We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB HOTEL , FAB STAFF , AMAZING FOOD !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ermones
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FAB HOTEL , FAB STAFF , AMAZING FOOD !!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just returned from a week in Corfu, place is amazing if you want to relax & chill. Staff were ALL amazing however a special mention for our Thomson rep along with Linda the entertainment manager , mary in the jewellary boutique in the hotel (my ring is amazing) and finally the beautiful Maria - hostess. Food is varied & excellent choice, something for everyone !! We had a standard room and it was beautiful along with a partial sea view which was of the beach again for a standard room amazing. Daily cleaners were excellent. Georges beach bar is a MUST on the beach for a snack and cocktail !!!
Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    443
    138
    46
    38
See reviews for
108
1,276
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here from the 10th May to the 17th of May. We are a young married couple and I have broken down this review into sections of interest to us. We may have been disappointed with our holiday but others were not so we may be the minority.

5 star hotel - I would disagree with this and would say it should be rated 4 star.

Food - it's ok but we found the buffet experience quite stressful in the morning. It's a bit of a scrum around 9am so much so that we had to consider setting our alarm to get up early enough! Glasses and cuttlery dirty, food always running out.

Staff - absolutely delightful. They couldn't be more friendly or polite. I scored the service as 4 as the bar staff were very slow to serve and I actually found them quite rude.

Bar prices - 8.20 euros for a vodka and flat coke. Around 22 euros for 2 average piña coladas. Consider booking full board if you like your drink!

Beach - disgusting. Diggers worked on the beach all week to try to remove tree bark washed up on shore. You wouldn't go swimming here.

Location - poor. Ermones is not a village, it's a collection of buildings, hotels and a couple of restaurants.

George's restaurant by the beech - you must go here. What a lovely man. He treated us like royalty.

Walks/runs - not much variety. I had walked or run all options after day 2 or 3.

Sports complex - nice tennis courts. Didn't try spa. Gym has average equipment. Far too hot in gym to work out for long as its not open til 11am. Don't know about you but I prefer to get a workout done earlier in the morning when it's cooler.

Rooms - very clean and modern. TV choice of channels is terrible. Only channels in English are the news channels. Would have loved some English speaking movie channels if we fancied a night in.

Corfu airport - one of the worst travel experiences in a long time. A queue to get into airport from outside, a queue to check in, a queue to get baggage scanned, a queue to go through security, a hot stuffy smelly cramped departure loung. Little to eat so pack some food and drinks!!

Flight home - ran out of the drink I wanted by row 6!! Unbelievable. The stewardess couldn't have cared less. Not even an apology. More like make another decision quickly as you're wasting my time. Ended up ordering nothing and agreed to grit our teeth as we new this Thomson holiday misery would be over in 3 hours.

Package holidays - I write negatively as maybe we are fed up of being treated like cattle. Note to self - spend more money and arrange our own holiday in the future.

Positives - lovely views, great place to chill out and get a tan, nice pool area and sunbathing areas, great friendly hard working staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark7456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is certainly a hotel that could be better though I doubt it will ever be. My wife and I have just returned from a very relaxing holiday. The food was good and the bedroom was excellent, where we were in the main block. I would not recommend any other bedrooms outside the main block unless you enjoy a good walk for the main pool area and dining room, it's a very steep hill from the bottom rooms and the stairway are mostly unswept and covered over head by trees.The hotel has only one bar that struggles to serve everyone and to be fair the staff are very helpful but overworked trying to cope. We were all inclusive and the Thomson Couples brochure describe the all inclusive drinks package as International, shame on you Thomson as you are misleading your customers and we were told only local branded drinks except for Ballantines whisky, there maybe a few others? Drinks are very - very expensive if you have to buy them. All in all a good holiday with very friendly and helpful staff but it's certainly not 5 star, I would give it a 3 star rating. Do not go half board unless you are prepared to travel and enjoy the local tavernas at a fraction of the price for food and drink, but you will need to hire a car for that.

Room Tip: main hotel block
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian59_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

A lot of positives:
- modern spacious rooms
- friendly staff
- friendly clientèle. Not to old.
- quiet and relaxed atmosphere
- suite with private pool is amazing
- beautifull green island
- perfect for cycling
- good food at resort. Lovely winelist
- golfcourse nearby

I would recommend this resort. If you choose the suite with private pool then 452 gives you complete privacy. Best room ever !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaaaJaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, so it must not have disappointed us the first time!

We received a very warm welcome from the receptionist who remembered us from last year - I wonder if this was because we had been troublesome or good ?
Several other staff also said welcome back.

Some improvements were noted such as bath robes and slippers now complimentary in all rooms - which is what you would expect in a five star establishment.
Plus the orange juice at breakfast is now quite drinkable and not artificially sweetened.

Spacious comfortable rooms, we had room 125 in the main body of the hotel with a good fairly private balcony.
Plenty of storage and extra coat hangers arrived within moments of asking.
Kettle and cups in the room but bring your own tea bags and coffee.
Room safe was not charged for, so maybe it is now also complimentary, which again is what you would expect in a five star hotel,
The bed was comfortable with good pillows.
Bath and separate shower stall with shower on a flexible hose rather than those horrible American fixed head showers was much appreciated.
Plenty of hot water.
(Management please note - Apart from the last day when water was barely warm, plus guest cosmetics should really be upgraded as were more 3 than 5 star!)

Buffet breakfast and dinners were of a good quality with fresh food constantly being brought out.
Fellow evening dinners were well dressed apart from a small minority ( I am sorry to say they were British) who thought grotty jeans and T- shirt was acceptable, their girlfriends/ wives always looked good and I wonder why they didn't make their partners dress better ?
Drinks service at dinner was a little slow.

When we checked in we were offered an all inclusive deal for drinks and lunch at €36.00 per person per day. If you are going to sit by the pool all day and drink and have lunch at the hotel this may be cost effective.
There was also a drinks only package for €26.00
Drinks at the hotel were not cheap - house wine at dinner €17 and then a big jump up to €27+. A shot of Mailbu was €7.00
However neither of these was cost effective for us as we do not dink a lot, so we declined but it would be worth looking to see if these could be pre booked in UK at a better rate.

The pool area has great views and gets the sun all day.
Only a few selfish people but towels out on loungers ages before they used them. We always had no problem finding a space.

Going this time of year at the beginning of the season often means a few teething problems such as the lift to be beach not working but is compensated by the fact that this hotel will cost double in August than what we paid in May.

We had hired a car to explore the island and visit other beaches as the hotel is in the middle of nowhere. www.corfucarhire.com

In conclusion:
The facilities are excellent and the staff friendly and helpful but service needs to be improved a bit to bring it up to international 5 star standards.
However don't let that put you off, just relax and enjoy the views and sun.

Overall we had an excellent time in Corfu, no small part of it being our choice of hotel.

We look forward to coming back a third time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here beginning of May.. Very nice hotel. Set up on a hillside. Our room was 457 with a private pool. Very spacious room, clean, separate shower and bath, double wardrobes, plenty of storage space in our room. Pool was cleaned every day. Not many English channels on the TV aswell.
Our room was situated right at the entrance of the resort at the bottom of the hill. No problem as you can ring reception and get a lift up and down. The staff there were very friendly especially at reception and in the restaurant. There is a small shop just outside the hotel aswell.
I would advise people when booking that its best to go all inclusive. We went half board and the drinks are very expensive there. Every time we ordered at the bar there was always a 15-20 minute wait and they didn't seem very friendly there either.
Restaurant- could not fault the food! So much choice there definitely something for everyone and having the themed nights was good aswell but if you don't like any of it they still had plenty of other choices- only thing that I could say was 5 star was the food.
Walk down to the beach not fair the lift wasn't working when we were there which was a bit of a pain. But again the staff at the hotel were helpful and they were able to give a lift down there aswell. When you go to the beach I suggest you visit George :). He is such a friendly and lovely guy!
We were a young couple and we found that there wasn't really that much there to do. They do have a spa and a tennis court. But as for trips it is bait out of the way the hotel. We did go to Corfu town on the bus in the day which is €2.20 each way gives you a couple of hours to wonder round. We also did the excursion to go at night which cost us £45 which I found a bit expensive considering it only pays for the bus ride.. We did understand that the last bus goes back at 8.30 and this one went at 9.45 but still.. It's a considerably lot more.
We also went on the Parga/Paxos boat ride excursion. Really nice day out and definitely worth the money. We had lovely weather aswell. This trip is worth doing :)
Overall we did enjoy our holiday and it was a nice place but I definitely wouldn't have this as a 5 star hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were hoping for a very relaxing week away in the warm and we certainly got that. All the staff are so friendly and can not be any more pleasant. This was the first week the hotel was open for the season and they could have been a bit better organised. The food is not 5 star quality and it does take a very long time to get service from the bar. We stayed all inclusive which is good as It would have been very expensive to pay for drinks and bar meals as extra.

The beach is even more disappointing than we had expected as the wood chip ends up on the shore and make it unpleasant to get into the water.

Very easy bus service into Corfu town so although a car would be good not essential as you can still get around the island.

Room Tip: All the standard rooms have a sea view as they are on the mountain side. It is difficult to walk th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ermones
10.6 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,174 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
6.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
476 reviews
12.3 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica

Property: SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica
Address: Ermones 49100, Greece (Formerly Atlantica Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Ermones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ermones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mediterraneo Hotel Ermones
Grand Mediterraneo Resort And Spa
SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa By Atlantica Corfu/Ermones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing