all the time so did not bother us.

Pool clean but small and very deep, not ideal for small children. Hotel staff very friendly and bar area excellent. Food lovely and could not fault. Roof top restaurant very nice too and cheap good value for money.

Tsilivi resort is very nice with lots of bars and restaurants for choice. Georgio's, Popeye's excellent food. The Jolly Roger did an excellent breakfast and fresh milkshakes too.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank mmatchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 322 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2009

What can I say about the wonderfull Tsilivi that has not been said before, Here goes, We stayed at the Planos Beach for the second year in a row, it is a well run family concern , basic but adequate unless you take one of the more expensive luxury apartments, we found the pool to be a little undersized for the size of the complex, however that did not bother us too much as you are only a 2-3 minut walk to the beach anyway. It is situated on the same street as the Contessina Hotel only a little further towards the sea, so is very handy as I said for the beach and the Planos end of Tsilivi. As for Tsilivi itself, not rowdy and not to quiet either, plenty of pubs restaurants and other types of bars, our favourite restaurant was Georgios, excellent food and service try it and the twins will look after you, our favourite drinking spot was Friends Bar run by Yannis and Thespina along with Andy and the crazy Ilias (silly [--]) but I am sure you will find your own favourites, we are back agian on Oct 1st and again on june 17 2010 so looking forward to seeing all our friends, Greek and otherwise again, I would recommend Tsilivi to anyone, young or old. JUST ENJOY!!!

1  Thank kenny326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We stayed here for 1 week from the 10th May. It was booked as a last minute break for my husband and myself. It was a cheap deal and we really expected it would be basic, as we have been Zante before.
When we arrived in the early hours of the morning. We were lead to our room, 107 by a rather grumpy looking security man, who did not speak much English. But, that was fine! It was early and we wern't too bothered by this!
The room though... Oh dear.... it was very small, very smelly and very tatty! The toilet made a dripping noise constantly, the shower curtain was hanging off, the room smelled of damp and the beds felt damp. It was at the back of the hotel and over looked the toilet block by the swimming pool!
After a nap. We went to our Thomas Cook welcome meeting and voiced our concerns to the rep. She then had a word with the receptionist and they gave us 3 keys to choose a more suitable room. Very obliging and happy to help!
We eventually chose room 111 which over looked the pool to the front and onto the road at the back.
It was bright, clean and airy and so much better than the last room!
All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and taking into consideration that they had recently just lost a family member and they were in mourning, the hotel owners were very nice and always spoke and smiled.
We can't comment on the food at the hotel, as we never ate there. There are so many lovely restaurants and tavernas in Tsilivi to try.
Dionosis grill was excellent value and the fresh fish was lovely.
The beach is only a short stroll away and is perfect for sunbathing. We loved 'The cosy beach bar' They charged 3 euros for a sun lounger which you could use all day and they also did great snacks and drinks.
Breakfasts were good at either Freddies beach bar or the Jolly Roger.
Eutopia bar is great for a few cocktails and beers after a meal out. The staff, Armado, Vasso and Konti are lovely and will make you feel very welcome.
The only problem we really had with the planos beach was the pool and pool area. Although it was clean, it was very small and cramped and the pool was freezing and went from being shallow to deep very quickly! Not good if you have younger children.
It also got unbearably hot around the pool during the day. You literally baked in your own sweat! So much nicer to go to the beach and probably safer for the kids too, as the sea is so warm and gently shelves. You can wade out quite a long way before it gets deeper!
All in all a very good value and happy holiday at the planos beach. Would recommend it for a good basic base for some lovely Greek sunshine in the gorgeous resort of Tsilivi!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed at the Planos Beach hotel (not to be confused with Planos Bay!), for two weeks in October, hoping for a peaceful and relaxing break. Unfortunately, we didn't manage to get much peace and quiet at this hotel, as there were a few ignorant families staying at the same time as us, who were quite happy to subject the rest of us to their children's racket every morning, how considerate of them.

As for the hotel itself, it looks ok on the outside- but our room was in a pretty bad way, and in desperate need of a revamp! The paintwork was patchy, and the curtains/tiles, and general colour scheme very dated. The kitchen area was very cramped, with nowhere for the kettle to go, and just a tiny one-ring cooking unit - not much use for self catering then! All of the doors in our room(patio,bathroom,wardrobe) got constantly jammed, which became very tedious. The bathroom was very tiny, with some grimy looking fixtures- and whoever decided it was a good idea to fix a shelf between the sink and mirror was clearly mistaken!

The cleaners did a decent job on a daily basis, and were quite pleasant and polite. However, the rest of the staff were very unfriendly, often glaring at us when we walked past them, and never saying hello when we acknowledged them.

We enjoyed Tsilivi,met some nice people and ate some good meals in the many restaurants available......but we would not return to nor recommend the Planos Beach hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rusty088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

In terms ov value for money these are not the best apartments we've ever stayed in. The 2 bed studios are very cramped and in need of a facelift and we've had wardrobes with more room than the bathroom.
Maid service is twice a week so hang on to your bath towels.
The pool area is small and whilst sunbeds are readily available there are only about a dozen that get the sun all day.
The stafff and in particular Con on reception are very friendly and helpful.
The location is not bad and we didn't have a bad meal at any of the places we ate (and there is plenty to choose from).
Check out the beach bar at the Alexandra Hotel for a good value Greek lunch on the beach.
If you go to the Jolly Roger bar (yes I know it sound awful) but Costas, who runs it, is a good laugh. Challenge him to a game of Connect 4 (if you beat him then you get free drinks for the rest of your stay!).
Overall there are much nicer Greek Islands (Santorini, Corfu).

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank leedsmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

I stayed at Planos Beach (not be confused with Planos Hotel nearby) as part of a Thomas Cook package holiday to Tsilivi, Zakynthos.

The hotel is ideally situated just 2 minutes walk to the main drag where all the bus stops, bars, restaurants and clubs are, yet its far away enough so guests aren't disturbed by any noise.

In the other direction, the beach is only a 2 minute walk which is perfect.

Planos Beach has a lovely swimming pool, bar/cafe and convenience shop onsite which is really handy. The cafe bar is a little more expensive than others outside of the complex but for convenience it's ideal. Each Friday they host a Greek night where you can watch (and join in) with traditional Greek entertainment.

The reception is manned virtually all the time and a security guard patrols the complex at night which is reassuring. The staff are great and help with all issues and queries.

Air con and safety deposit boxes come as with an extra cost (7 euros per night for aircon and 16 euros for the safety box per week).

The rooms are basic with slightly outdated decor but are certainly more than good enough for a week away. The self-catering rooms could do with more equipment but in any case, it's cheaper to eat out than cook anyway. The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh linen and towels which is a huge plus point.

All in all, great staff, clean accommodation, nice pool/surroundings and definitely would go back and would recommend others to go.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annski1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Magda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.5 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#24 of 51 in Tsilivi
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plaza Pallas Hotel
Plaza Pallas Hotel
#21 of 51 in Tsilivi
257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Petros Hotel
Petros Hotel
#22 of 51 in Tsilivi
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andreolas Luxury Suites
Andreolas Luxury Suites
#23 of 51 in Tsilivi
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planos Beach Hotel

Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range: $32 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Planos Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Planos Beach Hotel in Tsilivi Zanynthos… Have a nice accommodation! A big warm hug are waiting for you at Planos Beach Hotel in Tsilivi. The complex is located in one of the most popular resort of the Zante island.Here you may find ecerything you need all the time of your hoilidays, since Planos Beach Hotel offers a variety range od options and facilities. The center of Tsilivi is located just a few minutes on foot, where you may find restaurants, many taverns, touristis shops and many bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Planos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planos Beach Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing