We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy”
Review of Lovides Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lovides Village
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lourdata
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed at Lovides Studios for a week in September 09. Having taken numerous holidays of this type we appreciate that Greece self catering is basic but we at least expect to have 2 knives and forks, two tea spoons and two mugs; we didn't. I had to go down to the 'pool bar' and ask for some. We also expected to have clean and whole towels, we didn't, the ones we were given were grey, torn and had holes in. Our room was filthy, the shower was completely blocked and full of scum and the bathroom bin was not emptied at all. Nothing would have enticed us to enter the pool as it had insects floating in it and swirls of oil and scum covered the surface. We took numerous photographs but the attached of the pool barstools somehow sum it up. If Olympic Holidays think that these furnishings are fit to be in the area their 'Welcome Meet' is held what does it say about their standards. We have visited this island before and love it, we will definitely return but Lovides Studios will be given a wide berth.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettybenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Lovides Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 108 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed there through Olympic holidays in a package deal for 2 weeks from the 26th August. Was a cheap deal so i wasn't expecting too much about the accommodation. I'm very easy going and as far as it's clean i don't really care. Well this place wasn't and it is a shame because it is very basic but has fantastic views to the sea (if you get the right studio!). The room was cleaned but only on the 'surface' if you know what i mean. we looked under the beds and my god, they haven't seen a broom in weeks! and this is without mentioning under the oven/cooker!! grease, food... discusting! also all cupboards where full of stains, and greasy finger marks. I can assure you these haven't been cleaned in all summer! and the shower! well, the shower drain was dirty with hairs and the shower curtain all mouldy. Check out our pictures, they say it all. Also we had a broken bottle opener which my partner cut his finger with, and got replace with one which was even worse, so ended up buying our own. Also a light on top of the kitchenette didn't work, which got lightbulb replaced but kept 'exploding'. No big deal, but is things like that that make the difference. The people who run the place are nice 'enough' but very false. I din't like any of them. The only one who was genuinely friendly was the boy who does the maintenance, like garden, etc. He hasnt got a clue but bless him, he does try to help. It really doesn't take much to maintain this property and is a real shame because i would have gone again if it wasn't because it was so dirty.

Another thing i would say about the property is that is next to a house which i don't know why but every night there were 3 or 4 kids with 'self built' mopeds which are the most noisy thing i've ever heard, hanging around there until late hours at night. Room didn't have aircon so had windows open and I could hear the mopeds like they were inside the room and got woken up 2 or 3 times a night because of that.

Location wise if you have a car, which i strongly advise that you do, not only because kefalonia is an incredibly beautiful island which exploring is a must! (avoid resorts!), you will be ok, as you can drive anywhere, supermarket etc. but if you don't, you are 'STUCK'. Nearest shops and tavernas are between 5 and 10 min walk, but if you want to go to the beach, you have a verly looooong way down, and up when you return! plus the beach of Lourdas is not the nicest beach. If you want to stay local go to Koroni. Very quiet and has the best beach bar wich opens until late at night. Sunsets and moonlight.... very romantic!

Also in terms of food, I recommend The Olive Lounge. The people there are so friendly, especially the owner, and food is delicious! Also would recommend Zorbas which the owner was also very friendly to us and gave us a hand with a couple of things here and there. Even rescued us from coming back from the beach on the last day as we didn't have a car! The food is home made. Try the Kleftico... loooovely!

Lourdas in general is very quiet but to me that was exactly what i was looking for. Low key. Has a few tavernas and a very nice night bar called 7 with a nice terrace and good music right on the sea front.

Places to visit in kefalonia were Myrtos beach, a must!, Ag, Efimia is a lovely village with a nice port which we liked, Asos is worth visiting, beautiful fishing village with some of the original houses, and north of the peninsula is where we found it was real 'authentic' kefalonia. I personally didn't like Fiskardo at all. They have turned it into a tourist money making machine and when i got there was full of people coming from everywhere to visit. it was like being right in the middle of Oxford st which was extactly what i was escaping from!

A tip, just drive and don't be scared of turning into a side road.... this led us to some amazing places and little coves where there was hardly anyone there. Its' an amazing island and can't wait to go back!

Remember there are hardly no ATM's so take plenty of cash!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siggygym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We booked a last minuete deal so for the money paid we found the holiday to be very good value.This was our 20th visit to Greece but our 1st to Kefalonia.The accomadation was basic,not a problem as we now know what to expect but my major concern was the fact that not once during our 7 day stay were any of the bins emptied! found a large wheelie bin on the road outside and emptied our own.Hired a scooter for 7 days and a car for 3 days so managed to see most of the island one word sums it up Gorgeous.We spent one day at Myrtos beach,the view down to it is fantastic.The beach is all pebbles and very hard to get in and out of the sea,good beach bar and clean toilets.Favourite place was Fiskardo lots of sea front restaurants.
Lourdas nightlife is very low-key and most people tend to eat out,there are plenty of restaurants our favorites were Olive Lounge,Klimatis,La Mer and Spiros.Out of the 7 days we only had one bad meal and that was at Andromeda,we had gone on the Thursday night (Greek night) half of the food was not available and what was left was cold - very disappointed but maybe we chosen the wrong night.
Would we return to Kefalonia 100% Yes,but would look at staying in Skala.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fergie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

If you intend to walk at night to local tavernas take a torch, and if you have difficulty walking either hire a car or consider staying at a resort that is less hilly.
We have been going to LOURDAS and the LOVIDIS studios for ten years and love it to bits, we are now considered to be family from England as we have seen the children grow up. In November we attended the wedding of the eldest daughter on Kefalonia what a joy.
Yes the apartments are spartan but good value for money they are clean and bedding and towels are changed twice a week, Katerina is a diamond any problems you only have to ask. Super views from the pool area and very peaceful, and only a ten minute walk to the nearest tavernas. We have a car waiting at the airport and we drop it off there when we leave approx £220 for the two weeks. We are in our sixties and a tad overweight but would not stay anywhere else even though there are lots of nice places.
The pool area has a bar and Katerina does light snacks and a reasonable breakfast.
If you decide to try it i am sure you will not be disappointed it's so friendly.
Enjoy. Pete & Dolly.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gftSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We booked a cheap week in the sun and expected the apartments to be basic..... and they were.
As is typical in Greece the kitchen equipment is sparse no kettle, towels changed once weekly and not much in rooms apart from two beds, two electric rings, fridge and very basic bathroom . No attatchment for shower hence you have to hold it up to use it.

The pool area on the first couple of days was ok but soon became over run making the beachmore appealing.
However the brochure does tell you that the beach is a trek and believe me it is!! Therefore we hired a 100cc moped for 4 days at a cost of €40 from Sunbird.We put €5 of petrol in and strggled to use it!!
The beach at Lourdas is ok and has some lovely restaurants our fav was Magic Hill good food but pricey and view to die for. Best beach though is Trapezaki beautiful sandy beach and sea is lovely.

IHiring a moped was a first for us but roads are very quiet and it made getting about so much easier. Even walking to supermarket and back is long way.If you don't fancy a moped but want to go to beaches then you can get the beach bus which goes to all beaches about 10am and 11am and returns 2.45 pm and 6pm at a cost of €1.

The resort is really peaceful with just a couple of supermarkets and nice restaurants, no bars as such and suited for a quiet week away. Olive Lounge was best restaurant closely followed by Spiros and La Mer which is next to CBR car hire. This is one of few places to change money. Take enough english cash to change as there is no ATM's .. nearest is in Argostoli some 17kms away.

On the whole weather, beach, food and place were all brill. The accomodation was very basic and only really suitable for someone who is fit as its a long walk to everything in the resort. We would definately return to Lourdas but there are lots better placed accomodation and much nicer.

However.....On our last day we had the use of a shared courtesy room - Room D6 (ours was C3) It was like walking into a different place... .an upstairs room with high ceilings, nice bathroom and much much nicer room overall ... which begs the question as we only paid £270 each and brochure price is lot more did we get the left over cheap rooms?

So if you do go enjoy the views, take a torch, don't try to walk to beach and make sure you request room D6!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank garyrose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Rob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nino D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourdata
0.3 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
0.6 mi away
F Zeen Retreat
F Zeen Retreat
#1 of 5 in Lourdata
194 reviews
6.5 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aristomenis Studios
Aristomenis Studios
#6 of 34 in Lourdata
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lara
Hotel Lara
#9 of 34 in Lourdata
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovides Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovides Village

Address: Lourdata 28100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lourdata
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lourdata
Price Range: $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovides Village 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovides Village is located amongst an olive grove not far from the resort centre of Lourdas which offers a range of bars and tavernas. It is approximately a 700 metres walk to the blue flag awarded beach of Lourdas. The rooms are comfortable with twin bedded, sleep 1/2 or 1/3 people and offer a private bathroom with shower, 2 ring cooker and all rooms have private balcony or terrace with beautiful view of Ionian sea or mountain Ainos. Soak up the sun on a sunbed by the swimming pool. There is also a pool bar which serves a good range of snacks, home-made dishes and refreshments. Enjoy a quiet, relaxing evening in the gardens which are full of trees and flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lovides Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing