We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ermones
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed from 11th to 25th Oct on half board in room 154. The room is the main block so no issues with the hill and had excellent view of Ermones beach and the opposite mountain, sunsets on the balcony were exceptional.Room itself was spacious, even though this room type is the smallest at this hotel. Room was kept spotlessly clean by the friendly maids. English TV channels are limited, however internet access was free, we took a laptop which allowed us to live stream sports and play DVDs. Although the night time entertainment is good, particularly the visiting professional dancers during our visit, there is very little else in the Ermones resort.
Food was always of a good standard and varied for the duration of our stay, supported by the ever smiling restaurant team.
We hired a car from corfucarsrental.com for 12 days, 207 euros for a fiat panda with total vehicle protection, car was dropped off and picked up at the hotel when arranged, no problems and a small car is just the ticket to explore corfu via the sometimes tight village roads. I like a bit of snorkeling, Paleokastritsa was the best beach we visited for this but overall nearby Glyfada beach (10 mins by car) had it all, golden sand, watersports and snorkeling! Ermones beach is mainly shingle.
We have visited similar hotels on Kos (Diamond Delux) and Zante (Lesante), although both were good I would put this one ahead.

Room Tip: rooms 151 to 159 all have excellent sea views and are on the same level as the main building so no h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank offquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,885 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Recently stayed here as we needed a relaxing break without it being full on party time. We usually go to the Caribbean i.e Mexico, Cuba etc but didn't, on this occasion, fancy the all inclusive party mode that is the case over there.
I read the reviews below and was surprised to find someone was dissapointed!
Right, lets get down to it.
It's on the side of a huge hill / small mountain / extremely large hillock etc etc with all the rooms facing out to either the sea or the (as above) huge hill opposite. Most are well placed in that you have very few neighbours clattering about above or below you.
We stayed in a Junior Garden Suite, which was very well appointed and better than most UK hotel rooms I have stayed in. The bathroom was large, clean and modern as was the rest of the room. The garden was large and tidy and the views well worth it. As we did have a garden we only had one room next door to us, and as such it was very quiet at nights. (A blessing)
We saw a pool room close by and whilst it looked fantastic I can well imagine you would get to the point of not bothering to go up to the main hotel!
I had read that it was on a hill before I left (I often look at brochures prior to booking) so was not surprised when I got there.
If you don't want to walk, get the vernicula (i.e take your life in your hands and kiss the floor if you make it to where you are going) or phone reception and they will send a car down to pick you up. Alternatively, walk. (Seriously, don't book here if you are going to complain about the walk up hill, Royal Marines can do a bit of fizz before breakfast)
Restaurant was superb, eat outside where ever possible in the evenings.
Food was samey and doesn't offer the variety of the Caribbean but we could live with that. To be fair the food was good.
Staff were excellant, Maitre 'd service was very good.
Bar staff, interesting. I felt, as some people suggested, that they were offish but after a day or so realised that they do have a great sense of humour, only it's Greek. Good People.
Mini bar only filled when you get there and never again, however there is a superb little shop at the Hotel entrance where you can buy some 'liquid provisions' should you wish to sit outside and watch the sunset.
As it turned out I did miss, a bit, the party atmosphere of the Caribbean as this place doesn't have it, but did like the fact that All inclusive didnt have wrist bands.
This is an adult only as I saw a family from the hotel opposite get asked to leave when the staff saw their children were with them.
If you go to Corfu town on the local bus, try the chiken Gyros (not the pork unless you have a great love of pig fat) and watch out for pickpockets on the way back.
I am unsure as to what people expect of a '5' star hotel and do often wonder if they have actually stayed in one.
I have (not boasting, I didn't pay) and to be fair you have to realise the difference between a city based 5 star and a resort 5 star.
As the Hotel still looks like the professional images from the website I will have to say that it is the closest I have ever been in.
Overall, really relaxing.
Ermones is not a 'jumping' resort, this place is quiet.
Beach is crap, don't bother.
Snorkelling is brilliant however. Take the track to the right of the beach to the bay around the corner. Superb.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Cocobongoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went for a the end of August for a relaxing break. The hotel was clean, attractive and welcoming. We were driven our room directly after the quick and efficient check in. staff friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Food good, always room around the pool, bar staff attentive without being pushy. recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobTurnerExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Grand Med. We thought it was very well run, clean, with excellent food and friendly staff. Our room was a very decent size, with no significant faults.

We enjoyed the local walking; taking the local bus, which stops at the hotel reception door, into Corfu town. We also found "Georges Taverna" on the beach, a useful alternative to the hotel bars: the food was good, and the house red wine very drinkable.

There were however 3 downsides.

Firstly, the hotel is built on a very steep hillside. Now we knew this before we went, but found after 2 weeks, walking up and down got a bit tedious. There is a funicular, but it only has a single carriage, and it takes about 12 minutes to cycle around. It then takes 6 minutes to get from the bottom to the top. Hence, you need to allow 20 minutes to get up to reception, from the bottom. The hotel do provide a free taxi service on site, but this still takes time. So we ended up just walking, which possibly, is why we did not put any weight on!

Secondly, we thought the drinks prices were a bit silly. Cocktails were about 11 Euro, mediocre house red wine at 18 Euro per bottle, and slightly better red, at up to 32 Euro per bottle. We found bottles of red wine from a local supermarket, at under 4 Euro, when served at the right temperature, to be much better! If you opt for all inclusive, or a drinks package, you are not offered the better wines!

Finally, the music in the bar area was often far too noisy to allow easy conversation. This spoilt a number of chats we were trying to have with other guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Check in easy and very efficient,Staff in all departments of the hotel are very helpful.Rooms were ok and cleaned every day we stayed in room 373.After check in you are taken to your room by car or buggie because the hotel is laid out on a steep hill so the first thing we did was walk down the road about 100 meters from the hotel entrance is a car and bike rental not the first one you come to the second one opposite the bus stop the were the best value.The roads around Corfu are pretty good and easy to either ride a bike on or drive a car.One recommendation if you get the chance do book all inclusive we booked half board and found drinks on the evening quite expensive.The meals were ok and good choice the waiting staff excellent.Night time entertainment was outside by the swimming pool again this was ok.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view room which was good and for watching the stunning sun sets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobhill25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

just back from one week break last minute I read some mixed reviews before going let me say this is a first class hotel very well run food choice excellent as are the rooms and service I travel all over world wide and it amazes me that people found petty faults I say to them get a life and to you try this hotel go all inclusive a bargain

Room Tip: ask for lower room numbers if you want to cut out the steps upto the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymond s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

What an experience - no complaints - facilities excellent - staff amazing nothing is a problem for them. Food superb and waiting staff so good at their jobs.
Stayed in room 552 - luxury - dressing room, small toilet, lounge (leather suite, we'd screen tv, small dining table), bedroom (king sized bed, wide screen tv) bathroom - his/hers sinks, shower room/toilet.
Outside - own pool, sun terrace - with sun beds and patio area with dining table, garden area too -
Went for our 20th wedding anniversary - today is our second last day - already looking to come back - who wouldn't ???

Room Tip: 552 - pure luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ermones
12.3 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
10.6 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,476 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#2 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,438 reviews
4.6 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica

Address: Ermones 49100, Greece (Formerly Atlantica Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Ermones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ermones
Price Range: $147 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Bookgreece.com so you can book your SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mediterraneo Resort And Spa
Grand Mediterraneo Hotel Ermones
SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa By Atlantica Corfu/Ermones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing