We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garbis Villas & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lourdas
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Garbis Villas is an ideal spot for a relaxing holiday. We were made very welcome by Irene and had a top floor apartment with a balcony which was ideal. Our kids (3 yrs & 18 months) were able to safely get out onto the balcony as it has a high railing, which made things less stressful for us. The view is breathtaking and we spent every other day just hanging around the beautiful pool. We had a car but most evenings just walked to one of about a dozen restaurants within range. The kids would go in the double buggy and although its uphill out of Garbis we took it slowly and enjoyed the setting sun light. Without exception everyone was most accommodating and welcomed our kids. Restaurants were all good. On day trips out we went to Myrtos, Assos, Lixouri, Skala, Poros, Sami and Argostoli. We'd been to Fiskado on a previous trip so didn't go right up North this time (although Fiscado would be a must see if we hadn't already). Of all the beaches we visited the beaches close to Garbis Villas were amongst our favourites. The walk down to the beaches from the Villas isn't easy and definitely not suitable for a double buggy (or single buggy for that matter). It is possible to walk down to Lourdas beach by road but it's quite a hike and even though we like a walk it wasn't something we fancied trying. Drive down to either Lourdas or Trapezaki for beautiful swimming spots, great for kids, spots for lunch and only a stones throw from Garbis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clivepb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just perfect for my friend and I to take a quick trip to Greece for 4 days to catch the last of the summer sunshine. Arrived to a couple of days rain and cloud although still in the 20's. Garbis Villas met all our expectations with the added bonus of being totally on our own for the first couple of days. Irene the owner and long time friend Alexandra who helps out are just lovely and made us feel very welcome ( thank you again for the fantastic cakes and home from home hospitality) . I have to point out that most places in Lourdes are closed from the second week in October. The exceptions were 2 restaurants and a couple of supermarkets. The walk down the hill to the beach by road took us 30 mins, very pretty but very steep in places. There are a couple of restaurants at the bottom but a taxi back up the hill is a must ( aprox 6 euros) We paid 30 Euros each way from the airport, Taxis are plentiful and this seemed to be a fixed price. Only down point to this accommodation was that there was no bar or food available at all, the 10 min trek up to the local supermarket was all uphill but got easier by the day. All in all our time spent at the Garbis Villas worked perfectly for the short relaxing break we needed. Thank you again Irene for all your kindness ( and insect bite cream!) Helen & Alexandra

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0lidaybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We wanted a quiet, relaxing break in the sun & this is exactly what we got at Garbis villas. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment, which was more than big enough for the two of us. The apartment was very clean when we arrived & was cleaned every day, except Sunday. Clean towels were provided every couple of days & the beds were also changed during our 1 week stay. The pool, gardens & communal spaces are all very well maintained & cared for. Irene, the owner was welcoming, without being intrusive and cooked rice puddings & pastries on our first day. She also invited us for breakfast at her villa (on the "complex") before we left - she really wanted to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We walked to the beach using the road (rather than the steep downhill route) & it took 25 mins each way - its still quite a steep walk up from the beach, especially in the heat. Zorbas was great for a traditional Greek lunch & very friendly & the Olive Lounge was our favourite for dinner, especially the local sea bass. Only staying for a week, we didn't hire a car, but would recommend one, if staying for longer - or if you dont want a very quiet relaxing break, just enjoying the pool etc at Garbis villas. One tiny negative was the 2 bedroom apartment had twin beds in both rooms - a double bed would of been more welcome!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom apartments are on the first floor of each villa & have a great view out to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a relaxing week in Garbis Villas. The apartments are simple, clean, well maintained and situated in a beautiful spot. The owner, Irene, is welcoming and friendly but not at all intrusive. I would really recommend Garbis for a quiet week away from it all. The surrounding area has plenty of pretty beaches to explore. Car recommended

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A lovely setting, great views, spotlessly clean, lovely pool, welcoming and fabulous host, good location, relaxing, quiet but close enough to a few things, the path to the beach is fine if you're fit & healthy and the beach you come to is Lithero which is very quiet and beautiful — and SANDY not pebbley like all the others in Kefalonia! Took us about 10-5 mins walk down, about 20 to walk up.

Only issues were wasps and the pool closing for maintenance for 2 afternoons of our 9 day stay (the 2 when we wanted to use it!). Other than that, it was great and we'll probably go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Many thanks to Irene and her family, and team, for making our stay at Garbis villas a relaxing and memorable one.

I work in the hospitality industry myself, and my family also own a hotel, so I know how much hard work is involved in not only looking after guests, but also the upkeep of the premises. I have to say the way that the studio apartment was looked after, cleaned daily and maintained was of a high level. My thanks go to also the cleaner, as she was always smiling, saying hello and working hard. It is a delight to see staff, so happy, especially when she probably saw the mess that all my clothes made! (Not my fault, it was the clothes' fault!).

When we were there 17th - 27th of June, we were practically by ourselves in the villas, which was delightful, and so peaceful! I absolutely loved it!

Hopefully we will be back!

Notes:
Make sure you rent a car!
Buy some shoes to go into the water, as the pebbles are a nightmare, all across the island!
If you want a taxi, book in advance.
If you go to express car hire, frank will be there, he is hilarious!
Go to fiskardo, and Assos. Assos has the most amazing seafood, and the sunset is out of this world!

Irene - see you in Edinburgh?!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room. But the studio apartment have direct access to the pool, which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Whilst it is true that everything has been said, I want to add my further praises on Trip Advisor so that Irene gets her 5 star certificate! I have been coming to this home from home for 13 years now....and every time, I leave feeling relaxed, calm and ready to face the world again. To sit in the sunshine, with the superb views of Zakynthos, and to watch the swifts as they swoop around and into the pool is sheer heaven. The whole Garbis team exemplify the greek hospitality of philoxenia as it really should be. Choose Garbis for a truly wonderful holiday experience!

Room Tip: Yes, the views are better from the 2 bedroom apartments, but all the studios and 1 bedroom apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andromeda86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourdas
10.0 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
9.3 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Sami
261 reviews
13.2 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lixouri
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
F Zeen Retreat
F Zeen Retreat
#1 of 2 in Lourdata
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garbis Villas & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garbis Villas & Apartments

Property: Garbis Villas & Apartments
Address: Lourdas | Λουρδασ, Lourdas 281 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lourdas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lourdas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Garbis Villas & Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the South of the Island and only 20 minutes from the Capital of Argostoli there is one of the most captivating resorts on the island, the majestic Lourdas. On the hill above Lourdas Beach stands Garbis Villas, one of the most welcoming and beautiful complexes on Kefalonia island. Magically set in between the lush green mountains and the dazzling blue Ionian Sea, surrounded by wonderful gardens there are four villas with a large pool. Staying at Garbis Villas will give you the sense of total relaxation and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garbis Villas & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garbis Villas And Apartments
Garbis Villas & Apartments Hotel Lourdas
Garbis Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing