We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice appartments but grumpy owners wont be going back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aristomenis Studios
Certificate of Excellence
benf
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice appartments but grumpy owners wont be going back”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

we had a top floor room with a great sea view.Good size room very clean, There are 4 rooms that a large tree hits with no view.On arrival there was no warm welcome .We were told you could pay hire the air condition at 100 euro for 2 weeks and safe 20 euro,we hired a fan from a local supermarket after 3 days owners told us too take it back immediately and hire a fan from them at double the price 28 euros.While there we heard of several problems guests had with owners,its a shame because its a nice complex and good location,Will never go back there it costs nothing too smile and be pleasant.

Room Tip: We always ask for a top floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alfiepickleBenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    30
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
24
98
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
greek walker
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Superb views, good size and clean studios with very good pool but could be so much better.As mentioned by a previous reviewer the studios are very poorly supplied with utensils and as also stated the towels are well past there best.The owners give the impression that they do not really like guests -they are not unfriendly but dour and negative.The bar prices are high and as reported by a previous reviewer the few smiles that are availble from behind the bar are reserved for those guests who spend well

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skiathos2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Just home from Kefalonia. We wanted a quiet 2 weeks away without any hassle.

These apartments are without doubt the best I certainly have ever stayed in while in Greece and have over the years been to most of the islands. Spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard. Cleaning lady and man I may add about everyday and they earn their money. Always hot water available no matter what time of day it is. Pool area is well kept and the gardens are really nice. Having read some of the reviews regarding Elani and Steve we found them to be great. They are not intrusive and will leave you alone but are there should you need them and happy to help you out. Also WI FI is great to have.

Regarding prices around the pool yeah maybe a bit steep. Alas the euro is strong against the pound at the moment and that dont help also sadly but no overly expensive.

As for the title of this review here goes. My partner settled in to chill out mode very quickly sadly for me I found Lourdas far too quiet. My fault didnt research it well enough. Greece is going through some very starnge times economically at the moment and talking to folks who go regularly even they were finding it different. There are apartments not open and some shops bars and tevernas just havent bothered opening and makes it all the more quiet. The walk to the beach is a steep one not too bad going down going back up slightly more of a strain on the cardio vascular system either by the road or the footpath close to Aristomenis. Saying that guess who tried to walk back up when it was around 40 degrees ermmmmm yeah you guessed it.

Kefalonia is a fantastic beautiful Island so you need a car. Buses are non existent although it does run it is alledged. Up 2 more hills to the bus stop. Oh joy !!!!!.

Supermarkets close by via the opposite path to the walk down to the beach and maybe about 10 restaruants and a couple of bars on the same stretch once up the path. Dont recall having a bad meal at any of them.

All in all Lourdas a tad too quiet for me and the economic problems dont help and make it quieter.

Would I go back to Aristomenis ? Yes indeed. I would gladly pick it up and plonk it on any greek island and stay there. Would I go back tp Lourdas again yes but only for a week just to chill out.

Bit of advice there are no ATMs in Lourdas. Take Sterling travellers cheques. Pedros will change them for you at a pretty good rate at his supermarket.

Enjoy . Hope review helps

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Meadowender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Been back a week and already miss it. Been going there for many of my teenage years with my mum and this is our best holiday destination! Elani and Steve are so lovely! have booked to go back in a few weeks already! Can't get enough! I highly recommend these studios it's the best looking apartments in lourdas and probably the nicest owners too!
People that have complained about this place and about seve and elani have no clue and their normally the ones that can't be bothered to make an effort! Steve and élani always take great care of each and every one of their guests!

Shereise x

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shereise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Myself and my daughter have just returned from Kefalonia, we stayed at Aristomenis as we have many times in the past. Steve and Elani were great hosts as usual.
The rooms were imaculate as we have always found them, god bless the cleaning lady she works so hard.
I would like to recomend a restaurant that is at the end of Lourdes beach called Aridas Palace. The menu has a wide variety of choice, something for everyone including the kids. The staff are very nice and attentive.
We will return to Kefalonia again and again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samshaz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Having just returned from aristomenis Studios, were we spent a wonderfull week with our two year old son. we had a wonderfull time and meet some nice people. i have read some of the bad reviews about the Aristomenis studios, And can understand a few points, I found the owners to be nice people, no problems about our 2 year old running around, splashing in the pool and tantrums as he had to be pulled out of th pool. i think that the prices are OK and the acommodation was excellent. If you think the bar prices were a bit steep fair comment, but myself and most of the other guest did not have a problem with the prices. we were not looking for a budget holiday or cheap drinks and food, Try Spain you get your pint and full English there for 5 Euro's, The place is stunning and i would recommend it to any one. the only bad thing is that you do need a car, as the walk to th beech and back pushing a buggy is a killer! we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxenhope, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed there May 2011, following a stay there last year. The apartments are very simply furnished with a fridge, a two solid plate cooking facility with two pans and one frying pan. Bins emptied daily, bedding changed twice a week. The towels, we assume were white a one stage, are remnants of much larger ones that have been cut down and machined, they are badly discoloured and could do with being dyed a different colour, they may look better then. One of our 'clean' towels smelled badly of vomit although it must have been washed. For the bedding one of the sheets had a patch across its width, edge to edge. Quite clearly the linen is well past its sell by date. Having said that the place is clean. Is is NOT a place for anyone who has any mobilty problems unless one is to stay in the room throughout, it is built into a hillside and the walks to the beach mean a very long and tiring walk - about 40 mins to Lourdas beach, getting on for an hour on the way back up the hilly road. There is a nearer beach, below the hotel but its not an easy walk although there are seats provided on the horsesho bend on the walk. Plenty of local tavernas, car hire cheapest at 'Express' run by an American Greek on the road in the village (above the hotel). the local shop is next door to the 'Express' car hire place.
It can get very windy at the apartments and one is asked to shut the patio doors if out of the premises. A safety deposit box and air conditioning are available at an extra cost.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Himself2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourdas
0.2 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
0.9 mi away
F Zeen Retreat
F Zeen Retreat
#1 of 2 in Lourdata
174 reviews
6.0 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Panas Hotel
Panas Hotel
#55 of 140 in Cephalonia
123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
212 reviews
13.0 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lixouri
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aristomenis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aristomenis Studios

Property: Aristomenis Studios
Address: Vlachata, Lourdas, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lourdas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Lourdas
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aristomenis Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aristomenis Studios Hotel Lourdas
Aristomenis Studios Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing