We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can you improve on perfection?..”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lourdata, Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
DumDumBoy
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Can you improve on perfection?..”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

It seems you can! Last year we stayed in Paraskevas' other villa ('Odysseus') and thought we'd found heaven! Well 'Penelope' tops 'O' for us! The slightly different layout of the villa just seemed more in tune with us. I particularly liked the way the lounge area opened onto the raised deck - I'm not a sun-worshiper, so being able to simply step out of the heat into the cool was ideal. Located in Platies, about 30 minutes drive from the airport, you're far enough away from the bustle to be able to completely chill (3 hardback thrillers and a private pool meant swimming and reading were the order of the day). But Kefalonia is a small island, so a day trip to Fiskardo (the old fishing port at the island's northern tip) is no problem and shorter trips to Lourdas (about 15 minutes) and Argostoli (the main town) are no problem at all. Once again Paraskevas was the perfect host...and more! If you're looking for serenity with proximity - then Head to Villa Penelope!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa M
1 review
“Outstanding Villa!”
Reviewed June 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Recently returned from a perfect family holiday ( including 9 month old baby )spent at this most beautiful Villa.
Penelope villa is immaculate and very well equipt, (highchair and cot provided )The interior is spacious and extremely comfortable.The pool views and surrounding areas are breathtaking!
Pareskavas is such a kind, thoughtful and generous person who provided us with a service second to none.
Very sad on leaving, hope to return one day..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A rare and unique holiday experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A stunning location (quite the most spectacular we have ever enjoyed).... a modern beautifully appointed luxurious villa with breathtaking panoramic views, particularly out to sea with Zakynthos beyond, and lifting the whole experience into the unique category, the attentions (should you ask for them) of an on site owner who is totally and honestly devoted to assist in any way he can to make your stay utterly memorable.
My genuine frustration in reviewing Villa Penelope and it owner Paraskevas is that I can award only five stars..... believe me it deserves more.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy9972
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing view and Service”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I can't say enough good things about our stay at Villa Penelope. The view is second to none with amazing sunsets every night. In the pictures the villa looks like it may be old but it is brand new only built in 2010 with all the modcons you need like dishwasher, microwave, oven, stove, washing machine and wifi. We even arrived to the fridge stocked with beautiful local food and drinks. It is kept in immaculate condition by it's very generous and gracious owner Paraskevas. He met us at the aiport and escorted us back to the villa so we didn't get lost and his lovely wife baked us beautiful Greek desserts.

You will need a car if you stay at this villa as it is down a long driveway and not walkable distance to any restaurants etc. However Paras has contacts with a few car rental places that will give you a good deal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The fact it's not walking distance to restaurants
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sara_n
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa, kind host...”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Penelope for ten wonderful days this summer. From the moment Paraskevas met us at the airport we knew this would be a special holiday. The villa is about a twenty minute drive from the airport and when you arrive you will be stunned at how lovely it is. The villa, gardens and pool were immaculate - everything we could possibly need was on hand (including an ice cold beer in the fridge)! Located close to Lourdas, Katelios and Skala there are plenty of stunning beaches nearby. Paraskevas pointed out a number of restaurants and beaches to visit and we managed to see most of them (saving some to ensure we have to return one day). Trips to Myrtos beach and Mellisani cave are a must.
The pool and villa were cleaned frequently during our stay. Fresh towels and bedding were provided on a number of occasions. We even came home to find ice cream in the freezer, for a special treat! Honestly, this was one of the best holidays my family and I have ever had. Opening the balcony door in the main bedroom in the morning and looking out across the sea to Zante was heavenly... I wish I was back there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the villa itself.
Liked least: Nothing - pure heaven!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITman220
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning location, superb facilities”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our second visit to this property - and again, everything is exactly as per the description - this is a superb villa in a stunning location. The property was beautifully prepared, clean and comfortable, with a selection of local produce in the fridge. The owner lives close by and was very welcoming. He knows the island very well and was happy to make suggestions and recommendations about things to see and do.
There is a range of restaurants (especially "Lorraine's") and a blue flag beach in Lourdata, which is only a few km away. Skala is about 15 mins away by car or taxi and has a good range of places to eat - definitely try "Il Destino" on the main square.
Whilst a car is probably essential to get the most out of the stay, taxis are plentiful and charge reasonable rates.
No hesitation in recommending this villa, which is equally suited for family holidays, for quiet get-aways, for romantic breaks and for honeymoons!
Very happy with the overall experience, and will almost certainly return again at some future point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & quiet at the villa, and easy access to local amenties
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John19712...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday!”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed at the villa recently and had a great time. Cannot fault anything. The villa is well equipped, the location is excellent, the views are magnificent and Paraskevas and his family provided a first class service. Will definitely go there again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing