We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful view from balcony”
Review of Spyridoula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spyridoula
Reviewed June 11, 2013

we stayed here a few years ago and have kept meaning to return. The apartments were basic , (looks like they have had a refurb since our visit) but typical Greek apartments.The location is lovely as you can walk within 5 mins to the bus stop to other areas or walk down to the beach and bars/restaurants, The walk up is a bit of a struggle but there's no rush so just take your time and it's fine. We loved Lourdas because it's not commercial like other resorts on the island, a proper little village!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 21 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here at the end of june 2010 and found it a nice place, stones throw from mini markets and taverns but a fair walk down the hill to the beach so car hire is a must really, i was on the second floor and the view is great looking over to Zante from the balcony, the room was basic but had all you will need and was very clean the only let down for me is the lack of air con as it was really hot the week i stayed, this place is good for the price we paid but think i would rather pay a bit more and stay at the nicest place i have found in kefalonia

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashbYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here Sept 2010 didnt know what to expect when we first arrived, first impression was "oh no" we were on the bottom floor, but soon came round. the view across to Zante in the morning/evening was worth it. As most Greek apartments, basic but everything you need. The apartments are just off the main road CBR travel on the corner. So was very cenrtal to shops tavernas. Pool wise you could use any pools near by aslong as you purchase food and drinks. the beach is 30-40 min walk down hill. All in all a very good base to have, 5 min walk to bus stop to Argostoli, reccomend to go either on bus or hire a car to see. Rooms cleaned frequently. Would stay again but we used Thomas Cook but they no longer have them. I suppsose they are booked private.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosskempongreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We have been going to Kefalonia for several years and have always booked through Olympic but in Sept 2011 we booked a week independantly and stayed at the Spiradoul Apartments in Lourdas. We were lucky enough to get a room on the 2nd Floor (top floor) and had a wonderful view of Zante from the large balcony which we loved because it also gave us some privacy. The room was a good size and very clean and the bathroom was excellent with a brilliant shower as the water pressure was so good (the best we have ever had on any other Greek holiday). In other apartments we have stayed in we almost dread the shower at the end of a hot day as the water usually just trickles out and is often very cold but not at the Spiradoula - it was wonderful and just shows it can be achieved in Greece!!! The owners are lovely people who also own La Mer just in front of the apartments and the food there is always very nice and the staff are always friendly. Ony downside for us is that we cannot get flights cheap enough in June / July for 2 weeks so we do tend to book through an Agent and sadly the Spiradoula does not seek to be available with any tour operator. However this year if you live in the South of England (which we dont) you can get cheaper flights with Easy Jet to Kefalonia for the first time so it is definitely worth booking these apartments as the price for our week was very reasonable last year. All in all very nice, clean, apartments with amazing views and we even had a double bed!!! We will definitely go back to them (if the airfare price is right)!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieBredbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This was our first trip to Kefalonia, (my husband and I), but we will definately be returning. The apartments are located at the top of the very steep hill. They are basic but clean and have everything needed for your stay. There are numerous restaurants serving excellent food within easy reach. There is no pool at the apartments but there are a number of apartments very close by that welcome non residents to use their pool.
The beach is a very steep walk away, but it is worth it once you are there. We attempted the walk back up the hill, and even though we are reasonably fit, it was a struggle! Luckily the bar man from the restaurant we ate in at the beach, passed us in his car and gave us a lift to the top, and again on our next trip down to the beach!
Car hire is recommended, although we did not bother, but will on our next trip hire a scooter to get to the beach and back. We did an organised Island tour, which was very good value for money and saw most of the island.
La Mere restaurant was a favourite of ours, and is owned by the same people as the apartments. Aphrodites bar and restaurant gives a very warm welcome by the family that own it. Food in here is very tasty and good value for money.
During our 7 day stay we did not have a bad meal anywhere. The locals are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. Beautiful island with dramatic scenery. I would recommend the apartments and the village of Lourdas to anyone who likes peace and quiet, good food and friendly people. Not sure if there would be enough entertainment for children, unless they are happy at a pool or the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshirehothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

today the 3rd of july and we wright this review as we sit at our balcolney in room 10 of the spiradoula. If you get a top floor room being their are only 2 floors you do get a better view out over the sea to Zante we have got the room that gets the sun in the morning but not in the evening which is good really as you have been in the sun all day. So rooms 11.12.13.do have more of a view but its not important. The appartments are just down off the road from LE Mair which is a taverna and the owners have the appartments. They are basic but all you need really their is a fridge a kettle and a electric hob if you wanna cook. See the pictures. The village is very quiet even for the first week in July this is our 5th visit to Lourdas and the quietist we have seen it which is good if you want quiet. Their are about 9 tavernas to eat at in the village and 3 or so down on the beach front but over the years we have narrowed our choices down to 2 in the village with our first choice been Spiros where we have never ever come away without thinking that was a excellent meal he is a true greek and has time for all his customers. Oh and the Meze for a starter is enough for a full meal you have to give it a go. The other Taverna is Greek Island taverna which is down the road opposite Spiros about 50 yards down with the jewlers on your right. The food their is also very very good and my partner Wendy who is partial to a bit of fish can recommend all the fish dishes at both locations. The other Tavernas are ok but not to the standard in out opinion as these two. If your thinking of hiring a car or motor cycle we always use the woman next to the bakers near spiros she always does a good deal and their not strict on times the bike has to be back 2 weeks hire was about 180 euros. Their are many beaches to explore within easy traveling distance from Lourdas and neither of us are bikers but we always hire a 125cc twist and go and feel safe as your nearly always on the back roads. The beach at Lourdas is nice but shelves off quick and is quite deep ok for a swim but if you like to play about in the water its no good. The Beach at kataleos is stoney but shallow for far enough out and the water is really warm. The other good beach is towards the airport. If you follow the road from Spiros Taverna again with the jewlers on your right and stay on that road for about 5 or 6 miles till you get to a fiat garage on your left. Turn left their and follow the signs for avithos this a really nice beach and has 2 really good tavernas for diner or a beach bar for snacks. If you want a totally chilled out relaxing holiday then Lourdas is the place their is no night life and everything is wound down and closed down by about 11 thirty ish their are no bars only tavernas so if its night life then skala is the place for you. I hope this helps if their are any questions you have then feel free to e mail me at [--]. Happy holidays

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snakeBridlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

lovely apt for the money paid ,small but ok just for the 2 of us,well what can i say about lordas beautiful place but not much there there's 2 mini markets close by marias the one closest to the apartments but the most expenisive, a few resturants and a car hire place (god send after that first walk down to the beach } but nothing else .DON'T UNDER ESTIMATE the walk to the beach it's not to bad on the way down but the walk back omg! were not totally unfit people and thought we could manage the walk thank god it rained on the way up the,there's no where to stop for a drink on the way as everything is closed until 6pm.there are no buses that run to the beach as was posted on another review site no buses run through lordas the only mode of transport is to hire a car or take a taxi

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debsStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lourdata hotels
0.1 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
0.6 mi away
F Zeen Retreat
F Zeen Retreat
#1 of 5 in Lourdata
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle's Nest Studio
Eagle's Nest Studio
#2 of 34 in Lourdata
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Front Studios
Ocean Front Studios
#10 of 34 in Lourdata
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lara
Hotel Lara
#9 of 34 in Lourdata
135 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Di Luna
Casa Di Luna
#17 of 34 in Lourdata
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyridoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyridoula

Address: Lourdata 281 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lourdata
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Lourdata
Price Range: $25 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyridoula 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Spyridoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing