We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good reflection of Greek food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitsos Taverna

Mitsos Taverna
Ranked #8 of 11 Restaurants in Nissaki
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not a good reflection of Greek food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This taverna has the major advantage of being on the beach with great views but I regretted having lunch rather than just a drink as the food was not at all good. My Kalamari was awful- rubbery is a very apt description and I was disappointed that a Greek restaurant could not do better than this. The portion was v generous but that was not an advantage! The sole that my partner had was also poor - chewy and dry. All in all, the worst meal we had in nissaki (see my other reviews). I would advise visiting for a nice cold drink on a hot day but take your own lunch to the beach or try another taverna.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkYorkiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    61
    26
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
c
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Perfect view but the food was terrible. 8 different dishes all terrible although we were all very hungry .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank x x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely seafront restaurant with exceptional views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Ate here several times during our week's visit. The tables are almost in the sea and the views are truly breathtaking.
We found some of the local dishes to be a bit disappointing (sauces made with flour rather than cream, and a bit lacking in flavour) but the fish and grilled meat options were delicious.
The service was excellent, very welcoming and helpful. No stale bread here - the waiters throw any leftover slices into the sea, where the fish demolish them in seconds. This was definitely our favourite of all the local restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dizzydragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLAMORGAN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Only had a drink at this location following a walk. But welcoming hosts and perfect location. Would definitely return if in locality..

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlamorganRubicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Mitsos, Nissaki, Corfu.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This taverna has been a more than regular 'haunt' made by myself and family when in Corfu. It is a marvellous family run business and is set on beautiful surroundings. The Taverna tables actually extend over the sea, built on the bays rocks, right next to the beach.
The food is absolutely delicious and all homemade. The menu offers a wide range of corfiot dishes and there are child size portions as well. Chefs can be seen at work and you will see the hardwork they put in making your foos fantastic. You will admire their dedication in the hot summer months when it is hot outside let alone a being in a hot kitchen as well!
The Taverna is very, very, very friendly and laid back. It is a place where you can dress up or dress down. Children are loved and very welcome and have the advantage to play on the beach within sight whilst you eat.
There is so much more I could say as the list is endless!
I would definately/certainly, 100% recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca231270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitsos Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Mitsos Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing